DSA 2011
TREX8:
Wah, sounds like the open house itself is a stressful process, man! Already hyperventilating thinking about the logistics (driving, timing, packing lunch etc), scheduling (if want to attend talks by Principal etc), parking and many other things to juggle on a Saturday.[/quote]Parking will be a problem. So be prepared to have one parent drop off the other parent with the kid, and the driver parent go drink kopi somewhere. :lol:
You have to plan your visits because Open House may not be full day. The schools usually have talks by the Principal and various depts/topics, plus tours, plus booths, performances etc. If you're keen on the talks, then you have to be at the various schools at the times the talks are scheduled.jtoh:
[quote=\"TREX8\"]
Good plan, Pen88n, but not sure whether would there be enough time to see 3 schools - thinking of MGS, NYGH and RGS. Wonder if the school will plan in any talks for parents/students or is it just go and see and tour round the school. -
Hwa Chong DSA and open house date not out yet huh? …emmm so late
Parking will be a problem. So be prepared to have one parent drop off the other parent with the kid, and the driver parent go drink kopi somewhere. :lol:
that means I got to drag my hubby along, which also means we will have logistics problem arranging to pick up the younger one from school from his CCA.
Might be easier to leave the car at home and rely on cabs/buses ... -
TREX8:
Yes. Especially as the schools are all around the same area. Wait for the schedules to be posted on the websites and plan!jtoh:
Parking will be a problem. So be prepared to have one parent drop off the other parent with the kid, and the driver parent go drink kopi somewhere. :lol:
that means I got to drag my hubby along, which also means we will have logistics problem arranging to pick up the younger one from school from his CCA.
Might be easier to leave the car at home and rely on cabs/buses ... -
from past experience, at most can attend 2 open houses in one day and had to be a mad rush still … after the talk, there are Q&A, talk to teachers to clarify etc etc
those schools of similar standing (perception wise, by parents) seem to have open house on the same date. if the schools to be considered are vastly different in public perception then parents might want to rethink is it necessary to visit both
after all, the whole idea about DSA is to get hopefully an offer from the child’s dream school (less stress at PSLE, but must still do well to prove oneself)…other than that, just rely on PSLE score to enter. -
vlim:
really ? i thot your DS is P6 this year ?
u are talking abt meverykiasu2010:
some of the open house talks have two different time slots....need to be there a good half hour in advance due to parking and seating availability .... look up their websites for the detailed timings
for those intent on visiting two schools, plan your drive wisely to avoid disappointment
for those super super kiasu type, bring your P5 kids there, don't wait till P6 to find out
anyway, fyi, when i brought my ds to open house in his P5 year, almost his whole class were there ..... you never walk alone ...
u are talking abt mevlim:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]some of the open house talks have two different time slots....need to be there a good half hour in advance due to parking and seating availability .... look up their websites for the detailed timings
for those intent on visiting two schools, plan your drive wisely to avoid disappointment
for those super super kiasu type, bring your P5 kids there, don't wait till P6 to find out
anyway, fyi, when i brought my ds to open house in his P5 year, almost his whole class were there ..... you never walk alone ...
[/quote]ya..I brought him to RI open house last year but didn't attend the principal talk... We just joined the orientation tour around the school and watch the orchestra performance....
u are talking abt mevlim:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]some of the open house talks have two different time slots....need to be there a good half hour in advance due to parking and seating availability .... look up their websites for the detailed timings
[/quote]I thot u are the driver parent relax and drinking kopi.....or did u meet the other parents drinking kopi there too???
Pen88n:
I thot u are the driver parent relax and drinking kopi.....or did u meet the other parents drinking kopi there too???
really ? i thot your DS is P6 this year ?verykiasu2010:
[quote=\"vlim\"]
u are talking abt me

[/quote]:lol: we super kiasu lah, arrive super early, park nicely, walked around, talked to the students and observed how they carry themselves, listened to talks, (DS took notes), and the P recognised us and said \"wah u come again, kiasu\" ... :rotflmao:
:lol: we super kiasu lah, arrive super early, park nicely, walked around, talked to the students and observed how they carry themselves, listened to talks, (DS took notes), and the P recognised us and said \"wah u come again, kiasu\" ... :rotflmao:[/quote]wow...your ds take notes ... emmm that would not happen to my ds....
I thot u are the driver parent relax and drinking kopi.....or did u meet the other parents drinking kopi there too???Pen88n:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.