DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Pen88n

planetex:
      NJC has MEP, altho' it is not listed as a MOE MEP center. But it's music elective follows that of MOE's syllabus so the students can take Music at A-levels. My ds1's grades were around that range too, altho' DSA in NJC is not by any domain.

Oh really, i didnt know NJC offered MEP. IMO, most of the schools that offer MEP are usually among the top schools and so i think results play a big part as well. If my boy cant get into DHS, his second choice would be ACS(I).[/quote]
      but NJC also one of the top school mah.. 😉[/quote]

Yes, NJC also top school but i dont think my boy's results can make it in leh..... So will have to settle for less lor...
      What other schools have you applied to?[/quote]

Planetex, if your boy can aim for DHS, there is no reason why he cannot get in NJC. Last year, DHS and NJC are having about the same COP.

planetex

vlim:
        planetex:

Yes, NJC also top school but i dont think my boy's results can make it in leh..... So will have to settle for less lor...

What other schools have you applied to?

hi planetex..are u asking me??? ...my boy has no music talent..he quited piano early this yr..He applied dsa to ri and hci.

Hi vlim, sorry for the mixup. I'm new here, so still familiarising myself with the posting of messages.
        Anyway, good luck to your boy! I'm still waiting for news from DHS...

vlim

planetex:
          vlim:

[quote=\"planetex\"]Yes, NJC also top school but i dont think my boy's results can make it in leh..... So will have to settle for less lor...

hi planetex..are u asking me??? ...my boy has no music talent..he quited piano early this yr..He applied dsa to ri and hci.

Hi vlim, sorry for the mixup. I'm new here, so still familiarising myself with the posting of messages.
          Anyway, good luck to your boy! I'm still waiting for news from DHS...[/quote]Oh no problem..and good luck to your boy too :rahrah:

• phankaoP Offline
            phankao

vlim:
            planetex:

Can always try. NJC just sees how the child performs at the tests to shortlist. They dont look at grades or cca records prior to shortlisting for next round as DSA there is general- no domain. My elder boy's grades in pri was average 70+% , but also got confirmed offer. He's now in sec 2.

planetex

planetex:

Can always try. NJC just sees how the child performs at the tests to shortlist. They dont look at grades or cca records prior to shortlisting for next round as DSA there is general- no domain. My elder boy's grades in pri was average 70+% , but also got confirmed offer. He's now in sec 2.
              NJC dsa application closed already. Will have to try via posting exercise...

hipomum

Hi hipomum, my DD went for the NJC HAST. Yes…she also commented that the reading comprehension was super tough…her exact words "dun noe wat the passages r talking abt"…the other 2 papers, Maths Reasoning & Abstract Reasoning was easy though. The Phase 2A Activity & Phase 2B interview will be tentatively held on 20th & 27 Aug respectively…so my guess is they will notify shortlisted candidates a week before 20th Aug…so tat’s another 2 weeks of waiting…[/quote]

Hm… A testing of not only patience but faith… Heard that there are like 700 students vying for 200 (??) places? Do you know how th school will send notification? By calling or send via email?[/quote]

100 places. NJC takes in about 200 yearly - max 50% via DSA, so that will work out to be about 100 places.[/quote]

Hm… Tat makes it really competitive… A long wait after national day…

BlueBreeze

My Gal went for the RGS interview today.

For Her DSA thru CCA - RG, Understand there R 8 gals Shortlisted.

Split into 2 interview sessions - 4 Gals Each.
                  With 2 interviewer + 1 CCA Gym T in-charge to 4 students & the interview took about 30 mins.
                  Btw, OrangeJuice, Your dd fren is in the Same Interview Group as my Gal.

They R Seated in the Order that they were called in.
                  No Fixed order for Answering Q asked. Anyone can Speak up first.
                  But if Anyone is particularly Quiet, my Gal says the interview panel will direct Q to the gal, giving her opportunities to speak 1st.

My Gal told me these R the Q asked :
                  1) What Achievement R U Most Proud Of?
                  2) If I (mean the Panel T) wants to Pick up Gym, What advice will U Offer Me?
                  And my Gal says Since most of the Gals give short answers ....
                  and The Panel observed that ALL 4 of them R Prefects, they Changed the Topics to ....
                  3) Why do U think U R Selected to be your Sch Prefects?

and the General Q ....
                  4) Why Do U Choose RGS for DSA?
                  5) Which other school U apply for DSA?
                  6) Which Sch is your first Choice?

And the Final Q ....
                  7) What PSLE Score R U Aiming For?

My Gal, True to Her Nature, Chose to be the Last one to Speak. 😉 😉
                  Fortunately she managed to Reply the Q by covering aspects not previously mentioned by other Gals.

And she told me Her Reply to why she choose RGS for DSA makes everyone (Both Interviewers and fellow Interviewee) Laugh, and Lighten the Session up .... 😉 😉

And I Thought she's One who doesn't Talk Much, esp in front of strangers .... :roll: :roll:
                  Maybe the Panel Will Remember Her For that ....
                  😆 😆
                  Hi. Funx3,

Thank you very much for sharing.
                  My DD (me also) is still waiting for the shortlist call...
                  :thankyou:

Funx3

BlueBreeze:

Hi. Funx3,

Thank you very much for sharing.
                    My DD (me also) is still waiting for the shortlist call...
                    :thankyou:
                    Good Luck BlueBreeze!

andante

chatterbox321:
                      anyone's dd (non-gepers) receive interview offer for academic domain at RGS yet?

If one (mainstream) was called up for interview, does it mean that she most likely can get in rgs/nygs as long as she can talk well? I m wondering are there failures at this stage?

• O Offline
                        OrangeJuice

My Gal went for the RGS interview today.

For Her DSA thru CCA - RG, Understand there R 8 gals Shortlisted.

Split into 2 interview sessions - 4 Gals Each.
                        With 2 interviewer + 1 CCA Gym T in-charge to 4 students & the interview took about 30 mins.
                        Btw, OrangeJuice, Your dd fren is in the Same Interview Group as my Gal.

They R Seated in the Order that they were called in.
                        No Fixed order for Answering Q asked. Anyone can Speak up first.
                        But if Anyone is particularly Quiet, my Gal says the interview panel will direct Q to the gal, giving her opportunities to speak 1st.

My Gal told me these R the Q asked :
                        1) What Achievement R U Most Proud Of?
                        2) If I (mean the Panel T) wants to Pick up Gym, What advice will U Offer Me?
                        And my Gal says Since most of the Gals give short answers ....
                        and The Panel observed that ALL 4 of them R Prefects, they Changed the Topics to ....
                        3) Why do U think U R Selected to be your Sch Prefects?

and the General Q ....
                        4) Why Do U Choose RGS for DSA?
                        5) Which other school U apply for DSA?
                        6) Which Sch is your first Choice?

And the Final Q ....
                        7) What PSLE Score R U Aiming For?

My Gal, True to Her Nature, Chose to be the Last one to Speak. 😉 😉
                        Fortunately she managed to Reply the Q by covering aspects not previously mentioned by other Gals.

And she told me Her Reply to why she choose RGS for DSA makes everyone (Both Interviewers and fellow Interviewee) Laugh, and Lighten the Session up .... 😉 😉

And I Thought she's One who doesn't Talk Much, esp in front of strangers .... :roll: :roll:
                        Maybe the Panel Will Remember Her For that ....
                        😆 😆
                        Good luck to you and DD ! I still havent received any email from RGS 😢 Spoke to DD yesterday and told her to be prepared for rejection and that she shldnt be discouraged, just have to focus on PSLE now.

Good luck to all children going for final rounds of interview, cheers !

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 919