DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
    • phankaoP Offline
      phankao

I suppose they can check the authenticity of the certificates when the kids go for the interviews.
      Really - those schools didn't need to see the original certs/documents at all. I also just clarified with DHS this week on whether the certs/documents need to be certified - they said no need. I was impressed that my email sent at 5pm was replied at 10pm the same evening!!!!!!!!!!!!

jtoh

I suppose they can check the authenticity of the certificates when the kids go for the interviews.

Really - those schools didn't need to see the original certs/documents at all. I also just clarified with DHS this week on whether the certs/documents need to be certified - they said no need. I was impressed that my email sent at 5pm was replied at 10pm the same evening!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just saying that for schools that request online certified true copies, they can ask for the hard copies later on.

Anyway, who's so silly to falsify documents. It's just DSA. And it's so easy for the DSA schools to find out whether the documents submitted are true or not. The info's easily available from the relevant bodies and also from the primary schools.

ngbrdad:
          But seriously some do really let their kid go alone by public transport right ?

My wife keep telling me the kid should be big enough to do so already.

at a DSA-success admission briefing, the admin say please let the boys take public transport to / from school so that they know what common folks are going through....and one day if they become transport minister, they will know what problems need to be fixed...that was in Dec 2010.....

now these days after the May 2011 election we see the new transport minister taking bus, mrt, lrt, trying to feel what is life like for the common folks struggling with the public transport .... .....wow, now looking back we can see that the RI teacher was not joking !! must truth was said in jest !

vlim:
            Fretting:

so vlim, ngbrdad - RI has not sent out notice for GEP yet, right? If anyone has received pls share. has anyone heard from hci or acsi? gamxia

My ds has not received any notice yet but don't know abt others..

you should be getting it these few days....

jtoh

ngbrdad:

But seriously some do really let their kid go alone by public transport right ?

My wife keep telling me the kid should be big enough to do so already.

at a DSA-success admission briefing, the admin say please let the boys take public transport to / from school so that they know what common folks are going through....and one day if they become transport minister, they will know what problems need to be fixed...that was in Dec 2010.....

now these days after the May 2011 election we see the new transport minister taking bus, mrt, lrt, trying to feel what is life like for the common folks struggling with the public transport .... .....wow, now looking back we can see that the RI teacher was not joking !! must truth was said in jest !

RI teacher had foresight. Or did he teach the new transport minister once upon a time? :lol:

Pen88n

Belle2011:

[quote=\"phankao\"]Oh, I've been scanning in all the certs all this while. So when need just print out, no need organize to photocopy .

Photocopying or scanning is relatively simple; certifying can't be done at home.

So what u need do is scan the certified copies? Wu Liao. How to see that it's genuinely certified ith a scanned copy? Strange practice.

I rmbe last time my ds1, no need to certify for RI and NJC, but that SST need to certify. And for my ds2, DHS dun need certify but his own affiliated school need certified copies. looks like the more well known schools not so KS. In our experience for those few schools lah[/quote]Well, I supposed it depends on the sec sch how ks they are or whether they want to \"push\" work to other sch. If they are ks and need to verify themselves, then they ask for originals to verify later. If they want to \"push work\" to primary school, then they ask for \"certified true copies\" so they need not do another round of verification themselves.

actually the sec school does NOT to get the certified result because once the student is admitted to the school, they can download the data from MOE computer and that would be the authoritative data. Certified copies eventually also thrown away

for other certs not issued by MOE, just ask the student to bring the original during interview

Pen88n

ngbrdad:
                    Someone need to send the kid to RI for the test right ?

Do you people let you kid travel there alone on public transport ?
                    DS has travelled alone on public transport since start of P6.

I supposed for some more important event such as GAT / selection tests and new unfamiliar venue I would prefer to send him there personally to ensure he is not lost (or distracted along the way :laugh: ).

Michelle Shen

Wow! Thanks for the useful info! I just joined this forum & didnt know i can get so much info in order to prepare for my boy’s PSLE! : )

Michelle Shen

Wow! Thanks for the useful info! I just joined this forum & didnt know i can get so much info in order to prepare for my boy’s PSLE! : )

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 101 / 919

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog