DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      ppnqq

Asking on a friend’s behalf. Have all of you gotten the letter? My friend has not. By this time, thought all applicants should have received the letter already, so that they know if their children have been accepted? Any one who have not? TIA.

jtoh

Haha! I just thought it was funny. Reminds me of the compo that was circulating on Facebook in which a boy wrote that his gold fish yan1 shi3 le4. (drowned)

TREX8:
        alamak! what a silly mistake! jtoh - that's a quick one!
        but you know what I mean lah - \"as long as the fish can thrive\"

[quote=\"TREX8\"]I suppose as parents, we can only guide, and frankly, we also do not have a crystal ball to foretell which is the best option for our kids. The rest is up to the kids.

The reassuring thing would be that within the IP schools, the quality of the water has a certain standard. So as long as the water doesn't dry up and the fish (regardless of size relative to the other fishes in the pond) doesn't drown, I think we need not worry too much 😄

Since when do fish drown? :? :rotflmao:

jtoh

cestmoi:
          Yeah DD is rather kantang so we shall wait & see if she cld fit into NYGH culture as so she has expressed that she wld... 😛 :boogie:

I'm sure she'll do fine. After all, she's the one who wants to go there.

vlim

ppnqq:
            Asking on a friend's behalf. Have all of you gotten the letter? My friend has not. By this time, thought all applicants should have received the letter already, so that they know if their children have been accepted? Any one who have not? TIA.

????. What letter are you referring ... :?

MummySTay

vlim:
              ppnqq:

Asking on a friend's behalf. Have all of you gotten the letter? My friend has not. By this time, thought all applicants should have received the letter already, so that they know if their children have been accepted? Any one who have not? TIA.

Are you referring to the DSA acceptance / rejection letter? If so, all should have received by August, I think.

ppnqq

Haha! I just thought it was funny. Reminds me of the compo that was circulating on Facebook in which a boy wrote that his gold fish yan1 shi3 le4. (drowned)

Fish? Drowned? :? :rotflmao:

ppnqq

MummySTay:
                  vlim:

[quote=\"ppnqq\"]Asking on a friend's behalf. Have all of you gotten the letter? My friend has not. By this time, thought all applicants should have received the letter already, so that they know if their children have been accepted? Any one who have not? TIA.

Are you referring to the DSA acceptance / rejection letter? If so, all should have received by August, I think.[/quote]Ok, thank you.

Nutty mum

One parent mentioned about the Raffles Science Olympiad - I know my DD school has it but teacher actually selects the pupils. I didn’t know of it until I read your reply and asked my DD. I wonder if we could enter this competition on our accord as I felt all pupils should be given an equal chance.

Can any one share his/her thoughts on this ? thanks

Funx3

firefly38:
                      ngbrdad:

Half an hour more to go for the submission of preferrence.

If you haven't done so, drop everything and find a PC now.

So by 3pm it really completes this year's DSA process.

So will we be separated out to a DSA 2011 thread ?

...but dont drop your PC/laptop/notebook hor... :rotflmao: 😆 ...
                      Yay, we have submitted DS1's option last nite (at my sis' place)...
                      and yay, today is the last day of DS2's SA2 exam!
                      From now on is... fun x 3!!! 🕺 🕺 :dancing:

sista ....
                      U Call me?

vlim

ScaredyMum:

For those of you who DSA this year, did you all mostly apply thru academics? Are your kids all GEPpers? Any mainstream parents can share your experiences too? Like what to start preparing in P5/P6, any specific subject to 'focus' etc?

Sorry if I am asking a repetitive question, I tried reading from page 1 but there is too many pages (881) to go through! 😉

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=26571

like PSLE preparation, DSA preparation starts in Pri 5; and if applying to RI, starts in Pri 4 - because you need to submit Pri 4 academic records

make sure high scores for every subjects, win competitions, NMOS, SMOPS, PLK, RIPWMC, SMOJ, UNSW, Raffles Science Olympiad, get into the Raffles
                        Inner Circle, get shortlisted for bilingual talent etc

if kids are not from GEP, make sure performs like GEP kids ...because they are looking for \"ability beyond peers\" ..... like that the DSA offers sure go the right students mah ....... or else proof by high t-score at S1

Vk2010... If I were scaredymummy .. After reading your above post ... My jaw will drop to the floor ..... Don't scare her la .... 😉 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 882 / 919

iworkI
                        iwork