Pat's Schoolhouse
Busymom:
hi busymom,
Actually, Pat's probably has more of such performances as compared to some other CCs already. There used to be a Chilton House next door, and another Montessori CC. Whenever we were celebrating CNY or National Day with lots of fun fair and activities at Pat's, the other CCs were really subdued in their celebration. For Pat's, they have class performances for CNY and National Day. The kids put in a lot of effort for these items. Each class typically do 2 items. In between, there could be other adhoc stuff like Readers' Theatre and like the performance that another parent had shared here. For mid-autumn, the kids made a mooncake to bring home.
By the way, the graduation concert is just for the K2
just happen to read that yr girl also in Halifax Pats', what's a co-incidence.......
this year K2 ?? just curious how much u need to pay for the graduation ceremony (all in with CD, VCD, photographing, tickets, etc)
mine was 7 years ago, just wanna to compare how much more.....
:celebrate: Yes, it's a coincidence indeed.hi busymom,
just happen to read that yr girl also in Halifax Pats', what's a co-incidence.......
this year K2 ?? just curious how much u need to pay for the graduation ceremony (all in with CD, VCD, photographing, tickets, etc)
My forgetful DH cannot remember... while I didn't bother to read the form asking for payment at that time :oops: But my domestic helper thinks it's over $300. Maybe koolmama can answer that question better.
Busymom:
oh....what's a surprise to hear that the graduaton ceremony payment is much cheaper now.....
:celebrate: Yes, it's a coincidence indeed.Augmum:
hi busymom,
My forgetful DH cannot remember... while I didn't bother to read the form asking for payment at that time :oops: But my domestic helper thinks it's over $300. Maybe koolmama can answer that question better.
i remembered during my gal's time, i was paying near to $500,
prob the rental of the venue is diff...... -
Busymom:
About I-maths, is this going to be part of the extended program next year for K1/K2 only, or applicable for nursery as well? Is this going to be the same for all centres henceforth? Cookery is actually very fun for the kids. Personally, I think it would be a waste not to do that. I will only put my child in the extended program when he is in K1. If cookery is going to be under the optional program, I wonder how much I need to pay for him to attend just that? :?
In my centre, the optional programs are from 3pm to 5pm. Tat means the kid will skip nap totally. R u sure ur kid is ready for tat?mtdt:
[quote=\"DC Mummy\"]
mtdt,
What if a child already in full day extended program, do they still have time for the optional programs as mentioned? I would love putting him into extra lessons for imaths and swimming
Swim-i understand the sch cater a bus to/fro to the pool out of sch compound. Kid maybe can sleep on the bus. But like poor thing lah!
Imaths-next year onwards is part of the sch program from 1pm -3pm.
So I feel in a way, the optional programs is not tat attractive.
Actually, it is not always true that the optional programs are from 3-5pm. Swimming starts at 2 in my DD's centre, if not mistaken. As for those who are not on the optional program but are under full day program, my suggestion to the parents here is to find out what exactly your child would be doing while his other friends are doing I-maths for instance. As they need like 2 teachers to manage the I-maths lesson, my misgivings has always been what about the rest of the kids? They ought to have some other activities to keep them occupied, instead of being left to themselves to read, etc. Afterall, we are paying for the full day program too, right?[/quote]Just to check, do u know where do ur centre kids go to for swim? I understand from my centre, they wld be taking a sch bus to bukit merah (swim centre location) for their swim. i feel that it's abit too far leh..
From my understanding, imaths wld be replacing cookery/art/PE session.
and for kids that dun join the optional programs - wld be taking their nap right? -
empressplace:
Yup. i read that letter too and understand from there. the letter is quite clear right?Hi the fact is that for existing parents, we shouldn't need to go on this forum to find out basic information about the programme. When we were asked to confirm if we wish to continue for the following year, we should be given all the necessary information at one shot.
My understanding is that I-Maths is now part of the extended programme for nursery level onwards. This was in a letter issued by Patricia Koh herself and pasted on the communication book a few weeks after the renewal forms were given. In other words, the extended programme would not have cookery/art.empressplace:
hmm.. i am actually quite happy with the mix of activities. My old CC has pottery and chinese calligraphy... also sounds fun. but i guess, no more time for such for PATS.Actually I feel Pat's Schoolhouse should have a bit more balance by incorporating gym sessions in the extended programme or have some variety for the extended time. Kids at a young age should be exposed to a variety of things.

empressplace:
May I know which centre is ur kid in? in my centre, we were being invitied to 2 mini performance in the sch. once is national day and once is mooncake festival. all classes form playgroup performed 2 items then followed by makan and mix ard with other parents in the class. (like mooncake, we walked ard the sch playground with lanterns etc)I don't think there is any class concert or short performance annually other than the graduation concert. I know Gracefields Kindergarten has a year end performance. The only feedback on how your kid is doing is purely in the half yearly review.
I have not seen any carnival or special celebrations (eg Mid Autumn Festival or Halloween) where parents are invited.
I have many fren's kids tat are involved in their schs year end concert... not only the K2s are involved in their graduation, other level classes are also involved in the concert. does sounds very fun and definately a proud moment for the parents to see their little one on stage!
but if Pats year end concert is at the range of $300 - $500 per event.. think i am glad tat its only for k2 now! hahaha -
empressplace:
My own experience is that childcare (premium or not) does not replace domestic help. At any point, you need alternative childcare help. In home is still the best.
Oops, the βdomestic helpβ I am referring is not maid but an early help to keep an eye over the child. For my case, both my parents and in-laws do not stay with us, so we can either putting him at nanny βs (distance relative) place or childcare.empressplace:
Agree with you. My boy falls sick almost every month and the previous 2 occasions, he was hospitalized for 2-3 days due to wheezing and low O2 level. He just recovered from another wheezing episode (3rd time since Janβ10). Each time, he will be away from school from 2-4 days. So you are right that added all these, it could easily deplete all annual leave + childcare leave. But I am fortunate enough being allow working from home at times like this.If you add up the Pat's Schoolhouse holidays and some days the kid falls sick, the parents' leave would not be enough
empressplace:
Thatβs my exact sentiment. DS was pretty lonely without any playmates and nothing much to do at nannyβs home except watching TV, playing toys and napping. It was simply boring β¦β¦I can understand why some parents prefer to send their kids to premium childcare as early as possible if there is no alternative stimulation at home.
empressplace:
I can understand the anxiety you went through as my DS also got his HFMD at 13 months with blisters. That was the nightmare esp. he was still considered a βbabyβ who couldnβt speak, just cried non-stop to express his discomfort and frustration. It was terribly bad with few permanent scars remained till now on his legs. At that time, he wasnβt even attending any playgroup or enrichment course. Anyway, mine was an unfortunate and isolate case.In the past 10 months, my son has picked up chickenpox and HFMD and passed them to my younger boy. It can get stressful coping with 2 kids.
empressplace:
If the child is very young and prone to sickness when attending CC, it can be a waste of money. Every week away from school costs the parents at least $200 in cash!
Probably more than that, plus pediatricsβ fees and timeβ¦β¦..
empressplace:
On the academic aspect, every 2-3 weeks, children are taught alphabet letters and vowels through various activities / art work and stories. Chinese character recognition also being taught and sequence in numbering 0-10 in a more meaningful way (greater / lesser). Character building, children are encouraged to share and improve self confident / esteem to try on their own. Every half yearly term, thereβs a term report as feedback tool on howβs child faring in the preschool. Well, it depends on how you communicate with the teachers. If you are waiting for the teachers to keep regular update, it will unlikely to happen. I send and fetch my DS daily, so I get the opportunities to gather feedback from both teachers about DS.My son is also very picky and I like the fact that Pat's Schoolhouse provides breakfast and lunch. He learns to eat better under peer pressure. The teachers help with toilet training but it hasn't progressed to the point where he is toilet trained!
empressplace:
Apologize if I have given the wrong impression that preschool teaches children to read. Apart from Patβs, my DS also goes to βICRβ. At this age (3yo), mostly preschools focus on letter recognition and vowels + cultivate their interest in βreadingβ books. With simulating environment, children will show interest in learning. I believe there isnβt any preschool in SG can teach a child to read completely without parents and other resources help. KS parent β Tamarind in other thread, she provides a good βstarter kitβ in phonetics, I also used that method on my DS. It works after 6 months and he just completed reading to me, Peter and Jane grade 3B.Hmmm my son is not really able to read simple sentences yet after 10 months.
mtdt:
To me, this is a good news. I prefer having i-Maths over cookery/art/PE session....... -
DC Mummy:
haha becos we are KS parents!mtdt:
To me, this is a good news. I prefer having i-Maths over cookery/art/PE session.......
to me, maybe only a waste to forgo cookery.
ARt - their normal time already alot of art n craft work.
PE - is it just running ard the playground! wahahaha
Wow.. ur kid at 3yo can read P&J book3? tats v advance!
which stage is ur kid in ICR? my kid going k1 next yr only at P&J book 6.
mtdt:
Hi mtdtJust to check, do u know where do ur centre kids go to for swim? I understand from my centre, they wld be taking a sch bus to bukit merah (swim centre location) for their swim. i feel that it's abit too far leh..

and for kids that dun join the optional programs - wld be taking their nap right?
I am not sure where the kids go to for their swimming. We didn't sign up for the optional programs as my DD was in Yamaha and also learning swimming under private lesson externally. She was already swimming quite well by that time, but still I feel more comfortable with her swimming under our sight.
During our time, the extended program and optional programs were introduced from K1 onwards. By that time, the kids aren't napping in school anymore, which was why I only intend to let my son join the extended program when he is in K1 as he still needs his nap in the afternoon, given our lifestyle. -
DC Mummy:
Hmm... the art and PE part is news to me, as DD all this while has cookery every week.mtdt:
To me, this is a good news. I prefer having i-Maths over cookery/art/PE session.......
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.