Pat's Schoolhouse
mtdt:
CM was a plan to put her in before she starts playgrp in Pat's.. but since serangoon now offer toddlers class at term 4.. will start her there lor.. argg i still have no idea how the whole thing works..cannot trust hb to ask... must ask during Parent teacher review in oct ..smurfy - so no more CM for ur little gal???
i am still very much in love with CM... PATs - hmm.. starts to like nia! hahaha
but hor... looking at what i read hereeeeeeeeeeeee n my understanding.... my boy's teachers currently
English form teacher - miss anabelle - senior teacher double up as d-story (on wkdays or wkends?)
chinese teacher - going maternity soon
every friday got english trainee teacher sits in his class
dunno who will take over the chinese teacher after she goes on maternity
class ratio of 2:16
messy messy structure.. luckily his classmates mostly all settled down oredi.. otherwise can faint.... -
Hi Smurfy,
Yes, she has a way with kids and my boy loves her (can pronounce Ms A..belle already).
My boy started with D' story club (Saturday mornings, 1.5 hrs) since Jan this year.
Actually my plan was to put him in PG next yr since Pat's (serangoon) did not used to have classes for toddlers. Since they started toddler class this term, I thought it was a good idea to give it a shot! Thank god, all was well
cookies_n_creme:
oh cookies.. so they still dun have d-story club for wkdays lar??Hi Smurfy,
Yes, she has a way with kids and my boy loves her (can pronounce Ms A..belle already).
My boy started with D' story club (Saturday mornings, 1.5 hrs) since Jan this year.
Actually my plan was to put him in PG next yr since Pat's (serangoon) did not used to have classes for toddlers. Since they started toddler class this term, I thought it was a good idea to give it a shot! Thank god, all was well
then miss anabelle is d-story club teacher or current toddlers class teacher? but tot she is still with my boy in his playgrp morning?
yah.. me oso going to start my girl in d-story club saturdays next yr term 2.. then term 4 proceed to toddlers class -
mtdt:
Actually, before I went to see Pat's at Serangoon, I wanted to enrol DS into CM. CM is considered spacious as compared to the rest of CC, however timing was not right, there was no vacancy at all! They told me they were waiting for MCYS approval to increase the intake (MCYS has guideline for children intake base on capacity) and was unable to register my DS there.DC Mummy -
My Ds was from Character Montessori... and I still love this CC!
we changed cc becos we moved out of that area.
Character monetssori gd pt is their theme surrounds a character trait. not the usual (my body, animals, world etc). my DS really learn very indepth abt the character. till today, when i need to discipline, i wld remind him of what he learnt at CM. lt really helps. sometimes just telling the kid - be attentive/be obedient etc. I dun think the kid really knows how/what etc. but CM surrounds all the learning with these characters, it kind of instill/gives them many examples etc to really learn and know what it is all about.
but PATs also has its strong pts lah.
but if Pats also adopt this character theme - wow! I wld hv best of both worlds!! 
Thereafter, I visited Pat's at Serangoon, wow this school is much more spacious than CM.....but school looked was so old and simply just like a 70's school. In the end, I still enrolled DS there as Pat's met most of my critieria set for a preschool. I was so delighted and surprised to see how the school new look turnout at beginning of this year. Yes, it maintained the rustic look but newer and cleaner after renovation done in last december'09.
Few months back, CM sent me email + phone call asking if I'm still keen in putting my child into their center as they got the approval to increase intake......but too late -
DC Mummy:
I see I see... yup, CM was full for a long period of time. They also recently renovated and thus hv more space for more kids. (MCYS approved based on useable classroom space available per kid i heard)
Actually, before I went to see Pat's at Serangoon, I wanted to enrol DS into CM. CM is considered spacious as compared to the rest of CC, however timing was not right, there was no vacancy at all! They told me they were waiting for MCYS approval to increase the intake (MCYS has guideline for children intake base on capacity) and was unable to register my DS there.mtdt:
DC Mummy -
My Ds was from Character Montessori... and I still love this CC!
we changed cc becos we moved out of that area.
Character monetssori gd pt is their theme surrounds a character trait. not the usual (my body, animals, world etc). my DS really learn very indepth abt the character. till today, when i need to discipline, i wld remind him of what he learnt at CM. lt really helps. sometimes just telling the kid - be attentive/be obedient etc. I dun think the kid really knows how/what etc. but CM surrounds all the learning with these characters, it kind of instill/gives them many examples etc to really learn and know what it is all about.
but PATs also has its strong pts lah.
but if Pats also adopt this character theme - wow! I wld hv best of both worlds!! 
Thereafter, I visited Pat's at Serangoon, wow this school is much more spacious than CM.....but school looked was so old and simply just like a 70's school. In the end, I still enrolled DS there as Pat's met most of my critieria set for a preschool. I was so delighted and surprised to see how the school new look turnout at beginning of this year. Yes, it maintained the rustic look but newer and cleaner after renovation done in last december'09.
Few months back, CM sent me email + phone call asking if I'm still keen in putting my child into their center as they got the approval to increase intake......but too late
anyway think Pats also a gd choice. Last time I went to serangoon to view for my no1... it was really BAD! the toddlers classroom is at the back some small alley... looks so sad place. The N/k1/k2 at lesat more welcoming. While touring the sch - we even saw a HUGE cockroach running out fm the toys, across the classroom floor to another side! The poor gal (VP/Admin -cant rem who), had to act brave to go \"chase\" the cockroach.
At that time, they still hv no plans for reno... so we din consider pats after that
dc mummy
i think i visited CM ard the same time for my #1 as well.. (Since our #1s same playgrp then). yah that was my pri choice then.. until i enrolled #1 in d-story club at serangoon when he was 18mths onwards.. during that period..we were taken over by the rustic building and spacious environment and since then no regrets..
As i mentioned to mtdt before, i dropped by CM this year in preparation for #2's future arrangment and was quite disappointed w the current upkeep of the env. :x.. and seems like they onli have 7 children in 07 group this year leh :P... and even asked whether i wanna put #1 with them.. i told them #1 is inside same future sch with Mtdt's.. she then keep quiet... but yes, that's still the best in sengkang.punggol area. .. thankfully seems like i can start #2 in toddler class come next term 4.. ie when she is 26mths old :).
mtdt
playgrp still in that back alley leh
... i tot the back alley quite good... a standalone stretch from the bigger children... -
smurfy:
dc mummy
i think i visited CM ard the same time for my #1 as well.. (Since our #1s same playgrp then). yah that was my pri choice then.. until i enrolled #1 in d-story club at serangoon when he was 18mths onwards.. during that period..we were taken over by the rustic building and spacious environment and since then no regrets..
As i mentioned to mtdt before, i dropped by CM this year in preparation for #2's future arrangment and was quite disappointed w the current upkeep of the env. :x.. and seems like they onli have 7 children in 07 group this year leh :P... and even asked whether i wanna put #1 with them.. i told them #1 is inside same future sch with Mtdt's.. she then keep quiet... but yes, that's still the best in sengkang.punggol area. .. thankfully seems like i can start #2 in toddler class come next term 4.. ie when she is 26mths old :).
mtdt
playgrp still in that back alley leh
... i tot the back alley quite good... a standalone stretch from the bigger children...
i saw the cockroach in that back alley classroom loh! so wat do u think my impression would be!
but to be fair - I never visit the sch eversince... thus maybe now after the reno really looks ok bah
Dear Serangoon mummies,
I checked out that branch twice.
I was very impressed with the size and the layout.
Can I check, in the morning, when you're dropping your kids, isst convenient? The lane leading to the branch seems to be very tight.
Will there be jam in the morning?
Want to find out more, just in case one day I decide to transfer to Serangoon.
:lol: -
crystallbelle
there's a slight jam
but most parents will drop the students at that stretch of the road.. and every day, there will be 2 \"on-duty\" teachers to hold the hands of the students and help the students cross the road and into the school compounds right to the temperature checking area.
raining days even better. the teachers with their umbrellas will shelter the students across the road and into the temperature checking area.
to add onz.. though a bit out of point.. for my #1 first excursion, all parents went along.. the daddy told me it rained when they reached back school... the admin staff n principal all came out of the office and took umbrellas to shelter the kids frm the rain.
good service hoR?
wow... the thread is so active now...
since this is the first time that i am sending my kid to school... i have some qns to ask the more experienced parents.
What do we need to prepare for the kids to bring to school?
- stationary?
-books?
-clothes?
- milk?
-milk-bottles?
-beddings?
if they are supposed to take a bath, must we prepare our own soap, towels etc etc?
my kid is not toilet-trained... is that a problem?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.