DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Augmum

PiggyLalala:

Hi Augmum, you should not ask the P to make the DSA process difficult for the GEP. Instead you should come often to the DSA thread and promote about DHS. 😄
      haha....no need me to promote lah.....i dun own the school....
      to each his own....

jtoh

[quote=\"Augmum\"]
        That’s where \"the problems\" lies, DHS u heard that ..... 😉 :evil:

Most Gep pupils would apply for DSA to DHS, (some even apply to all IP schs, real KS)
        even w/o the intention of taking up the offer,
        as it’s such a hassle free,
        exempted fr GAT and no interviews required, so why not ??
        their applications take up the slots of the DSA vacancies,
        depriving other applicants who are really keen in their applications.

Shd have brought this issue out to the P’s attention when met him…….

It's true there are some kiasu GEP students who apply to several schools without the intention of taking up the offer. And when DHS makes it so easy for them, why not? The problem is DHS is happy to welcome them. Maybe if DHS made it harder for the students there would be more vacancies available for the mainstreamers. But wait a second, doesn't DHS set a limit on the number of GEP offers they make?

i have no exact figure for the limit of GEP offers, was told only for the total DSA avail vacancies.
        i choose t o believe that the freeing up of slots would make a diff esp for those borderline cases.....

thats' why we heard P of NYGH asking parents to inform her shd the successful applicants not taking up the offer.[/quote]I guess DHS is trying to attract more GEPpers to the school too and hoping that by making the entry level more accessible, more GEPpers will make their way there.

Pen88n

Sometimes I really don't quite understand this DSA process. Apart from the other categories of sports or special talent DSA, for GEP, it still \"boils\" down to academic score for Geppers as well (from what I see of the post). If it is based on academic score, why not based on overall PSLE score - be it Geppers or mainstream? If a Gepper can score >80% for most of his CA / SA, I really do not see that he will score badly for PSLE.......so why need DSA?

Must be becos of the hot weather that I blurt out another \"hot\" topic......for discussion only......don't 🦆 me!!

vlim

Pen88n:
            Sometimes I really don't quite understand this DSA process. Apart from the other categories of sports or special talent DSA, for GEP, it still \"boils\" down to academic score for Geppers as well (from what I see of the post). If it is based on academic score, why not based on overall PSLE score - be it Geppers or mainstream? If a Gepper can score >80% for most of his CA / SA, I really do not see that he will score badly for PSLE.......so why need DSA?

Must be becos of the hot weather that I blurt out another \"hot\" topic......for discussion only......don't 🦆 me!!
            Well, to me, DSA is very important to geppers.
            First of all geppers have to undergo two and half years of challengings works which include doing projects, assignments and exams. If you were to read the 'all about gep' thread, u would realize tt some of the kids who used to be very good in maths for example from p1-p3, might find themselve unable to cope in the gep curriculum. P6 gep mid year exams is the last and important exams of geppers. However, they still have to settle down to prepare for prelim and psle. For those geppers who are above average in their cohort should not have much problem in getting good psle t-score but still might not be able to out win some of the mainstreamers who have already start their psle preparation since p5( correct me if I am wrong).... As such, without DSA, those geppers who are not able to meet the cop of ip schools due to struggling in gep but might do well if he/she remains in mainstream,will end up in 2nd or lower tier sec schools ..... Under such circumstances, these geppers would be pittyful right and unfair to them .... Jmo ... :roll:

Blur Dad

vlim:

wah...today's weather very hot huh..... :heresmyfish: :siam: 😉 😉 😉

You want to buy popcorn? 😆

Blur Dad

quote=\"Augmum\"]

That’s where \"the problems\" lies, DHS u heard that ..... 😉 :evil:

Most Gep pupils would apply for DSA to DHS, (some even apply to all IP schs, real KS)
                even w/o the intention of taking up the offer,
                as it’s such a hassle free,
                exempted fr GAT and no interviews required, so why not ??
                their applications take up the slots of the DSA vacancies,
                depriving other applicants who are really keen in their applications.

Shd have brought this issue out to the P’s attention when met him…….

It's true there are some kiasu GEP students who apply to several schools without the intention of taking up the offer. And when DHS makes it so easy for them, why not? The problem is DHS is happy to welcome them. Maybe if DHS made it harder for the students there would be more vacancies available for the mainstreamers. But wait a second, doesn't DHS set a limit on the number of GEP offers they make?

i have no exact figure for the limit of GEP offers, was told only for the total DSA avail vacancies.
                i choose t o believe that the freeing up of slots would make a diff esp for those borderline cases.....

thats' why we heard P of NYGH asking parents to inform her shd the successful applicants not taking up the offer.[/quote]

Yes, few of my DS classmates have applied for 4 top schools, RI/HCI/ASCI/NUSH, and 4 schools awarded CO to them. So what do you think?

3 COs are very common among my DS classmates.

However, DHS is not popular or known among my DS's GEP classmates. Non applied to DHS, instead there are some students applied to SST.

Blur Dad

vlim:
                  Pen88n:

First of all geppers have to undergo two and half years of challengings works which include doing projects, assignments and exams. If you were to read the 'all about gep' thread, u would realize tt some of the kids who used to be very good in maths for example from p1-p3, might find themselve unable to cope in the gep curriculum. P6 gep mid year exams is the last and important exams of geppers. However, they still have to settle down to prepare for prelim and psle. For those geppers who are above average in their cohort should not have much problem in getting good psle t-score but still might not be able to out win some of the mainstreamers who have already start their psle preparation since p5( correct me if I am wrong).... As such, without DSA, those geppers who are not able to meet the cop of ip schools due to struggling in gep but might do well if he/she remains in mainstream,will end up in 2nd or lower tier sec schools ..... Under such circumstances, these geppers would be pittyful right and unfair to them .... Jmo ... :roll:

Yes, agreed. DSA is important for GEPers. Good for those who scored more then 80% and able to get 3 or 4 COs from all the top schools. But, but there are some GEPers like my DS, not here nor there. Trying to squeeze into the dream schools via DSA, but end up with the neck full of blood and empty handed. Still have to complete with those mainstreamers who have started preparing PSLE since P4/P5. What a joke.....

Does anyone know why MOE has started the DSA program? Anyone can share?

Cheers

Thank you

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

[quote=\"phankao\"]
                    GEP always gets discounted entry criteria.

It's not discounted. The GEP exams are centralized and generally tougher to score than a mainstream school's paper.

think what phankao was saying is that \"discounted\" in terms of the absolute percentage figure.....

extracted fr DHS website
                    Students who attained 85% or higher score
                    (or 75% or higher score for Gifted Education Programme students) for average of P5 Overall and P6 Mid-Year Examination or its equivalent.
                    [/quote]Yes, that's what I mean.

Afterall, they shouldn't just state an 85% there just like that. At least for GEPpers, the 75% is standardised, right? But for mainstream, some schools' 85% is not equal to other schools' 85%. So then, it's really not fair to those from more competitive schools whose exam standards are set rather high. So a student from that school with 80% might be at similar standard or even better than a student from a school with lower standard but with 85%.

In any case, can see they just want the GEPpers, lah

ngbrdad

DHS seems to be the one that makes life easiest for GEP students during DSA among all schools.

How is their SBGE like ?

jtoh

Blur Dad:
                        vlim:

[quote=\"Pen88n\"]Sometimes I really don't quite understand this DSA process. Apart from the other categories of sports or special talent DSA, for GEP, it still \"boils\" down to academic score for Geppers as well (from what I see of the post). If it is based on academic score, why not based on overall PSLE score - be it Geppers or mainstream? If a Gepper can score >80% for most of his CA / SA, I really do not see that he will score badly for PSLE.......so why need DSA?

Yes, agreed. DSA is important for GEPers. Good for those who scored more then 80% and able to get 3 or 4 COs from all the top schools. But, but there are some GEPers like my DS, not here nor there. Trying to squeeze into the dream schools via DSA, but end up with the neck full of blood and empty handed. Still have to complete with those mainstreamers who have started preparing PSLE since P4/P5. What a joke.....

Does anyone know why MOE has started the DSA program? Anyone can share?

Cheers

Thank you[/quote]Years ago, GEP students used to have direct admission to GEP secondary schools, so it was a through train from P4 to RI/RGS/HCI/NYGH/ACSI/DHS etc. Then beginning with the GEP intake of 2007, MOE scrapped this direct admission to GEP secondary and GEP students had to compete together with mainstreamers at DSA. I guess the reason was that people deemed it unfair and also not all GEP students were of the same high calibre. So DSA was introduced and the weaker GEP students were denied the thru train. So DSA actually made it tougher for GEPpers to get into the top schools because now they had to compete (and score >80%) to get into these top schools when previously it was a thru train.

DSA is important to GEPpers bec they don't prepare for PSLE until Term 3 of P6, unlike mainstreamers who start preparing from early P5, even P4. As blurdad pointed out, it's not exactly fair competition.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 919

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo