Pat's Schoolhouse

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Playgroups, Infant Care, Childcare Centres & Preschools
    1.4k Posts 278 Posters 742.1k Views 1 Watching
      crystalbelle08

DesertWind:
      crystalbelle08:

Hi Pat's mummies,

My concern about the lack of school uniforms is the security concern. I guess this is part and parcel of the Pat's philosophy? When I asked, the answer is that the school issue standard school bags to the students. If you ask me, I think same school bags everywhere is worst, easily mistaken! Whereas I think the child should wear school uniform and carry unique bags easily identifiable. This is just my own opinion....

Dear Desertwind,
      I agree with you. I also think no point carrying identical bags! In fact non of her classmates use that bag! I only see a couple of kids carrying the Pat's schoolbag.

crystalbelle08

smilingmummy:
        yes mummy! in fact i did asked before and i m always being asked by neighbours we bump into on why my girl go to school without uniforms.

She has stained most of her clothes and yes i personally do not like the idea that the school does not need the children to wear uniforms.
        Hi Smilingmummy,

I email Pat's and enquire about this.
        No reply from them. Will be good if there are more mummies enquiring as they cant possibility ignore everyone.
        Initially, i thought, maybe because this is a \"branded\" school, so children are exempted from wearing uniforms.
        Lately i realise that even more expensive schools, like mindchamps, have uniform!
        So why not Pat's.

Yes, the staining of clothes part is irritating. And ended up I have to keep buying as some of the clothes cannot be worn during weekends after the terrible stains. Somemore, I have to update the warbdrobe every now and then to avoid wearing the same old clothes. 😢

At least, if the uniform/school T shirt is stained, i dont really mind since they only wear it to school and i believe most kids will have stained uniforms due to the way they gobble the food and the art work they do.

Same here. I have to always answer the same question as to where my kid is schooling now. And some neighbours actually forget and they will ask again and again. :roll:

If the school really wants the students to wear home clothes, they can perhaps have a No-Uniform-Day every Friday or during festivals like CNY, Mooncake festivals, Childrens' day, the children can wear their home clothes.

In fact, during their school outing, as they have no school uniform, the children are asked to wear a particular color.
        Is it the same in your school?

smurfy

uniforms

i was told before that they dun wanna confine/restrict a child’s individuality during pre-schooling years. (something along tat line). e.g. every student is a special, individual student and dun need a standard set of uniform to conform them??? …

thinking back, it’s only in mainstream schools that wears uniforms, e.g. primary, sec & jc… polytechnics n universities oso dun wear uniforms mah…

crystalbelle08

debpch:
            crystalbelle,

i probably will get the schoolbus to drop off at grandparents' place & then i pickup from there. we stay really far... so, if the ride is like 2 hours, then probably have to forget this option liao...
            in fact, i was even thinking of getting a chartered taxi... i have seen some people at my workplace coming to office everyday in the same taxi so i am wondering if i can make an arrangement like that? any suggestions? :?

actually, i did ask about what the kids do in PM for PG... think it is something like: 1 to 3 pm nap and 3 to 5 pm enrichment. but most of the activity is in AM.
            which makes me wonder... what if there is a half-day PM class, will kids on full-day be expected to go through the same stuff that they go through in AM? Isn't that weird? Otherwise, or PM kids are there for\"enrichment\" only?
            :scratchhead:
            Gosh, if its really a 2hour ride, think you better forget about the school bus.
            It will be so tiring for your little one.

:? I am equally confused now that you mention.
            So far, i havent encounter any PM kids since its quite uncommon.
            Maybe we should get more details from the school on what type of enrichment there is for playgroups.
            I understand that nursery onwards, the enrichment are quite \"enriching\".
            I even heard that Pat's Siglap has swimming as part of the enrichment which is really good!!
            But for playgroup, maybe they are \"too young\" to do any enrichment, so much so that the school have no specific enrichment program for them.

Augmum

crystalbelle08:
              Hi Pat's mummies,

Anyone know why Pat's dont have school uniforms/Tshirts?
              Is that the trend all this while?
              Its always a headache to choose clothes every morning. Another headache when the child came home with colorful patches all over the new clothes.
              i have no idea why pats schoolhse's kids do not wear sch uniforms
              but since my gal was there some 7 years ago...it has been like that....

though it was rather a hassle to choose and match clothes for her
              but in a way.....if the kid were to wear uniforms,
              there would be lesser chances to wear their outing clothes, except only on weekends
              kids outgrow in fast pace......so it's a good opportunity to put on their outing clothes on weekdays, making full use of them 😉 😄

crystalbelle08

smurfy:
                uniforms

i was told before that they dun wanna confine/restrict a child's individuality during pre-schooling years. (something along tat line). e.g. every student is a special, individual student and dun need a standard set of uniform to conform them???? ..

thinking back, it's only in mainstream schools that wears uniforms, e.g. primary, sec & jc... polytechnics n universities oso dun wear uniforms mah..
                I see...guess i canexpect that sort of answer from them.

I wonder if the other group under KU, have uniform.
                Learning vision.
                Maybe its a KU philosophy

crystalbelle08

crystalbelle08:

Hi Pat's mummies,

i have no idea why pats schoolhse's kids do not wear sch uniforms
                  but since my gal was there some 7 years ago...it has been like that....

though it was rather a hassle to choose and match clothes for her
                  but in a way.....if the kid were to wear uniforms,
                  there would be lesser chances to wear their outing clothes, except only on weekends
                  kids outgrow in fast pace......so it's a good opportunity to put on their outing clothes on weekdays, making full use of them 😉 😄

:shock:
                  So it has been like this all along!
                  Thanks Augmum for enlightening! :salute: :salute: :salute:

Your gal must be in primary school now!
                  I have always wanted to know if the things taught in Pat's is enough for them to breeze through Primary one.
                  Can share with us please?

Augmum

Actually , I like Pats’ non-uniform attire, reveals of each and individual uniqueness

and also dun expect the usual caps and gowns sets for their graduation ceremony
                    kids would have to put on all white attire with black shoes
                    girls with lovely white gowns and
                    boys with smart white shirt and long pants with bow tie

Augmum

crystalbelle08:

:shock:
                      So it has been like this all along!
                      Thanks Augmum for enlightening! :salute: :salute: :salute:

Your gal must be in primary school now!
                      I have always wanted to know if the things taught in Pat's is enough for them to breeze through Primary one.
                      Can share with us please?
                      hi crystalbelle08
                      my gal now in Sec 1 liao........
                      so shd be more than 7 years ago at pats
                      she was at pats katong and halifax from nursery to K2

i had posted some reviews on pats many many moons ago at this thread...
                      let me go and dig it out for u......
                      in short...all thumbs up for me for Pats 😄

Augmum

hi crystalbelle08

here it goes......
                        but i would say nowadays, parents are more KS, so
                        it's not surprising to hear that kids who attended even the better preschools
                        are sent for further enrichment programmes which i think it's not necesary

weekends shd be their rest and play days with family bonding :dancing:

Hi all parents

Today, i happened to browse through the “pat’s schoolhouse” thread, I would like to input my view and past experience since my gal was there from nursery to k2.

Time really flies. it has been more than 6 yrs ago. My gal is already P6 now.

Being trained in early childhood education myself, I was very particular in choosing a good preschool for my gal as I realised the importance of it. after visiting a few preschools, ( all those premium ones), I settled her for pat’s schoolhouse. But the main drawback was the school fees. More than 6 yrs ago, I was already paying $600 ++ a month after the miserable govt subsidy of only $75 for half day care. I remembered the “undesirable feeling” I had whenever I wrote out the cheque payment. It amounted to $1,300 (+gst) as the payment was made once in every 2 months.It was almost like paying the U fees (compared at that time).

I studied their environment, their children, their teachers and their curriculum closely. I won’t say they ‘re definitely the best of the best (in fact, I think nobody can tell u which is the best, depends on what u’re looking at, there’re always plus and minus) but on the whole they are GOOD. (I agree on some postings regarding the tricycle thingy)

I urge parents to visit the centre which u wanna to put yr child in becos diff centres have diff “qualities of teachers”. Although their teachers’ qualifications are high , most of them do have a degree in early childhood education unlike some others (not to mention the centre’s name, the teachers there are not even trained to teach young children), there are still a difference in their passion/movitation/style in teaching .

Initially, my gal was at the katong branch but later I transferred her to halifax branch after her teacher left despite of the long journey on the road. I found that Halifax branch got better teachers, better principal. (they might have left by now). Her Chinese teacher was from china, speak excellent Chinese. That’s how my gal picked up her accurate pronounication and that helped her a lot in Chinese oral. There was once the examiner asked her whether she was from China.

My observations are such, kids there were very confident, articulate, expressive (both language and body gestures, maybe becos of their speech and drama class). And something I love to hear after my gal had gone to pats was that the sentence, “ I CAN DO IT”, these words were instilled in her mind even till now. Thks to her form teacher for the building of their self confidence.

Regarding about their curriculum, they taught the kids and equipped them everything they need to know in P1. When I talked to the founder, Patrica, she told me that. I was skeptical at that time but when my gal went to P1, I really need not to teach her at all, esp maths, she had learned everything there. In fact, I “neglected her studies” only in P3 or P4 onwards, then I started to coach her.

One thing, prepared to spent alot when it comes to K2 graduation ceremony. :roll: :roll:
                        I remembered spending about $500 years back. whether justifiable or not, depends on individual but I can assure u that u will be very proud of yr young kids for putting up such an unforgettable and remarkable musical concert.

(wow......such a long posting, din realise i could type so much but it's fun bringing back memories when gal was young)

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 37 / 143