DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching

vlim:
      cylg:

I think there r a lot of surprises for this yr RI DSA!...some with less than 80% got CO & some got low 80% got WL/rejected....so really dont know what's the selection criteria....some kids fall under the \"talented\" or \"all-rounder\" category by many parents' standard...but still got rejected...kinda scary right 😞

I also very curious to know what's their selection criteria...
      Maybe for gep > 80%, sa1 result grading 1-10, cca grading 1-5, other talent grading 1-5, leadership role 1-5, DSA interview grading 1-5 etc et c :scratchhead:

may be you want to give a call to HCI ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Ms tay

cestmoi:
        Ms tay:

Dear xyz_xyz

I think ri dsa is not main for mainstreamer ( academic )
        When I received the letter my heart sank and eyes reddened but I tried to control and hide my feeling as I do not want to put stress on my ds ...
        Cheers up !!! Let's encourage our ds 加油!加油!加油!Hope our ds could score well for psle . All the best ! 😉

Ms Tay

:please: Remain ZAI hor, folks!
        Yes
        , its true that it is particulary difficult for main streamers, esp from neighbourhood schs, to get into IP schs like RI by dsa. DD went thru it & said it was an eye opener & big time learning experience for her. So take heart, they wld hv learnt a thing or two from this journey whatever the
        outcome maybe. They will be sensitive to our response & its best to stay strong for every little negative action may trigger undesirable response from them, not that we want in this crucial PSLE period....Stay strong & wishing DS all the best! in :love:

:goodpost: I absolutely agree !! :thankyou: for the moral support !
        Ms Tay

• O Offline
          OrangeJuice

Tinkerbelle:
          cestmoi:

:gloomy: Aiyo...today is such a wet & gloomy day!

Just recvd rejection email from RGS.. Scratching our heads why DD is rejected...DD is a mainstreamer, top gal in a neighbourhood sch, scoring above 90% since P1, has UNSW High distinctions & other awards, won at least two individual trophies for National Competiton in sports since P4. During the last interview with RGS, DD felt she had done her best & her classmate who was in the same interview as her, witnessed the interviewers being visibly impressed with DD & she congrats her for her superb eloquence & quick thinking. DD as usual in her humble self dismissed the praises.

😄 Luckily, we hv set our eyes with NYGH ( of which a CO has already been recvd :rahrah: ) way before & there was just no deep sense of disappointment but full of WHYs huh? :?

Hi cestmoi,
          I think your DD did a great job, please tell her that there is no need to doubt herself over the RGS rejection (not that she is doing so 🙂

Just wanted to share with you the experience of a fren's daughters. The elder one was first in std when in P5 and P6 in a top neighbourhood school, tried for DSA at RGS but was rejected, her parents were puzzled but fortunately she did well in PSLE and was admitted to RGS. Her younger sis was not so bright and tried for RGS DSA, her parents didnt have much hope but surprisingly she was offered. My conclusion is that on top of intelligence, RGS probably looks at the child's \"fit\" into the school. Just FYI. Anyway I am happy that your DD has decided on NYGH. Also, I also wanted to thank you for your kind words and encouragement when I was active on this thread.

good luck to all the DDs and DSs sitting for the PSLE this year !

ngbrdad

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/programmes/gifted-education-programme/integrated-programmes/

Gifted Education Programme: Integrated Programme

The Integrated Programmes (IP) have been implemented since the beginning of 2004 to provide clearly university-bound pupils a seamless secondary and junior college enriched education. The pupils proceed directly to the GCE ‘A’-Levels (or its equivalent, such as the International Baccalaureate or school-based diploma) without the need to take the GCE ‘O’-Level Examination. The time “saved” by not having to prepare for the GCE ‘O’-Level Examination is used to develop pupils’ intellectual curiosity, encourage them to undertake research work and provide a broad-based education that is more in tune with desired real-world competencies.

The IP are currently offered in 11 schools. These IP schools offer their pupils multiple pathways towards their respective pre-university qualifications. They have the flexibility to develop curriculum best suited to the needs of their pupils, who can now optimise their secondary and junior college education pursuing enriched academic and non-academic curricula in greater depth and breadth.

Of these 11 schools, 7 schools offer School-Based Gifted Education (SBGE) to cater to the intellectually gifted. They are:

Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)
            Dunman High School
            Hwa Chong Institution
            Nanyang Girls’ High School
            NUS High School of Maths and Science
            Raffles Girls’ School (Secondary)
            Raffles Institution

The other 4 schools that offer the IP are:

River Valley High School
            National Junior College
            Temasek Junior College
            Victoria Junior College

In August 2010, as part of an initiative to provide more choices and opportunities to different groups of learners, former Minister for Education, Dr Ng Eng Hen, announced the expansion of the IP to 7 more schools in the near future. They are:

Catholic High School
            Methodist Girls’ School
            Singapore Chinese Girls’ School
            St. Joseph’s Institution
            Victoria School
            Cedar Girls’ Secondary School
            CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls’ School
            I always wonder how NUSH implement their SBGE since the students are mixed in class allocations.
            Is it like RI where basically everyone takes the so called SBGE syllabus ?

RVH supposed to have their own SBGE too but not recognised by the GE branch.

And what about NJC ? Their junior high is different from the rest and isn't it a form of SBGE too ?

Lynn2010

yingxuan0806:
              Lynn2010:

Yingxuan,

When is your dd going for interview? MEP or SBC? Is this dd1?

im p6 lah.i went SBC

Yingxuan,
              When is your interview?

vlim

I also wonder do they call or email the kids pri school for their teachers/p feedback on the kids or not ... :scratchhead:

vlim

vlim:

[quote=\"cylg\"]I think there r a lot of surprises for this yr RI DSA!...some with less than 80% got CO & some got low 80% got WL/rejected....so really dont know what's the selection criteria....some kids fall under the \"talented\" or \"all-rounder\" category by many parents' standard...but still got rejected...kinda scary right 😞

I also very curious to know what's their selection criteria...
                  Maybe for gep > 80%, sa1 result grading 1-10, cca grading 1-5, other talent grading 1-5, leadership role 1-5, DSA interview grading 1-5 etc et c :scratchhead:

may be you want to give a call to HCI ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote]Aiyo I am referring to RI la .... Maybe u insider know huh :evil: .. When u meet mrs lim next time, pls find out from her 😉

vlim:
                    I also wonder do they call or email the kids pri school for their teachers/p feedback on the kids or not ... :scratchhead:

cylg

vlim:

yeah lor :evil: ...may be the GE branch has records on the kids lol...we r like detectives liao

ngbrdad

vlim:

Don't think so lah.
                        Maybe the one with SA1>80 but got rejected was the one that answered that he wanted RI becos of parental pressure.
                        Or the child told them during the interview that he preferred ACSI/NUSH/HCI..........

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 919

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog