DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      ngbrdad

breanne:

Same here. Once there was a picture of a nurse and he said 服务员。His Chinese teacher shook his head and sighed 😓 . Sorry to bring this up here but anyone knows how to prepare for Social Studies prelim paper ? Have not seen any notes just stacks of articles.
      Haven't paid much attention to SS yet.
      DS seems to be doing a lot of readings on WWII, Hitler etc.
      SO are they going to be tested on that ?

cestmoi

soda:
        cestmoi:

:salute: Hi Maisu & Lenny08
        I am new here...hope u dun mind me interrupting. I wld like to know what are roughly being tested in the Science domain actually? My sister's kid who will be in P6 next year is keen to try under the Science domain & wld like to know what are being tested. 😄

Thanks Cestmoi for sharing. May I know how many girls were there in the Eng selection test today? My girl attended the earlier one.

Hi Soda, Sry I din find out the exact nbr for today's turnout but I can safely say that the queue for English domain was the longest, followed by Math and then Science & MT. English domain applicants were then sent to 2 classrooms and in each classroom, they are then spilt up to 2 groups. DD said that her grp made up of many elite primary sch students who were very expressive and outspoken! Competition is indeed very keen! I understand that quite a nbr of them were postponed from ur DD's batch cos it clashed with NYGH GAT test. My DD is the same case too. DD just mentioned that there are 10 ppl in her grp. Total estimate for the day abt 40...

RSS

Heard from someone who is a hod in primary school that Koreans are typically passionate about maths/science and NUS High die-hard.

matadorepy

RSS:
            Heard from someone who is a hod in primary school that Koreans are typically passionate about maths/science and NUS High die-hard.

DD is in year 1. Among foreigners, a Koreans community is quite visible from year 1 to 6 not forgetting PRC. There are smaller grp of Japanese too. At year 3, usually a higher no of vietnamese scholar (real gem in Maths & physics). I suppose Malaysian too. I guess NUSH is treated like a international Maths & Science school affiliated to NUS and most important without the \"O' n \"A\" level examination. The NUSH Diploma is recognised as a level above \"A\" level. Most of them take this as a platform to reputable oversea universities.

jtoh

You will find a number of foreign students coming into some of the top schools in Year 3 - usually students from Vietnam, PRC and Korea. These are your Math and Science whizzes. A result of annual talent scouting trips by top schools.

ngbrdad

matadorepy:
                RSS:

DD is in year 1. Among foreigners, a Koreans community is quite visible from year 1 to 6 not forgetting PRC. There are smaller grp of Japanese too. At year 3, usually a higher no of vietnamese scholar (real gem in Maths & physics). I suppose Malaysian too. I guess NUSH is treated like a international Maths & Science school affiliated to NUS and most important without the \"O' n \"A\" level examination. The NUSH Diploma is recognised as a level above \"A\" level. Most of them take this as a platform to reputable oversea universities.

Is there a quota for foreign students for yr one intake ?

Blur Dad

ngbrdad:
                  matadorepy:

[quote=\"RSS\"]Heard from someone who is a hod in primary school that Koreans are typically passionate about maths/science and NUS High die-hard.

Is there a quota for foreign students for yr one intake ?[/quote]According to the NUS, Singapore students are given first priority. Is it true and does it apply to NUSH?

What is the point of having the best or best math and science students study in Singapore but they are not Singaporean? How can they contribute?

matadorepy

ngbrdad:
                    matadorepy:

[quote=\"RSS\"]Heard from someone who is a hod in primary school that Koreans are typically passionate about maths/science and NUS High die-hard.

Is there a quota for foreign students for yr one intake ?[/quote]In mainstream top school too, at sec 3 there are scholars recruitment from PRC, Malaysia,India, and other Asean schools every year. The students are provided free lodging, free tuition fees, free expenses up till local university. That's why there have been countless complaints by netizens
                    about unfairness by MOE , depriving local-born of their place in local U (many forced to go oversea u) while providing all these to so-called FT . what's the gahment real agenda ? :?

soda

matadorepy:
                      ......The NUSH Diploma is recognised as a level above \"A\" level. Most of them take this as a platform to reputable oversea universities.

Is it a fact? No offence, just wondering if there is a source to support the claim. My dd is not talented in maths and science. I'm curious because someone I know always boosts about her boy and NUSH. It is a new and a nich school. How to compare NUSH Diploma and diplomas of other schools (HCI diploma, Raffles diploma and IB diploma)?

• E Offline
                        Edureach

Bo bian, its all about foreign talents! Government says national interest, so just tahan lor!

Anw, i notice parents here are just too overly occupied with yr 1 entrance to mainly IP schools which should never be the crux of the matter when one considers the implication on a larger scale. Who the heck care which jc you are from? Its all about your A-level/IB/Diploma scores and your competitive merits in applying for your choice of courses at tertiary levels. Even the lowest rank jc also produces a perfect scorer as good teachers are spread across the island. That’s no such thing as higher rank schools hve better or more experienced teachers, is far from the truth.

Another important information to consider is all candiates that offer Singapore-Cambridge A-level as an entry qualification to uni shall be deemed as local candiate irrespective of nationalities. So as matadorepy mentioned, stiff competition for uni places base on merits.

So i hve repeately mention, Pre-uni exams are the mother of all exams, PSLE-dsa is just a minor part of bigger scheme, don’t be overly concern at this juncture.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 339 / 919