Thermal pot
Thermal cooker cannot get too small...eg if you make lotus root soup or any soup, if stainless steel pot is too small, you can't put ingredients in. If pot is bigger, no fear of boiling over too. I like to use bigger pot to make soup but measure so that it isn't too much. But I understand how difficult it can be to wash bigger pot.
Will there be boiling over once we put inner pot into outer pot?Do u mean boiling over on the stove or in the thermal pot?
I tried to search the yahoo...there isn't much info on how to steam using thermal pot. If nid to steam fish,etc...do we nid to put boiling water into deeper pot,then put the shallow pot containing fish on top of it? -
vinegar:
Nope...once you put the inner pot into the cooker, it will not boil over.janet_lee88:
Thermal cooker cannot get too small...eg if you make lotus root soup or any soup, if stainless steel pot is too small, you can't put ingredients in. If pot is bigger, no fear of boiling over too. I like to use bigger pot to make soup but measure so that it isn't too much. But I understand how difficult it can be to wash bigger pot.
Will there be boiling over once we put inner pot into outer pot?Do u mean boiling over on the stove or in the thermal pot?
I tried to search the yahoo...there isn't much info on how to steam using thermal pot. If nid to steam fish,etc...do we nid to put boiling water into deeper pot,then put the shallow pot containing fish on top of it?
The purpose of boiling is to bring out the taste of the soup. I boil for 30 min on stove then put into thermal cooker. Usually I will use chicken thigh, so will not put inside too long or the chicken will be 'overcooked' and lose its taste. Then the soup will also be very rich. -
ok thanks
what abt steaming? How to steam using thermal pot? -
vinegar:
ok thanks
what abt steaming? How to steam using thermal pot?
don't know how to steam using thermal pot...but i know the porridge cooked using thermal pot has nice texture. if you eat porridge frequently, can consider getting new crop bcos grains are finer. -
vinegar:
sometimes no nid.. sometimes nid.. u juz keep a lookout on the papers..
thanks..is promotion only for member?I am not OG n metro member le.I only hv robinson ocbc credit card....MintyMin:
Hi vinegar...
Usually OG or metro will have promo for La Gourmet brand. I bot my 7L at $129 with a free 0.5L thermal food jar...
so far I have yet to try cooking rice at d shallow pot n soup in d deep pot.. As my shallow pot was burnt when dh use it to cook rice over fire..
burnt? fire too strong?
ya.. he put med fire.. but din stay there n watch.. so end up burnt lor.. :slapshead:
so now i can't use that liao.. only can use the deep pot for soup..
I always just put the whole stainless steel pot into the fridge to keep the soup. So convenient.
You need the big pot as you cannot fill it to the brim when cooking mahโฆ 2/3 full with ingredients mostly esp if you want to cook rice in it. So not much soup left alreadyโฆ
I tried steaming a fish inside once but became overcooked. I prefer the Philips steamer. So I only use for soup, rice and sometimes mutton stews. But my mom said the mutton became too soft. So she prefers to cook mutton over the stove.
Just buy it, very good investment. Take it from someone who is very prudent with money and lazy in the kitchen. -
And if you get the smaller one free, you can use it to make porridge for your kidsโ breakfast or for desserts like bubur hitam.
I make the porridge at 12am then my DH will give it to my boy at 6am for breakfast. I dun need to wake up. -
cherrygal:
Cinderella has to return home before midnight...but you make porridge at 12am.And if you get the smaller one free, you can use it to make porridge for your kids' breakfast or for desserts like bubur hitam.
I make the porridge at 12am then my DH will give it to my boy at 6am for breakfast. I dun need to wake up. -
I am a night owl... sleep at 3am after watching my fave TV shows on cable.

I bake tarts and make agar agar in the middle of the night sometimes... -
cherrygal:
:yikes: :shock:I am a night owl... sleep at 3am after watching my fave TV shows on cable.

I bake tarts and make agar agar in the middle of the night sometimes...
I am halfway in my dreamland at tat time..
u cook at 12am the porridge, den morning ur dh juz take out from thermal to give your girl? no nid to reheat?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.