DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Funx3

ngbrdad:

DS went all the way to the canteen with his friends without telling me. Luckily I spotted them, tailed them all the way there and tried hard to usher them back to the test venue. So ended up looking after some other people's kids as well. Apparently these are his classmates that went without accompaniment by parents.
      Oh ngbrdad, So Considerate of U ....
      But on the Other HAnd, since Looking after One, Might As Well Rope in to Look After .... ONE Group!
      :celebrate: :celebrate:

anxiouskiddo

Hey uhm sorry if it isn’t you, but are you Yi Ying?

anxiouskiddo

Oh hey if you are, Qian Wei here XD!

ngbrdad

ngbrdad:

DS went all the way to the canteen with his friends without telling me. Luckily I spotted them, tailed them all the way there and tried hard to usher them back to the test venue. So ended up looking after some other people's kids as well. Apparently these are his classmates that went without accompaniment by parents.

But on the Other HAnd, since Looking after One, Might As Well Rope in to Look After .... ONE Group!

Not easy controlling one group of boys.

Mum1113

Students who participated in DSA will be given a DSA Exercise Form some time after their PSLE exams to indicate their 1st choice/2nd choice etc based on their list of COs/WLs. After they submit this form, these students will no longer participate in the S1 Central Posting Exercise.

When the PSLE results are released, these students who have DSA COs will receive a slip to indicate which school they have been posted to. Those who were on WLs but indicated their WL schools as 1st choice will also be notified as to whether they were successful in their choice. If not, they will have to take part in the S1 Central Posting.
              Thanks jtoh mummy, this clears my doubt now cheers 🙂

Blur Dad

ngbrdad:

[quote=\"ngbrdad\"]

Not easy controlling one group of boys.[/quote]Hi ngbrdad

So how is the GAT? Any feedback from your DS? Able to complete? Easy?

Thank you

ngbrdad

DS and all his friends didn’t complete that GAT.

Heard no matter the outcome all GEP kids will need to attend the interview is it ?

Blur Dad

ngbrdad:
                    DS and all his friends didn't complete that GAT.

Heard no matter the outcome all GEP kids will need to attend the interview is it ?

Yes, All GEP students MUST attend the interview.

Belle2011

Dear all,

After the half day selection test at RGS, how long would we know the result ie being shortlisted for the next round?
                      Thank-you.

Cheers,
                      Belle.

RSS

Welcome Ashton, my ds chose the same 3 schools too as your ds. We are now waiting for the results of nus high selection test. Should be out next week. A vast majority of the applicants will be disappointed. Bracing ourselves for the first elimination!!

Ashton:
                        Hello everybody! I have been a reader of this forum for a long while but now, I have decided to participate too! 🙂

My DS1 is in year 3 ACS(I). He got in through DSA. Let me recount his experience.

In 2008, he applied DSA to ACS(I), RI and HCI. He received CO from ACS(I) and HCI.

ACS(I): The phone call came first to let me know that he was successful in his application. It was followed by an email and a letter. We were invited to the school to receive the official letter of confirmation. It was held in a lecture room; there was no tea reception. Those on waitlist were invited too. Ex-principal Ong Teck Chin gave a speech. The main highlight was telling those on waitlist that if they really want ACS(I), they should put it down as their first choice during the Sec 1 posting exercise as the chances of getting it were very high based on past years. They should put down their CO from other schools as second choice because if their first choice on Waitlist is not offered, they will be given their second choice automatically which is already confirmed. Make sense, right?

HCI: He was in the phase 1 DSA exercise as he had won medals in Maths Olympiads especially the one conducted by HCI. Not sure whether he did well for the tests, but I think his interview helped. I had prepped him for it, telling him questions that would be asked would likely be: “Why HCI?” “Any other schools you have applied?” \"If you are offered RI and HCI, which would you choose?” True enough, they were asked. He told me they were grouped in threes, and the panel consisted of two teachers and an older HCI student as an observer. DS1 was very kiasu; he was always the first to answer. He told me if he doesn’t answer first, then if those other students mentioned those points he want to make, then he would not have any thing new to say and it wouldn’t look good. He said after he had answered, the other two boys were practically repeating what he had said. He got the CO through email and snail mail.

RI: Naturally, he applied under the Maths Domain as he was strong in it and he was also not a Gepper. The strange thing was getting a phone call a couple of days before the GAT telling me that he need not go down to sit the test as he had already done the GAT through HCI. Both tests were the same, so RI would get the results from the GAT centre. But they didn’t refund the $50 leh… On the selection test day, I could see that there were many applicants under the Maths Domain, probably about 50 students? Think English and Science were about 20 while I distinctly recalled there were only 2 students for MT (Chinese). He told me that the Maths test was tough, which was why he didn’t get a CO from RI.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 228 / 919