DSA 2011
yukilei:
I heard of 1 RI boy, non-gepper, rejected by RI but given a CO fm another sch during DSA. He accepted the CO. But who knows, he scored 271 for PSLE. His parents immediately appeal to RI & he was accepted by RI.
Yukilei,
thats what I meant - this Supplementary Intake ( appeal ) works for the schs as effective as the kids. They are just being kiasu also. To me, RI is the most kiasu sch I know. :siam:Strparent:
precisely it is because they want the creme of the crop, hence they have this SI phase. It is mainly to recapture all those high calibre scorers that they missed out during the DSA process, especially those who already posted to their competitor schs during DSA. It is like a backup to net those they did not give CO, but other schs did give out.
Supp. Intake phase is mainly for DSA students who did not get posted there, and were posted elsewhere, ard Nov 22 onwards. They just want to lure them back in. -
yukilei:
sounded like he got a call from RI the very next day, saying, \"lai lai lai ........\"
I heard of 1 RI boy, non-gepper, rejected by RI but given a CO fm another sch during DSA. He accepted the CO. But who knows, he scored 271 for PSLE. His parents immediately appeal to RI & he was accepted by RI. -
Strparent:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Yukilei,
thats what I meant - this Supplementary Intake ( appeal ) works for the schs as effective as the kids. They are just being kiasu also. To me, RI is the most kiasu sch I know. :siam:
Did he just answer the challenging question you answered a few days ago? :rahrah: :siam:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:Strparent:
Yukilei,
thats what I meant - this Supplementary Intake ( appeal ) works for the schs as effective as the kids. They are just being kiasu also. To me, RI is the most kiasu sch I know. :siam:
vlim:
Hi vlim,
Bingo yukilei!.. Hope Interested understand by now too...yukilei:
Thks strparent. To summarise, if DSA no CO/WL or WL not converted to CO, appeal immediately after PSLE result if result is > COP. Then wait. If no response by S1 posting exercise, apply thru S1 posting exercise.
Wow! many ball flying around...i'm trying to catch lor. I just hope my ds got high t-score then no problem whether to appeal or just apply s1 then sit n wait.
Different school different appeal procedure so when i see ds t-score on 24 Nov i will know how to chiong or sit and wait.
RI chiong immd if t-score just hit...cos you won't know the actual t-score scaly miss by 1 mark :faint:
HCI don't need to chiong - they don't entertain me cos i dun have other CO and appeal only after S1 posting... :sad: -
Personally, I feel u will stand a better chance when u appeal if you have exceptional performance in sports, performing arts, leadership, apple apps programmer, writers etc. That will make you stand out among all the high scores coz they can get top scorers easily via S1 but if they enrol such students, it will 'enhant' the school in other areas.
yeap...that's y school holistic mah....how about the kids :scratchhead: -
Personally, I feel u will stand a better chance when u appeal if you have exceptional performance in sports, performing arts, leadership, apple apps programmer, writers etc. That will make you stand out among all the high scores coz they can get top scorers easily via S1 but if they enrol such students, it will 'enhant' the school in other areas.
Different schools different practice. But what is almost confirmed at appeal stage in most top IP schools is that the kids are ranked by PSLE results
:nailbite: I reckon near the appeal cut off point, then the talents as mentioned by nebbermind make a difference for kids with same PSLE scores. Eg if appeal COP is 266 then a 266 boy who is head prefect may be considered more favourable than a 266 boy who is not a leader and no specific talent. Most of the sports and CCA talents whom they want are already recruited at DSA stage. For top scorers ie way above past S1 COP, like what the more experienced parents imply, you choose the school not the school choose you :evil:
Snow Crystal:
Most of the sports and CCA talents whom they want are already recruited at DSA stage.
But they may have decided to go to other schools so still have to recruit again. When it comes to sports, alot of musical chair...even up to the last day of the yr!
for this kind of immediate approval case, does the stud still need to submit s1 form within the timeframe? According to MOE spell-out process those who have no successful DSA got to go thru s1 posting, right?
for those with zero success at DSA (tried, but no offer no WL) yet finally got high t-score (not marginal at the cop) which allow them to walk in to any school, appeal may still be appropriate because some school gives almost immediate approval...and being kiasu,
Also what if this stud did not try DSA at all, can also appeal to get early approval then wait ? -
Zann:
:? :?
for this kind of immediate approval case, does the stud still need to submit s1 form within the timeframe? According to MOE spell-out process those who have no successful DSA got to go thru s1 posting, right?verykiasu2010:
for those with zero success at DSA (tried, but no offer no WL) yet finally got high t-score (not marginal at the cop) which allow them to walk in to any school, appeal may still be appropriate because some school gives almost immediate approval...and being kiasu,
Also what if this stud did not try DSA at all, can also appeal to get early approval then wait ?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.