DSA 2011
Anyone with info whether the grandson of the presidential candidate got CO from RI ?
TwaTau:
Thanks.
Best of luck to your DS.ngbrdad:
Just read the NJC email after DS forwarded to me.
So it's Phase 2 which include camp plus interview on same day.
Camp is Phase 2A so I guess Phase 2B is interview then.
Should be a long day for the kids.
Last Chance Salon liao. -
sunflowermom:
DW has the same experience, and the same thought.This snail mail waiting is driving me and my ds crazy. I think I will have weak heart after the DSA thingy! :stompfeet:
Didnt sleep well last night and cannot tahan anymore, so called RI this morning about not receiving the letter.
A very patient lady answered my enquiries, she said that letters will be send out in batches and by next Friday everyone should received theirs (WL, CO or Reject). I also enquired whether those received earlier are for GEP and above 80% only. She said NO and letters were sent out in batches, RANDOMLY. Hope she is not trying to console me.
The P mentioned that around 225 places for DSA with 80% for GEP. This should worked out to be around 180 places. I think there must be more that 180 boys who scored above 80% for SA1 since there are more boys than girls in GEP. So does it mean that below 80% chances extremely slim?
Based on last few years records, any boys who scored below 80% and was offered CO/WL? Any parents care to share? Thanks. -
vanilla mum:
yukilei:
[quote=\"vanilla mum\"]Actually if doesnt score well for PSLE and get in to a good school via DSA, it is also a suffer to the kids. This is what happen to my colleague's son. He was WL to NUSH and scored 232 for PSLE. He received CO when collecting his PSLE results and now he was at the borderline for most of the subject and worst was made to stay for extra lessons after school and on saturday.
Agree with you vanilla mum. Just told my colleague that if my DS did not get selected by NUSH & even if he's PSLE result qualify for NUSH, I might not want him to go there. This is because if NUSH think that he has the capability, they would have chosen him during DSA. With such an accelerated prog, it'll be tough for him to cope.
Hi Yukilei, best wishes to your DS, who knows he may score very well and get in RI :rahrah:[/quote]Thks vanilla mum.. Actually, i'm very KS... my DS will only sit for PSLE next year..... paiseh.. :oops: now gathering info fm this forum... -
ngbrdad:
Anyone with info whether the grandson of the presidential candidate got CO from RI ?
Maybe they wait till after 27 Aug? -
Juz confirm DD NJC phase 2A attendance & the confirmation email came with the info that the interview will be on 19th May…alamak, their calendar moves bkward arh…
wah lau - embarass me, leh.phankao:
My friend's son who didn't manage to get any DSA even under GEP went to NUSH eventually with PSLE score. ALso struggle wat.
phankao, pls go to ur home thread
thanks
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=24794&p=541175#p541175 -
Hi Yukilei, best wishes to your DS, who knows he may score very well and get in RI :rahrah:[/quote]
Thks vanilla mum.. Actually, i'm very KS... my DS will only sit for PSLE next year..... paiseh.. :oops: now gathering info fm this forum...[/quote]
:rotflmao: keep up the KSP spirit!! :rahrah: :rahrah: -
ngbrdad:
Go and read thru the whole NUSH thread, only 80+ pages. Have quite a few feedbacks from NUSH students on life in the school and whether they found it stressful or not.[/quote]
Seriously...I must have slept thru the presentation :snooze: ...or i m already senile :scared: ..dont recall abt this piece of info :oops: ...cylg:
[quote=\"Pen88n\"]
During the NUS High talk, they showed a slide about number of students doing university modules. From the slide, it showed that more than 50% of their year 6 students (I remembered the number was 90+ because my DS commented that was very high based on their yearly cohort of <160) actually take on university modules! Very impressive!
Better have a few cuppa b4 going to the tea reception tomorrow :evil:
yeah....have asked my boy to do some read up to help hime make up his mind...tks & good luch to your DS too
pinky88:
Juz confirm DD NJC phase 2A attendance & the confirmation email came with the info that the interview will be on 19th May....alamak, their calendar moves bkward arh...
:siao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.