DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      vlim

firefly38:
      Otah:

Aiyo strparent, relax... :imconstipated: I'm the one who raise this qn and along the way the choice of word the shifu used also confused me. It is only later part of the thread that I get clear and clear plus I think you help to clarify it by putting the bit and pieces together. Well done...

Master 师父-VK is like our papa.. very apt & precise in his explanation (may sound a little impatient at times).. but its for our own good as he wants us to learn fast.. 😄

Master 师公-strparent is like our ah-kong.. very clear in his explanation (may sound a little lor-sor at times).. always patiently summarising different points raised and putting different pieces of infomation together for our better understanding.. and will use 'hao-tai' (or other terms) occasionally in case we forget our dialects.. 😉

i respect both my papa & my ah-kong! :salute: :salute:

wa firefly your buttock want to get fire is it :torchme: ...I only dare to call them uncles ...u call them ah kong and papa..so old... 😆

pinky88

Lenny08:

Hi All,

Thanks for the explanation.

May I ask, does RGS and NYGH accept appeal before the s1 posting when one did not or did apply via dsa route?thanks.So, best to appeal if t score is slightly above the schools cop?

Best Wishes,
        Lenny

if you have NOT applied DSA before, what is there to appeal before S1 posting ?

obviously if you did not make it one of your choices in the S1 submission, you also have no basis to appeal after the s1 result is out

Hi, let me share with you my DD's case 2 yrs ago. He did not participate in DSA. His PSLE result was eligible to enter HCI. However, as we were uncertain of IP at that point of time, we did not apply any IP schs during the S1 submission. After the S1 submission was closed, I found out more abt the IP & regretted our choice.

Like many parents, I also thought there is no basis to appeal if we did not make the sch as one of our choices. Anyway, I called up HCI to ask if I could appeal & the lady actually encouraged me to do that. So I went to HCI to appeal before the S1 posting result was out. However, we only heard from them about our successful appeal a few days after the S1 posting results....guess they still give priorities to those who had DSAed to their sch & those who had put them as 1st choice in the S1 posting.

On the S1 posting result day, we also went to DHS to appeal & got the gds news fm them 2 days later. Eventually, we chose HCI.

So if u want to go to sch of ur choice & if ur PSLE result permits, just go ahead and appeal irregardless of whether u hv put their sch as any of your choices. U nvr noe if u dun even try.

Leanne

Hi Ksp,

I was browsing this thread and read about appeals before S1 posting out etc.I wonder, what is the basis for the school to filter students via appealing case and s1 posting?

Thank you.

Cheers,
          Leanne

Snow Crystal

pinky88:

So if u want to go to sch of ur choice & if ur PSLE result permits, just go ahead and appeal irregardless of whether u hv put their sch as any of your choices. U nvr noe if u dun even try.
            :goodpost: classic example of fantastic PSLE score = kid choose school, not school choose kid :imcool: So parents with no DSA CO/WL etc don't fret, your DS/DD could be the ones the good IP schools roll red carpet for :evil: :rahrah:

jtoh

I really do think that parents are getting ahead of themselves in the appeal process. We shouldn’t even be thinking of appealing if we exercise our first options correctly.

1. For the vast majority of students who did not participate in DSA, choose your options wisely in the S1 Central Posting Exercise. Do your research on the schools now, and you’ll have a good 2 months to ponder your decision. No need to even consider appealing.

2. For the students who tried DSA, have a WL/CO and are NOT eligible for S1 Central Posting, then you can consider the supplementary intake. Note that this phase is NOT supposed to be for those who are eligible for S1 Central Posting.

Most importantly, study hard now so that you can score in PSLE and choose the school you want to go to.

Snow Crystal

Leanne:
                Hi Ksp,

I was browsing this thread and read about appeals before S1 posting out etc.I wonder, what is the basis for the school to filter students via appealing case and s1 posting?

Thank you.

Cheers,
                Leanne
                As very few of us are in the know about the intricacies of the process, we guess as such: for top IPs, if DSA 50% positions are choped, by right should be left with balance 50% for S1 posting. The unknown is how the school determine vacancies for appeal. Are they leftovers from DSA exercise or the school actually can keep some slots of the second 50%? Or a summation of both? Your guess is as good as mine iro MOE requirement for the IP schools to release certain % vacancies for S1 exercise despite the supposed 100% discretion. S1 posting basis is purely PSLE scores.

Then first round of appeal cases takes place ie those who accepted COs from other schools and therefore taken out of S1 exercise, but now change mind 😓 :nailbite: :please: I believe these kids are largely ranked by PSLE score while other KSP eg nebbermind think other talents like CCA/sports also count (nobody knows, seriously) and the selected gets called by the school :rahrah: :boogie: This happens before or concurrent to S1 posting results so that the successful appeal cases and S1 posting students can all report to their dream school on reporting day :boogie: Then another round of merry go round takes place after reporting day for second group of appeals - those who score below S1 COP. This second round sometimes extend till sec sch orientation. The action always starts from the top IPs then filter down.

Strparent

Hi Jtoh,

my thoughts exactly. Too many trying to find 'what if' possibilities and other loops and nooks around this appeal route. However, Jtoh, you forgot one more group, that is , those who regretted their choice after making their S1 posting exercise - these ppl can also appeal after the posting of sec sch, usually around 21 Dec. example as per pinky88

pinky88:
                  we were uncertain of IP at that point of time, we did not apply any IP schs during the S1 submission. After the S1 submission was closed, I found out more abt the IP & regretted our choice.

I called up HCI to ask if I could appeal & the lady actually encouraged me to do that. So I went to HCI to appeal before the S1 posting result was out. However, we only heard from them about our successful appeal a few days after the S1 posting results....guess they still give priorities to those who had DSAed to their sch & those who had put them as 1st choice in the S1 posting.
                  pinky88,
                  yes, I understand your comments and thanks for sharing.
                  However, many people are asking abt wanting to appeal direct to their 1st choice sch immediately after PSLE results, even though they are eligible for the S1 posting exercise. :slapshead: :slapshead:
                  ( if results is good enough, just exercise the S1 posting exercise to go yr fav sch lor, )

Yours is similar to the last route of appeal as stated in my earlier post
                  Strparent:
                  Those who has CO and/or WL from the DSA applications, filled up according to their choice(s) earlier. Usually put your favourite school 1st choice ( be it CO or WL ). if have 2nd choice as CO, it is backup.

for those who were given sch of their 2nd choice or 3rd choice, if their PSLE is like say 263 and above, MAY choose to APPEAL immediately to their 1st choice DSA sch through the supplementary.

for those who without CO and not given any sch, just do the S1 posting.

anyone who changed their mind after getting posting of sec sch, may also appeal thru supplementary intake.

Snow Crystal

I really do think that parents are getting ahead of themselves in the appeal process. We shouldn't even be thinking of appealing if we exercise our first options correctly.

Most importantly, study hard now so that you can score in PSLE and choose the school you want to go to.
                    :goodpost: well said.

jtoh

Strparent:
                      Hi Jtoh,

my thoughts exactly. Too many trying to find 'what if' possibilities and other loops and nooks around this appeal route. However, Jtoh, you forgot one more group, that is , those who regretted their choice after making their S1 posting exercise - these ppl can also appeal after the posting of sec sch, usually around 21 Dec. example as per pinky88
                      Hi Strparent,

I didn't forget the group you mentioned. What I'm saying is you have 2 months to do your research now. So if you choose carefully, there shouldn't be any regrets, and you shouldn't need to go into the appeal process.

Of course some parents will say how can we do any research now if we don't know our kids' results. Yes you can. You should have a fair idea of where your kid is likely to score. >260, between 250-260, between 230-250 etc. So based on the expected results, choose schools you like which fall into this range/ranges. Read about them, talk to other parents about them, post questions about them on the relevant school threads on ksp. So by the time you get your PSLE results, you already have an idea of the possible schools available.

Use appeals only as a last resort in the event that something unforeen happens, not as an extra avenue for the fickle-minded.

pinky88

thank you for your sharing

that would make some of us ksp even more ks, one more possibility of appeal

i think you have been very fortunate in your scenario - a rather uncommon case than the norm : contrast this with someone who DSA-ed, didn't get CO, got 262 t-score, appeal to go to the school with COP 259, still got rejected ..... this someone would certainly feel very very sore with the school, and when compared with his friends who didn't \"waste time\" doing DSA, just got 259, put the school as first choice in S1 submission, bingo ! lagi more sore and more resentment

your sharing has taught us \"no venture no gain\", just a little bit more kiasu lor .... (i think if the principals of the schools were to read this thread they will faint)

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 919