DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Snow Crystal

sunflowermom:
      It seems that there are still many choosing RI instead of HCI, RGS instead of NYGH. Why? It there something in RI and RGS that I am not aware of? Is it 越难得到的就越好?

Why are you surprised leh :scratchhead: The Raffles family have always been the premium Singapore schools since many many years ago. RIJC is also one of the top 10 high schools in the world (read this in some article in this forum). When you apply overseas ivy league uni, which uni doesn't know the famous Raffles brand 😉 HCI and NYGH were very popular SAP schools many years ago and gained further popularity after the IP tie up with HCJC a few years back. I personally think Mdm Heng is a fantastic principal. But, in this forum do you hear of any kids with dilemma of getting CO from RI and wanting to appeal to another IP after PSLE results - hardly haha :evil:

Snow Crystal

firefly38:
        Snow Crystal:

[quote=\"Simply Kiasu\"]
        Hello All, thank you so much for your thoughts and advise! Will take the leap of faith and go with DS's wishes :xedfingers:

:xedfingers: 🙏
        Your DS is a confident chap 🆒 Wishing you all the best and that you will 'meet' ngbrdad and Ms Tay etc KSPs on reporting day in RI! :please: :grphug:

... and LangMum too!!! 🕺 :rahrah: 🕺 :rahrah:[/quote]Oh one more ... yay :rahrah: ... hope these dedicated dads and mums bump into each other on reporting day at RI! :please:

ProteX

Yeah, most people wants to get into RI and RGS since they have nurtured so many prominent leaders. (And some bad ones too though)

Compared to HCI and NYGH, it’s not that their programmes are better or whatever. Both have their pros and cons, just that most prefers RI. But my school seems to have a surprising number of people going to HCI though. Looks like I’m the odd one out here… -.-
          1)0806
          2)3009
          Some of my friends are pissed off because I’m wasting my RI offer.

Snow Crystal

ProteX:
            Yeah, most people wants to get into RI and RGS since they have nurtured so many prominent leaders. (And some bad ones too though)

Compared to HCI and NYGH, it's not that their programmes are better or whatever. Both have their pros and cons, just that most prefers RI. But my school seems to have a surprising number of people going to HCI though. Looks like I'm the odd one out here... -.-
            1)0806
            2)3009
            Some of my friends are pissed off because I'm wasting my RI offer.
            Congratz on getting these COs! I am sure you have your own reasons for choosing 0806. Your friends must have liked you a lot to be pissed. If they don't like you, they won't be pissed :evil: Ngbrdad will give you a personal hug for nudging his DS WL up by one position :hugs: 😉

ProteX

Snow Crystal:
              ProteX:

Compared to HCI and NYGH, it's not that their programmes are better or whatever. Both have their pros and cons, just that most prefers RI. But my school seems to have a surprising number of people going to HCI though. Looks like I'm the odd one out here... -.-
              1)0806
              2)3009
              Some of my friends are pissed off because I'm wasting my RI offer.

Congratz on getting these COs! I am sure you have your own reasons for choosing 0806. Your friends must have liked you a lot to be pissed. If they don't like you, they won't be pissed :evil: Ngbrdad will give you a personal hug for nudging his DS WL up by one position :hugs: 😉

Haha yeah np. Gd luck to all those with WL in getting into their dream school.

ngbrdad

ProteX:

Haha yeah np. Gd luck to all those with WL in getting into their dream school.
                :thankyou:

ngbrdad

sunflowermom:
                  It seems that there are still many choosing RI instead of HCI, RGS instead of NYGH. Why? It there something in RI and RGS that I am not aware of? Is it 越难得到的就越好?

For some the main factor is the high demand on HCL in both NYHG and HCI. Plus the Chinese culture and tradition. So kids just don't feel they belong there.
                  We didn't DSA for HCI at all becos DS1 simply refuse to.

Ironically some schools in our back up plan are SAP schools. Guess if reach that stage really have no choice.

vlim

cestmoi:
                    vlim:

[quote=\"cestmoi\"]

😢 Poor thing! Speaking of it....we have not yet made our submission! :yikes:
                    Will do so when dd is back. 🕺

why wait for so long.....please key in asap... 😓

😂 THANKS, vlim!
                    DH is out of town & he was still in two minds whether to wait for S1 posting (since dd results has always been above 27X for the past few exams) & apply for RGS OR heck it & confirm the offers with NYGH as first choice & DHS as second. I told dd of ur dragonfruit story & she remained firm on her stand - NYGH. Initally we were apprehensive if she was buay song with rgs for rejecting her in dsa...BUT time passed & dd preference for NYGH grew more & more as she researched further. So after a final round of MSN discussion with DH, we decided to support dd & seal her fate with NYGH. The final button was pressed & she is as happy as a lark now! :rotflmao:[/quote] 😂 ..Congratulation cestomi..then NYGH is your dd's dragaon fruit ! :rahrah: :celebrate: :boogie: 🕺

cestmoi

TREX8:
                      Hi cestmoi, so your DD's also going to NYGH! I suppose as long as the kids are determined enough to make a stand, and their decision is a good decision, it would be good to support them.
                      cestmoi:

[ 😂 THANKS, vlim!
                      DH is out of town & he was still in two minds whether to wait for S1 posting (since dd results has always been above 27X for the past few exams) & apply for RGS OR heck it & confirm the offers with NYGH as first choice & DHS as second. I told dd of ur dragonfruit story & she remained firm on her stand - NYGH. Initally we were apprehensive if she was buay song with rgs for rejecting her in dsa...BUT time passed & dd preference for NYGH grew more & more as she researched further. So after a final round of MSN discussion with DH, we decided to support dd & seal her fate with NYGH. The final button was pressed & she is as happy as a lark now! :rotflmao:

😄 Hi TREX8! Yeah, DD is firm on NYGH & so are the rest of the Top 3 in DD sch. Both boys are joining HCI. Cheers! :rahrah:

Snow Crystal

cestmoi:

😄 Hi TREX8! Yeah, DD is firm on NYGH & so are the rest of the Top 3 in DD sch. Both boys are joining HCI. Cheers! :rahrah:
                        cestmoi - you and your DH are very supportive parents who let the DD decide :celebrate:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 919