DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      jtoh

Pen88n:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
      really ? i thot your DS is P6 this year ?

anyway, fyi, when i brought my ds to open house in his P5 year, almost his whole class were there ..... you never walk alone ... πŸ˜“ πŸ˜“

I thot u are the driver parent relax and drinking kopi.....or did u meet the other parents drinking kopi there too??? πŸ˜‰

:lol: we super kiasu lah, arrive super early, park nicely, walked around, talked to the students and observed how they carry themselves, listened to talks, (DS took notes), and the P recognised us and said \"wah u come again, kiasu\" ... :rotflmao:[/quote] :lol: :lol: :lol:

Chenonceau

[quote=\"Pen88n\"]
        I thot u are the driver parent relax and drinking kopi.....or did u meet the other parents drinking kopi there too??? πŸ˜‰

:lol: we super kiasu lah, arrive super early, park nicely, walked around, talked to the students and observed how they carry themselves, listened to talks, (DS took notes), and the P recognised us and said \"wah u come again, kiasu\" ... :rotflmao:

:lol: :lol: :lol:[/quote]You guys are a very bad influence on me. You've gone and put TEMPTING ideas in my head and my Little Boy is already so stressed... Oh dear.

verykiasu2010... what did you think of RI vs HCI?

jtoh

You guys are a very bad influence on me. You've gone and put TEMPTING ideas in my head and my Little Boy is already so stressed... Oh dear.

Hi Chenonceau, I didn't visit RI and HCI. vk2010 visited the two schools - MANY MANY TIMES. :lol: :lol: :lol:

How old's Little Boy?

Chenonceau

You guys are a very bad influence on me. You've gone and put TEMPTING ideas in my head and my Little Boy is already so stressed... Oh dear.

Hi Chenonceau, I didn't visit RI and HCI. vk2010 visited the two schools - MANY MANY TIMES. :lol: :lol: :lol:

How old's Little Boy?

Primary 5... and after reading this thread, I'm shaping up to be verykiasu2012!!

• phankaoP Offline
              phankao

Parking will be a problem. So be prepared to have one parent drop off the other parent with the kid, and the driver parent go drink kopi somewhere. :lol:
              Yes, having a \"driver\" is best. Same for when you send the kids for their DSA tests or selection camps.

• phankaoP Offline
                phankao

Pen88n,

yes we visited both RI / HCI / NUSH / NJC during both P5 and P6 though not always during the open house
                I brought my p4 & p6 to HCI with the 9month-old baby myself. Then we ate the buffet lunch. haha. Not so great, but better than nothing. Didn't attend talks. My p6 wasn't interested. We watched the performances and went around the cCA displays.

I remember NUSH's buffet spread was nicer somewhat. haha.

tisha

TREX8:

[quote=\"TREX8\"]
                  Good plan, Pen88n, but not sure whether would there be enough time to see 3 schools - thinking of MGS, NYGH and RGS. Wonder if the school will plan in any talks for parents/students or is it just go and see and tour round the school.

You have to plan your visits because Open House may not be full day. The schools usually have talks by the Principal and various depts/topics, plus tours, plus booths, performances etc. If you're keen on the talks, then you have to be at the various schools at the times the talks are scheduled.

Wah, sounds like the open house itself is a stressful process, man! Already hyperventilating thinking about the logistics (driving, timing, packing lunch etc), scheduling (if want to attend talks by Principal etc), parking and many other things to juggle on a Saturday.[/quote]Same here!
                  But atleast we are warned, and we can be prepared. Thanks to senior KSPs. Really useful tips for first time PSLE parents. :celebrate:
                  :lovesite:

tisha

Mum1113:

Absolutely, both RI and SST having on the same day. If parents want kids to go RI take a look, but maybe kids wanna go SST tour around, then timing wise have to plan in advance.

Is SST Open House also on 21 may?

Mum1113

I brought my p4 & p6 to HCI with the 9month-old baby myself. Then we ate the buffet lunch. haha. Not so great, but better than nothing. Didn't attend talks. My p6 wasn't interested. We watched the performances and went around the cCA displays.

I remember NUSH's buffet spread was nicer somewhat. haha.
                      :whut: Buffet spread during open house, I am surprise...went to NUSH last year and didnt notice, maybe too engrossed with checking.
                      Must plan properly this time to make a fruitful trip this year. Many helpful tips here, thanks ! :lovesite:

Mum1113

tisha:
                        Mum1113:

Absolutely, both RI and SST having on the same day. If parents want kids to go RI take a look, but maybe kids wanna go SST tour around, then timing wise have to plan in advance.

Is SST Open House also on 21 may?

Yes Tisha...that is what parents were told when SST made introductions talks to P6 parents at ds school. Your kid interested in SST ?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 919

rinsiderR
                        rinsider