Myanmar maids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    799 Posts 94 Posters 524.7k Views 1 Watching

Burmese maid are not very common. If they do not go out, chances of them being brainwashed is low. When brother’s maid sits in a car, she will feel nauseous. So she is trying to stay at home most of the time.

My prev Filipino maid was hoping to use me as a stepping stone to find expat family…pref angmoh. She heard how much freedom she has working for angmoh families…cooking so easy, can use microwave (no need to mop), no need to clean floor often. Can go supermarket to run errands etc etc.

vinegar

happy to be mum:
        whoa! hearing all your stories made me feel I am lucky..I have yet to experience much horrible experiences to lose trust in maids totally!

my first maid..used me as a stepping stone..to come into SG and after 3 months said she wanted to transfer caused she wanted to have all Sundays off. I let her go since no point keeping someone who does not want to work for her...her dream was to work for ang mohs..typical phinoys' thinking.

2nd phinoy maid almost going to finsh her contract but because of some stupid things that she committed and don't want to admit and she felt bad and guilty, said wanted to transfer. While working with me, the only few things that I complained was her yaking and yaking (again another typical phinoy) and pridefulness. When told her dishes not clean..she can challenge me to wash all the plates in front of me. Cooking wise, she can cook and take care of my younger boy well..

3rd maid which is my current Burmese maid is the best of all! I am lucky to have chanced to her while I was desperately looking when my 2nd maid went off after getting her ang moh employer. She can cook, clean the house much cleaner than my previous maids, never yak on the phone even though I gave her a phone once she started to work for me. Throughout the 18 months she works for me, I only saw her on the phone once during her rest time at night. Never come back late on her days off.. Only thing can be stubborn at times but I can accept it cause she is never defiant.

I understand from my friends not all Burmese maids are good...if get..better get those miniority Christians. Mine is a Christian and is a Chin... But in the end it really still boils down to employers' expectations and the personality of the maid. hehe...maybe..my expectations are not too high 😉 as long as they do their job well, safety with my kids are met, cooking, cleaning okay and honest..i am okay. My husband will always point the questions back to me...if I am the maid..how will I feel.. I believe if you are a good employer they will know, that was why after my 2nd phinoy went off to work for ang moh, kept on smsing me saying miss us..want to see my boys etc...
        This type of maid cannot keep.

Some maids also capable to \"add fume onto fire\"My ex Phil maid cried n put on innocent face,when she saw my DH.Then my DH always reprimanded me of being harsh to her.

My idiotic hubby told me to be nice to maids...or else get charged in court...asked him if he is nuts to think his wife bashes maids :spank: . As a SAHM, my focus is on kids...I set a timetable for every maid who comes along...wake up at 6am for 2 weeks, teach and explain what they have to do and that's it...auto pilot. Then from time to time spot check. With maids, I close 1 eye bcos they cost a lot to maintain...why should I get upset and then have to send them off...who suffers, not him but ME.

I don't have a good feel for Filipino maids. Most of them think they are more upmarket and choose expat/angmoh families. When I had indon maids, I enjoyed Indonesian dishes at home...down side is they don't eat pork and that can be inconvenient.

happy to be mum

I have yet to try Indon maid...hope I don't need to as keeping my finger cross that my current Burmese maid will work for me long time 🙂

happy to be mum:
              I have yet to try Indon maid...hope I don't need to as keeping my finger cross that my current Burmese maid will work for me long time 🙂

Keep your fingers crossed. Indon maids hard to employ now.

piyobaby

KSmom8:

OMG! Thought the Burmese maids were less choosy .... It seems that this maid is a very fussy transfer maid. Since the maid is under your name, it means that you will continue to pay the levy though she is not working for you but she is at the agency taking her time interviewing and choosing the next employer. You need to consider this aspect....

When my previous Filipina maid of almost 4 years asked for a transfer (that time my younger child was just a toddler and she didn't like accompanying us out during weekends ) , I allowed it on condition that she find an employer within 2 or 3 weeks, otherwise I would proceed to cancel her air ticket and send her home. Told the agent this too. It worked and she was transferred out legally within a short time. Funny thing though... A few months later, I heard that the agent was looking for another employer for her. Her new employer liked to entertain and my ex-maid was complaining that she had to cook and clean till past midnight frequently. She used to sleep at 9.30pm every night at my place and finish her household chores by 4pm so that she could have her tea and read the newspapers! The grass is indeed not always greener on the other side. :evil:
                We sent her back to agent the next day ignoring the fact dat they are closing for CNY holidays. And yes, we are still paying for the levy but I refused to pay for her food & lodging fees. Technically she is still our maid but physically she is not :frustrated:

Anyway till this point of time she is still not transferred out for whatever reason, we have to pay for her levy up till 21 days.... :mad:

Meanwhile I am having the phobia of employing another one ESP with the current agency but no choice otherwise would have to wait for 1 mth after her transfer to hv the placement fee refunded and not to mention forfeit the service fee after 1 day! :stupid:

piyobaby

My idiotic hubby told me to be nice to maids...or else get charged in court...asked him if he is nuts to think his wife bashes maids :spank: . As a SAHM, my focus is on kids...I set a timetable for every maid who comes along...wake up at 6am for 2 weeks, teach and explain what they have to do and that's it...auto pilot. Then from time to time spot check. With maids, I close 1 eye bcos they cost a lot to maintain...why should I get upset and then have to send them off...who suffers, not him but ME.

I don't have a good feel for Filipino maids. Most of them think they are more upmarket and choose expat/angmoh families. When I had indon maids, I enjoyed Indonesian dishes at home...down side is they don't eat pork and that can be inconvenient.
                  Same here, mine asked isit I'm too fierce to her :?

Told him if we are not strict to her then she is going to take things for granted! Better set things straight from day one to play safe & let her know who is the boss.

vinegar

my DH forbidden me to lecture maid in the kitchen.He scares later the maid can't stand me n conveniently take out the knife n chop me! :nunchuk: :torchme:

piyobaby

I took the kiasu, kiasi approach to send her back to agent. Told her to change & whole family went out. I'm scared she might go berserk if we tell her dat we are sending her back. :siao:

No point putting 2 young kids at risk. I'm reprimanded by hub & mum dat I am too paranoid but still I'm not going to take the risk 🕺

peapot

vinegar:
                        my DH forbidden me to lecture maid in the kitchen.He scares later the maid can't stand me n conveniently take out the knife n chop me! :nunchuk: :torchme:

Sorry but can't help laughing what yr dH said.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 72 / 80

NuriahN
                        Nuriah