Budget 2013

141 Posts 36 Posters 27.8k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      Oppsgal

If my kids are grown up and working, I would enjoy coffee and toast outside. Ya Kun toast is expensive...bread is halved and for that pathetic thin pieces, I feel heartache paying for it.

I would buy a bottle of kaya from bread talk and make my own toast. Food prices are escalating and if we eat out, it's bcos I am tired of routine.
      Last Sunday, we ordered pizza...the pan pizza crust is something not easily avail...made our own garlic bread and chicken wings in Air fryer. Satisfying and so much cheaper.

😆 Air fryer not cheap leh...

Used to eat out wkends, now mostly diy at home.

The toast shrinking, cup of coffee less and less, hardly can keep me awake.

Go eat vegetable rice, vegetables a few strings, meat a few pieces (some sweet and sour pork only few pieces and mostly coated with more flour), need to eat at least 2 meals.

But go supermarket buy things cook, food also not very cheap. Meat like more expensive. 😓

Food is expensive…rent also ex…employee salaries also ex…all add up together, caused the amount served lesser.

When we cook at home, though spices/oil/gas/ingredients not cheap, but importantly home cooked and there is nutrition. Oil used outside is cheap type. So what materials we use at home is known.

Refuse to eat toast outside for a while…pathetic bread halved into thin pieces. Spread with butter and kaya. Might as well I buy gardenia thick bread, pile on kaya at home with cheese. Lagi shiok.

Oppsgal:

Query ministers? Wow, I wonder if they are going to like it.

I wonder what would this eventually lead to?

I seriously doubt many queries will be answered.
          Don't think our govt departments are that receptive.

concern2

Oppsgal:

[quote=\"Laura02\"]Check this out http://www1.channelnewsasia.com/askminister/

It's a new program where we can query Ministers on their Ministry.

Query ministers? Wow, I wonder if they are going to like it.

I wonder what would this eventually lead to?[/quote]Wah, beri de interesting hor..
            If Ministers do spend time some time at MTP sessions, they'll be closer to the grounds, don't really need this leh. Want to screen next potential PM iseeet? 😆 🦆

Really wonder if the ministers mentioned earlier, and engaging in meet the people will help much, namely education, transport, manpower…what can they do?

They can sit beside and listen…but will they understand ? That’s another question.

keroppi

Oppsgal:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]If my kids are grown up and working, I would enjoy coffee and toast outside. Ya Kun toast is expensive...bread is halved and for that pathetic thin pieces, I feel heartache paying for it.

I would buy a bottle of kaya from bread talk and make my own toast. Food prices are escalating and if we eat out, it's bcos I am tired of routine.
                Last Sunday, we ordered pizza...the pan pizza crust is something not easily avail...made our own garlic bread and chicken wings in Air fryer. Satisfying and so much cheaper.

😆 Air fryer not cheap leh...

Used to eat out wkends, now mostly diy at home.

The toast shrinking, cup of coffee less and less, hardly can keep me awake.

Go eat vegetable rice, vegetables a few strings, meat a few pieces (some sweet and sour pork only few pieces and mostly coated with more flour), need to eat at least 2 meals.

But go supermarket buy things cook, food also not very cheap. Meat like more expensive. 😓[/quote]We still eat out every weekend but now we only go to restaurants/ eateries that don't impose 10% service charge on diners like Hans, Pasta Mania, Nahkon, Janes Kitchen, Spitz, tze char stalls, etc.

If push comes to shove, I'll don my apron.

concern2

keroppi:
                  Oppsgal:

We still eat out every weekend but now we only go to restaurants/ eateries that don't impose 10% service charge on diners like Hans, Pasta Mania, Nahkon, Janes Kitchen, Spitz, tze char stalls, etc.

If push comes to shove, I'll don my apron.

Ya. Actually, if one thinks about 'eating out' as eating in restaurants, cooking them at home if we can is DEFINITELY cheaper. Like what Funz n Janet mentioned, doing pizzas and chicken wings etc. Not just for the service charge and GST which are not counted until you get your bill. Per dish itself is already much more expensive than if you were to cooking them at home.

Going to restaurants is getting more and more unaffordable. No service charge also Ex...some tze char stall even have GST.. These days, if we want to eat out, we hunt down coffeeshops in industrial areas that offer good tze char, and some even offer good Reunion Dinner packages that's value for money - no need to have zircon or luxurious deco, good food and price for money is better - or travel to malaysia also worthwhile.. 😂

We do not like to eat at restaurants bcos of paying +++, unless birthday for parents…most of the time, parents do not want to eat out…bcos of the high salt, MSG and oil. Tze char sometimes when we too tired after a day out.

Close 1 eye.

• O Offline
                      Oppsgal

Ya. Actually, if one thinks about 'eating out' as eating in restaurants, cooking them at home if we can is DEFINITELY cheaper. Like what Funz n Janet mentioned, doing pizzas and chicken wings etc. Not just for the service charge and GST which are not counted until you get your bill. Per dish itself is already much more expensive than if you were to cooking them at home.

Going to restaurants is getting more and more unaffordable. No service charge also Ex...some tze char stall even have GST.. These days, if we want to eat out, we hunt down coffeeshops in industrial areas that offer good tze char, and some even offer good Reunion Dinner packages that's value for money - no need to have zircon or luxurious deco, good food and price for money is better - or travel to malaysia also worthwhile.. 😂
                      tze char portion small small and price also increase at coffeeshops near by. 🤷 Almost same price as the aircon restaurant, and the restaurant no service charge.

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                        Coolkidsrock2

pirate:
                        Well, here's proof from the latest round of COE bidding that the wealthy weren't the ones driving up COE prices.

[quote]March 2013 1st Open Bidding Result

Cat A - $74,689
                        Cat B - $58,090
                        Cat E - $65,001
                        [/quote]I agree it is not the wealthy who are driving up prices. In fact, I know many whose staff are driving luxury cars (Porsche, BMWs, Mercs) while they are driving Japanese cars. 🤷

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 15