DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Pen88n

Brenda10:

Sorry for the late update as we were busy during the last few days.

DD recd an unsuccessful letter from DHS last week!

Have jokingly told her that perhaps there are too many 舞林高手 lah! :evil:

Therefore she is still a 自由身 that can sign her contract with different tier of school base on her PSLE result!

BTW, we found the DSA process is a great experience and DD had learnt and experience how competitive that she will be facing when she move to Secondary school.
      So sorry to hear this, but am really glad you and DD taking it well. Please tell your DD we all in the same boat and must work hard for PSLE :hi5: I am sure our kids will be able to make it to their dream school if they put in the effort...........All the Best!

• Y Offline
        yukilei

ngbrdad, any news fm NJC?

Augmum

Brenda10:

Therefore she is still a 自由身 that can sign her contract with different tier of school base on her PSLE result!

BTW, we found the DSA process is a great experience and DD had learnt and experience how competitive that she will be facing when she move to Secondary school.
          hi Brenda,

Am sorri to hear the outcome of DHS’s dsa.
          拿得起,放得下 ...u're right, that's the right attitude towards life.......

believe yr gal had put in her very best for the dsa process, give her a big hug.
          continue to focus on the coming PSLE,
          with yr gal's hard work, coupled with yr guidance and encouragement,
          she will certainly able to do well……
          i am waiting to congrat and welcome her horr.......

rylee

rylee:
            Brenda10:

Hi Brenda, sorry to hear that. But never mind, take it as a learning experience and jia you for the coming psle.

We are still waiting anxiously for the DHS outcome and I think will probably
            receive it today. I called DHS last Friday and they said all letters had been posted out last Wednesday. Don't know why it takes so long to reach us???

Regards

Hi Brenda, after a long wait, we finally received the rejection letter from DHS. So our only choice is to a accept the co from VS ( VCA IP) though my son prefer DHS, but I think VS should be a good enough school for him. Good luck to those still waiting for NJC and DHS reply and congrats to those already got co. Regards.

vlim

comfy:

The reason why I ask is I wonder where they are grouped as. Will they be put in a GEP prog. like in Pri school. or some specialised group that the expectation is higher that other classes from mainstream. I simply will not want to have to stress myself and will like my dd to develop at her own pace not super pace like now. I also don't want to send her for tuition hence thought of finding out more this time round. I read from another mother who didn't know that her dd is still monitor as a GEP in IP school and the expectation like exam result is marked higher that other students.
              Hi comfy,
              Don't be too worry About this DSA thingy first though good to come here to get some info first. Your dd is only p4 gep right ... Just try to get her some help in coping her work first .. And with consistent hardwork .. I believe she should do fine when come p6.. Good luck!

Blur Dad

tisha:
                Brenda10:

Brenda, sorry to hear that. :hugs: But yes, you are right, we have to move on. I also agree that the DSA experience was a great one. The NJC camp and interview was a good exposure for DS.
                Of course it is disapointing to get a reject letter, but no point dwelling on it. Even though I've joined the bandwagon of waiting for this NJC letter, I do not have high hopes.
                We went thru this DSA with an open mind. Being from main stream I was well aware that the chances are not high. Nevertheless need to give our kids the oppotunities they deserve(so as not to regret later).
                Fortunately the school evnironment is also supportive, where no one really discusses DSA results and everyone is really focussed on PSLE.

Hi tisha

I guess this is the different mind set and expectation between GEPers and mainstreamers towards DSA.

ngbrdad

yukilei:
                  ngbrdad, any news fm NJC?

Don't know leh my postman only comes around 5+

Blur Dad

Strparent:

After the PSLE results, we applied for Supplementary Intake with RI and HCI ( kiasu, I guess, cause my DS said 65% boy classmates go RI, 25% go HCI ). Both offered spots to him, and he naturally chose where most of his play buddies went.
                    Hi Strparent

May I know what is \"Supplementary Intake\" with RI & HCI\". Is it a test or an application process? Or is it an appeal process and has to depend on the PSLE T-Score.

My DS scored 77.x% for SA1. Rejected from RI and HCI. Do you think my DS can go for the \"Supplementary Intrake\"

Thank you for sharing.

Cheers

Brenda10

Pen88n:
                      So sorry to hear this, but am really glad you and DD taking it well. Please tell your DD we all in the same boat and must work hard for PSLE :hi5: I am sure our kids will be able to make it to their dream school if they put in the effort...........All the Best!

Hi Pen88n

Thank you for your encouragement!

Yes, they still can work hard for this coming PSLE! :rahrah:

tisha

Blur Dad:

Hi tisha

I guess this is the different mind set and expectation between GEPers and mainstreamers towards DSA.
                        Yes blur dad. I do understand(by the sharings of various parents) that DSA results is a very very stressful thing for a GEP student as compared to a mainstream student.

There is one thing I'd like to know though. Do GEP students fair badly in PSLE? What is the avg T Score of a GEP class?
                        Maybe some parents of Gep students who have already finished PSLE can throw some light on it? This can help ease a lot of anxiety of those parents who do not yet have a CO.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 711 / 919