Hair Loss

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Health
    123 Posts 47 Posters 140.2k Views 1 Watching
      tree nymph

carebear:
      I used to have thick hair when i got pregnant, after that the hair continued to be thick for the next 10 years! Then i went on a low carbo diet, omiting rice totally. Lost hair gradually, didn't know the reason initially. I tried all sorts of supplements and hair spray to no avail. Then read somewhere that if one omits staple food, one may lose hair. So i started eating rice again, but this time i started exercising to maintain my wiehgt. After 3 months, i noticed that my hair loss reduced drastically, and now after 1 year, i am beginning to feel that my hair is slowly recovering its glory.

but i do have regular meals and carbo. and still my hair got lesser and lesser... 😞 i don;t think i can eat anything more cos my BMI is 23!

tree nymph

autumnbronze,

hmm, the color is more reddish i think - really got to depend on your haircolor to start with and how long you leave the henna on your hair.. white hair will be more orangy. i use henna regularly - in fact i can't use chemical dye cos of my pityfully little hair. henna actually coats a layer onto the hair so the hair strand is thicker. since its not chemical, it is not harmful to the scalp. i usually leave the henna on my hair for more then 4 hours. sometimes i apply henna in the evening then i sleep with it still in the hair... so got to wear a shower cap, lay towels on the bed and pillow and sleep.

of course i do it when hb is not in town... :lol:

tree nymph

tree nymph:

my only 'saving grace' is that i have naturally wavy hair and that helps to 'boost' up the volume of my hair. else i will need man-made hair liao!

In my case, I've fine hair. Some hairdresser call it the baby hair. It used to be very fine but now appeared to strengthen alittle after child birth. When I was in school, I need to use those small hair clips to tie my hair unless it will slipped off.... Recently with the monthly hair dye, I am experiencing hair loss, so I am now using pilfood shampoo on a daily basis. It does create more volume otherwise I will feel so conscious about my gray and little hair....

heng for me then!

i went to guardian today to try to get pilfood - they are having 10% discount on over-the-counter medication. but too bad, they are out of stock. think i will go to your doc for the medication and shampoo after i finish this lotion.

• MMMM Offline
            MMM

westmom:
            Chemical dyes will affect quality of hair. Try covering your greys with \"henna\" instead. It's a plant based and natural. It doesn't come with the colour you want but at least it is \"safe\" and you are able to cover your grey. It's supposed to thicken & strengthen your hair too. Color is like reddish brown once done.

Where to get Henna or how to make etc...???? I am currently using those old man's hair dye (biggen)? It comes in a tube and I only do touch up on the affected area so as not to expose my entire scalp to chemical.

Full.010894Cream

Who bought all the Pilfood tab from the Living Pharm (Thomson br)!!

was there and was told someone bought the FEW bottles on display!! :x

tree nymph

Full.Cream:

The few guardian outlets that i went yesterday also out of stock leh. prob shipment not in yet...

don't get so angry lah...

not me hor... i don't stay or work around there... heng...

fussyMummy

Full.Cream:

:shock: So kiasu ah...

I bought a bottle 2 weeks ago.... and left only 2 boxes at that Pharm...

tree nymph

westmom:

Chemical dyes will affect quality of hair. Try covering your greys with \"henna\" instead. It's a plant based and natural. It doesn't come with the colour you want but at least it is \"safe\" and you are able to cover your grey. It's supposed to thicken & strengthen your hair too. Color is like reddish brown once done.

Where to get Henna or how to make etc...???? I am currently using those old man's hair dye (biggen)? It comes in a tube and I only do touch up on the affected area so as not to expose my entire scalp to chemical.

I got my supply from serangoon, one of the Indian cha huo dian. the pack is yellow in colour and comes in two sizes.

You gotta get ready a plastic bowl, gloves, shower cap, tea bag (for me, i use tea, not coffee), some lemon juice, and egg (like ilovekidsverymuch, but stink, i omit) and big clips. Put about 2 tablespoon (qty to adjust according to the amount/length of hair) of henna powder in the bowl, pour in the tea, then add in the lemon juice. it should look more like a paste and not too watery. if too watery, can adjust the consistency by adding more powder. then you let it sit for half an hour. you got to put some newspaper on the floor first before you apply henna.

When you are ready to apply henna, wear gloves. if you have a big-tooth comb or paint brush, you may wanna use it. start by apply a section on top of your head. after applying, you twirl the hair round and pile on head. then you continue to apply another section near to the 1st section and twist the hair so that this new section will 'join' the 1st section on top of the hair. continue to apply and twirl/twist the hair. try to apply henna as close to the scalp as possible, even if you touch the scalp also ok. then you can use a clip to secure the hair, cover with the shower cap and can wrap a small towel around as well.

3 hours later, rinse out the henna from the hair. Do not shampoo hair. when the hair is clean from the henna residue, use Hair Conditioner and condition your hair. rinse out, dry and style as usual.

If you do it at the shop, you prob have to sit around for 3-4 hours doing nothing... but no mess lor...

tree nymph

fussyMummy:
                      Full.Cream:

:shock: So kiasu ah...

I bought a bottle 2 weeks ago.... and left only 2 boxes at that Pharm...

maybe the person is also helping someone else buy?

dunno. now i intend to get mine from doc, maybe can claim as medical expense from company?

😛 😉

• MMMM Offline
                        MMM

Wow… thanks for the detailed instruction. I must make sure I save this.

Does Henna stain on the neck, sink and clothes,etc…???

Does it need 3-4 hours to see effect? What color effect will you see? Black or dark brown? I suppose must do on entire head iso affected areas?

Yah 3-4 hours in saloon… that’s too long. I currently have problem going to the saloon for my CNY haircut… busy busy.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 13

DyslexiaD
                        Dyslexia