Pocket money
buds hubs:
No, I use it for bus trips home...Muffins:
ACS(I) is the same price as ACS(P), 70 cents for a prata and $1 for a plate of pasta. And my mum picks me up. WHen she doesn't I take the bus home and pay for that with my EZ-link card. That also has $16.82.
Muffins... at ACS(I).. Can use EZ link to pay for food too is it??
Wow, Muffins. Nice avatar. :lol:
Thanks Blurbee. I got it to contrast BigDevil's devilish avatar. Your's is good too! :lol:
I hv not been touching on this thread for quite sometime since after DS has entered P2. Knew i could have overboarded by asking him what he bought, what he ate, how much left.....
That was last year. However, reduce my questioning after term 3 last year.....This year for first 2 terms, i slacked more on questioning liao....Just bcos finding myself a nag....
Yesterday was the last day before june holiday, it is time to DS to count his saving (from his pocket money) for the first half year.... He was excited counting them, but after the total was out, he was rather disappointed, cos his target is to save $50 for 1 semester,ie $100 for the whole year. He already managed to save $39.50. I asked if he is happy with this figure, he shook his head....However, he said he would like to save up to $60 for the next semester to make up to this semester loss... :roll:
Glad that he understand that....And of cos angry with DH for topping up 50 cents to round up to $40 for this semester saving...
And i highlight to ds once next semester starts, he got to use his pocket money wisely in order to meet his saving target.
This year his pocket money has increased to $1.60 daily. I give $8 weekly for him to control his own pocket money. At time, i realised he forgot to top up his pocket money in his wallet, but i dun tell him (very bad hor), i want him to learn to be responsible for his own thing...By giving him $8 weekly, he will have cases of overspent when he brings a $2 note, i make my stand clear, no extra money will be given, play about your own pocket money and see how much to spend/save on tmr.With this method, hope he learns to be responsible and knows the values of saving and how to deal with money issue.
I am also quite sticky about pocket money too.
This is to inculcate the good habit of plan before spending. -
i used to be sticky when it comes to pocket money when ds1 was in P1.
this year, i am more laxed. he is supposed to only have $1 pocket money and keep a spare $1 for emergency. i will give him $15 as savings allowance every month so as to ensure that he utilised his $1 for food instead of saving it. at times when he said that he wanted to try more variety of food, i just popped another 50cents into his wallet. or give him extra 20-50 cents occasionally to βsurpriseβ him.
i used to be very sticky about money, until he loan me 20 cents and asked me to return it to him. from then on, money matters within the family are flexible so long the kids are sensible. -
I was wondering, do the P1 kids in school compare amongst themselves with regard to how much pocket money they are getting from their parents?
If so, would your child feel envious or jealous if his/her friend was getting more?
Maybe not so much in P1, but when they grow older. -
noobparent:
I was wondering, do the P1 kids in school compare amongst themselves with regard to how much pocket money they are getting from their parents?
If so, would your child feel envious or jealous if his/her friend was getting more?
Maybe not so much in P1, but when they grow older.
Yes, I always ask 'why my friends are so rich?' - can afford whatever they want. I scrimp and save, yet I could still hardly have enough to buy what I want / need. I am green with envy. -
As always, you have mentioned an excellent point. You should give money not only when she scorces well, but also when you see when she has truly put in effort. When a child, especially a young one, puts in effort, they expect their hardwork to bear fruit and expect good marks. When this does not happen, they are disappointed, much more than you think. On top of this, if you show your disapproval, they feel useless and lose their commitment to their studies. They would think that if they put in effort but still do not do well and no one is happy with it, they might as well neglect their acemdamics and still do as well, if not better. However, if the child is EXTREMELY lazy(poor mum :roll:),the parent may seriously consider a monetary forfeit.
hm...this needs to be tread on carefully as I am guilty of trying to cheat cos I was promised of monetary rewards on achieving of full marks. :oops:MMM:
or if she does badly (eg below the last test results) she needs to pay for it. I really made her pay so she become conscious of her performance.
I have since reformed.
hi parents, may I ask...how much do u give pocket money to ur P1 kid? :? My daughter will be in P1 a few more days

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.