DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      vlim

Fretting:
      Hi Vlim / ngbrdad

Any news from your end from RI. My ds still no news.
      No news for interview yet .. :skeptical:

• phankaoP Offline
        phankao

ngbrdad:
        Have faith in your kids lah,

Anyway when we were students never felt such stress before.

Cannot appreciate your \"stress\" since we have not a single GEP kid. lah. In any case, DSA under GEP still has a way higher chance than for those kids of ours that are non-GEP lah. So I'd think the \"stress\" would be much lower.

• O Offline
          Otah

In any case, DSA under GEP still has a way higher chance than for those kids of ours that are non-GEP lah. So I'd think the \"stress\" would be much lower.
          Not neccessary leh ...

Came across a real life case last year and would like to share with you. Know of one GEP and one non-GEP student both applied for DSA to the same top school. In the end the GEP kid did not get any offer but the non-GEP kid got it thru academic domain. When PSLE release, the non-GEP kid shine again but the GEP did only so-so and now landed in a non-IP school. So we can only say GEP is not a \"privillege\" as many would think.

• phankaoP Offline
            phankao

Otah:

In any case, DSA under GEP still has a way higher chance than for those kids of ours that are non-GEP lah. So I'd think the \"stress\" would be much lower.

Not neccessary leh ...

Came across a real life case last year and would like to share with you. Know of one GEP and one non-GEP student both applied for DSA to the same top school. In the end the GEP kid did not get any offer but the non-GEP kid got it thru academic domain. When PSLE release, the non-GEP kid shine again but the GEP did only so-so and now landed in a non-IP school. So we can only say GEP is not a \"privillege\" as many would think.

But this is only 1 example of 2 GEP kids. The truth is that the percentage of GEP kids that get a DSA offer is way higher - 85 to 90% than maybe 5 to 10% for non-GEP kids.

Let's not talk about kids that *shine*. How about average kids? An eg. 70%-75% average performer from mainstream getting a DSA offer? Quite rare compared to a similar performer from GEP, right?

ngbrdad

Otah:

Not neccessary leh ...

Aiyah even if non IP school is not the end of the world. For some students being the big fish in a small pond may be better for them to develop.

ngbrdad

Just receive a reminder email from NUSH on the coming selection test.

Quite thoughtful of them.
                However asking the kid to report at least 30 min before and then letting them taking a 3 hour test non stop with no break can be a bit taxing on them.

TwaTau

ngbrdad:

However asking the kid to report at least 30 min before and then letting them taking a 3 hour test non stop with no break can be a bit taxing on them.
                  They have sent quite a number of reminders over the pass few weeks. No choice lor, give them a good breakfast and after that another treat will make them happy! Best of luck!

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

TwaTau:
                    ngbrdad:

They have sent quite a number of reminders over the pass few weeks. No choice lor, give them a good breakfast and after that another treat will make them happy! Best of luck!

NJC test is also 3-hours. 1 hour for each paper. My elder son says should have enough time to finish the paper and check. But even if you finish early, you can't go on to the next paper bc each paper starts together with the rest in the following hour.

ApronMama

ngbrdad:
                      Otah:

[quote=\"phankao\"]

Not neccessary leh ...

Aiyah even if non IP school is not the end of the world. For some students being the big fish in a small pond may be better for them to develop.[/quote]Agree. Just like if you put the non-GEPer who \"shine\" in the GEP course, he/her may not shine anymore. From what I know, there are quite a number of kids every year from neighbourhood sch who were selected for GEP at P3 but never joined the programme.

ApronMama

ngbrdad:
                        Otah:

[quote=\"phankao\"]

Not neccessary leh ...

Aiyah even if non IP school is not the end of the world. For some students being the big fish in a small pond may be better for them to develop.[/quote]But the diff is IP schools by-pass 'O' level and have more time for programmes to develop the students rather than spend time drilling them for 'O' level which may be a waste of time to these kids.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better đź’—

• 131 / 919