SA2 2009
Yeah, that too jedamum. :roll:
But i guess that's for another thread.
SA2 Stop Those Careless Mistakes Preparations.
Yup. Yup. A bit of extra emphasis i oso give larr.
But not cramming a whole year's syllabus in mere
few weeks. My daughter cannot take it. :roll: She
is oredi only average student even with my oredi
few hrs daily involvement with the small revisions.
She truly has average learning ability... the need
more than once reinforcement kind. But it does
help she has beautiful handwriting and workings.
I cannot imagine..
... if i had to cram one yr
into her brain. I think... i cannot take it. :stupid: -
EN:
Mine will be finishing their exam next Tuesday. We are going for a mini celebration tonight. DS has gotten back results for two papers.
Mine too.
Our celebration tomorrow. :celebrate: -
[quote]hashroop wrote:
My P4's SA2 started this Tuesday and last paper is on Friday. I used to take leave during exams when he was in P1-P3. Same for his older bro, i take leave as well. His older bro just sat for his PSLE 2009 and because the main focus was on the PSLE boy I kinda neglected the P4. I was too tired and stress out, needed a breather after PSLE, so we went to Batam for the weekend 24oct-25oct! Imagine P4 exams were just a few days away! Till today its hard for me to believe that we actually went for a \"holiday\" during this period. PSLE took a great toll on most of us and I for one really neglected my P4's studies and exams. I am hoping he does well.
Do you think it is good for parents to take leave from work or better let them learn to be indepent in their studies and take responsibility?[/quote]I think it is good to teach the kid to be independent but not done drastically. This is my first year I have a hands off attitude. Can't help it. Too much work or simply too tired.
DS procastinated studying for mother tongue. He left it to the very last day and at the last hour. About to start at night, the day before the exam, he suddenly fell sick. Had fever and splitting headache. Fed him medicine and right before he fell asleep, he told me he's worried about sitting for the exam as he never revise. Told him, take it as a lesson learn. Never do things at the last minute. Whatever the result is, it is his own effort. If it is zero, he only have himself to blame. If it is high marks, he's the one who will be the happiest. I promise I wont scold him if the result turns bad (this year only horr to ensure he learns to be responsible).
Result out today and MT move up to the next band. A big whopping pat (more like a few hard smacks) from his teacher for a job well done. -
Hi Buds
Thanks for concern.For English,am surprised, 98/100.Chinese just hitting band one.
How about yours?
I particulary like what you have written regarding consistency in studying.Last mins is just some fine tuning and remainder and that is all.
Have a great weekend cos its the onset of holidays...
cheersbuds:
Hope the results are ok Lynn2. :hugs:Lynn2:
mine too.So far, just english and chinese paper.Next week will be sci and math.
My daughter (P3) is self motivated learner iShe set goal for herself hence we dun have to specially coach dduring the exam period… she is ready for exam any time of the year.
She scored 100 for science, 97 for maths, 88 for english anc 89 for chinese for her SA2. And she managed to get past the 1st round of GEP test…
My son is just the opposite… we have to sit down and revise his work with him … and next year is his PSLE so i am qute kanchang. -
Ds (P1) first paper starts on 2nd Nov, and consecutively for 2 more days for the other papers. We had been doing other school (TOP school) paper since September weekends, cos weekdays mostly packed with homework or spelling. Our preparation is more or less done, i hope. Though he don't score well on most of the mock papers i had given him. Anyway, after he was done with the mock papers, i would mark and went through the correction with him. I almost went burst!!
From the mid year preparation experience, i learnt that last minute preparation is a no no. This final year, i will let him free for the following days, though his papers are still ongoing. And plan to bring him for bicycle ride after dinner. In fact, i was trying not to cancel our usual weekends outings for the past weekend, including ds cocoperate with me by finishing the required tasks. Can see his tantrum at that time, and yet got to nag at him again n again.....Just now, got him to bed by 9.30pm, which is 1/2 hour to 1 hour earlier than his usual routine. Make sure he gets sufficient rest. As for health supplements, i did nothing except for his usual cod liver oil. Oh ya, make him drink more water than usual.
Whatever it is, the rest is up to him liao..... Of cos, i will still
for him not to make careless mistakes, read instuctions and lastly CHECK. Cos his checking is all done means CHECK
Let's see how he strive through this round..... -
My exams over liao! As my p4 kids finished his two weeks ago (gep) and my p1 girl finished hers last week (maha bodhi usually start abt 1 week earlier then most of the other schools. :celebrate: :celebrate:
Reading thr this thread is very interesting cos finally I realised am not alone.Glad that ks members share their innermost thoughts and fears here.
Hey mummies here, time to relax, cos holidays is coming…
cheers
Joy -
[quote]My daughter (P3) is self motivated learner iShe set goal for herself hence we dun have to specially coach dduring the exam period... she is ready for exam any time of the year.
She scored 100 for science, 97 for maths, 88 for english anc 89 for chinese for her SA2. And she managed to get past the 1st round of GEP test...
My son is just the opposite.. we have to sit down and revise his work with him ... and next year is his PSLE so i am qute kanchang.[/quote]hee i have the same suitation as you, my son simply boh chap. -
sorry dont know how to quote and reply, i have the suitation as you
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.