DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      metz

yukilei:
      chamonix:

[quote=\"firefly38\"]

it has evolved into a light-hearted discussion of the many 'funny' terms used by our old folks on us, and which we have not heard for ages.. seems like many of us belong to the same era.. brings back fond memories... πŸ•Ί

a good sign that parents are no longer using such terms on kids :imcool:

even if we use, don't think they can understand..... πŸ˜‰[/quote]very true πŸ˜‚

• Z Offline
        Zann

chamonix:
        firefly38:

strparent, what is \"haotai\" uh? does not sound like a very nice word to describe the GEPpers leh.. :roll:

My hubby said \"haotai\" = \"haolian\".

My hokkien dh also say the same thing. But I thot there is a difference. \"haotai\" mean \"act smart\" and \"haolian\" mean \"show off\". No?

Used to heard \"peh jin\" (white eye) = \"stupid\" from my aunt. But it is no longer in used today.

Still hear \"gong sai\" this day.

metz

Zann:
          chamonix:

[quote=\"firefly38\"]

strparent, what is \"haotai\" uh? does not sound like a very nice word to describe the GEPpers leh.. :roll:

My hokkien dh also say the same thing. But I thot there is a difference. \"haotai\" mean \"act smart\" and \"haolian\" mean \"show off\". No?
          [/quote]He claimed that was the way he heard people use it. But I think you are probably right about \"haotai\" being \"act smart\".

ngbrdad

Maybe a good idea that we teach the kids some dialect so that they don’t forget their roots.

After PSLE is a good idea.

Anyway think we have gone OT really big time already in last few pages LOL.

Interested

ngbrdad:
              Maybe a good idea that we teach the kids some dialect so that they don't forget their roots.

After PSLE is a good idea.

Anyway think we have gone OT really big time already in last few pages LOL.

:yikes: all these words...

all because I suggested checking on Hokkien dictionary .... :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :evil: :evil:

garang, not = guru πŸ¦†

vlim

Maybe got to check wit h people who speak Hainan dialect .... It might mean very differently ... πŸ˜‰

MandyMummy

Actually, it is a good idea to teach them these words lah, so they will know when people are praising or scolding them. They only know the really vulgar ones :yikes:

Must also teach them enough to order from some old uncles/aunties in hawker centres too. πŸ˜„

Strparent

Zann:
                      chamonix:

[quote=\"firefly38\"]

My hokkien dh also say the same thing. But I thot there is a difference. \"haotai\" mean \"act smart\" and \"haolian\" mean \"show off\". No? [/quote]Hi firefly38,

I did not mean 'stupid' at all ! How could I ? These kids are special, fast learners. Sometimes I am impressed by DS and his classmates last year during projects and tests - they put effort , but NOT that much effort, and the results was astounding. I remembered they participated in some CMPS competition, and spent so much time joking and laughing, and boy/girl relationship ( yes, at P5 ! ), and yet emerge national winners, and got to go to USA for the international version.

Back to the 'haotai', yes Zann and chamonix got what I was trying to convey. A little like act smart, or act too smart, or think too highly of themselves ? There is a thin line between confidence and conceit. :evil:

My mum still used those terms, so my kids actually understand hokkien very well, even my DD at P5 understands and speaks Hokkien to her grandmother some times. But as times changed, and we consumed more potatoes, most children now do not speak even their own dialects. My DS always get asked what he means, when he inadvertably blurts out a traditional term or phrase in dialect ( either Hokkien, Cantonese eor Hainanese ) :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

firefly38, pls do not divulge my age :nailbite: :nailbite: . I was at RJC when they were still at Paterson Road, so .....quite a long time laio :sad:

Strparent:

firefly38, pls do not divulge my age :nailbite: :nailbite: . I was at RJC when they were still at Paterson Road, so .....quite a long time laio :sad:
                        okay everyone, please keep the secret :rotflmao: if you re-tell to anyone, please remember to remind it is a secret :rotflmao: :rotflmao: the age thingy .....when RJC was still at Paterson Road, before Ghim Moh days ....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 775 / 919

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127