SCHOLARSHIPS (P6)
tutormum:
Yes, it's fantastic, isn't it? Especially in my son's case. He felt that he didn't do particularly well in SA2 and did not expect this 'bonus'. Now, he is very happy and feels motivated. I will use this to motivate him to do well in P6.Wow, this is good news. DS3 got $250 last year when he was in P5 and this means he'll get $100 more this year. We also received the letter in the mail yesterday. Good Progress Award is different from Edusave Scholarship. GPA is given to students who didn't do well (ie. not in the top 25% of their cohort) but has shown significant progress.
CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL WHO HAVE RECEIVED ONE AWARD OR ANOTHER. YOU HAVE EARNED IT. -
ycpang:
My DD in P4 got the letter one to two weeks before my DS in P6 got his. Therefore it should be based on PSLE otherwise both should have received around the same day/ time.
It could be PSLE results and based on the T score but I don't think this is possible. I knew of some students who have been doing well in all their school exams but somehow did worse in their PSLE. I don't think it's fair to base the child's performance for the year on one exam. DS3 usually received his notification letter latest by mid Nov and given the award in mid Dec. As we have moved last year and came under different constituency, we received the letter from the new ward later and the prize giving date is also scheduled later. -
csc:
It is based on school results. :lol:
Then is it based on SA2 or overall year end average? -
An extract from MOE website .
\"Edusave Scholarships
For Primary 5 or 6 pupils
If your child is studying in primary 5 or 6 in a government or a government-aided school, he is eligible for the Edusave Scholarship for Primary Schools if he is amongst the top 10% of pupils of his level and stream. Your child will be selected by his school for this scholarship based on his year-end school examination results. The award is $400 for pupils in the top 5 per cent and $350 for the next 5 per cent.\"
It should be the overall year-end result. The child's PSLE results will determine the EEIS award - $2400 a year , if the child studies in an independent school.
for more info, you may want to visit the link below.
http://www.moe.gov.sg/initiatives/edusave/funds-grants-awards/ -
csc:
Thanks for the info buddy!An extract from MOE website .
\"Edusave Scholarships
For Primary 5 or 6 pupils
If your child is studying in primary 5 or 6 in a government or a government-aided school, he is eligible for the Edusave Scholarship for Primary Schools if he is amongst the top 10% of pupils of his level and stream. Your child will be selected by his school for this scholarship based on his year-end school examination results. The award is $400 for pupils in the top 5 per cent and $350 for the next 5 per cent.\"
It should be the overall year-end result. The child's PSLE results will determine the EEIS award - $2400 a year , if the child studies in an independent school.
for more info, you may want to visit the link below.
http://www.moe.gov.sg/initiatives/edusave/funds-grants-awards/
Quite lost when I received this Edusave Bursary in the mailbox and did not know what was it for until I read this thread in detail. Anyway the Edusave Bursary letter should be quite useless to many people. Now I understand why someone was asking for scholarship at lower primary in another thread now.
csc:
If you check the letter carefully, Edusave Scholarship is for P5 and P6 students while P1-P4 will receive the Edusave Bursary based on eligibility.
I also receive this fairly useless bursary letter for p6, leh. And that was yesterday. Usually we receive this about 1 week before we receive any award letters. We have not received anything else. You mean for p6s, you already receive the scholarship/good-progress-award letter already?
Even when our kids were below p6, we only receive the good-progress-award letters asking us to collect cheque like only a few days before Christmas. You all receive so early one, ah? Maybe our constituency - that badminton associaton MP, slower. -
Anyway the Edusave Bursary letter should be quite useless to many people. Now I understand why someone was asking for scholarship at lower primary in another thread now.

If got lobang for lower primary scholarships, please share here
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6266 -
csc:
If you check the letter carefully, Edusave Scholarship is for P5 and P6 students while P1-P4 will receive the Edusave Bursary based on eligibility.
CSC, did you receive both Merit Bursary and Edusave Scholarship letter on the same day? -
karmeleon:
ya lor, are you sure you have received the P5 / 6 Edusave scholarship letter already? Those letters that came to the mailbox yesterday are merit bursay. Note that if you are awarded P5/6 Edusave Scholarship, you will also get Merit Busary award, so all in you should received two letters and I think the one that came in yesterday was the Merit Bursay letter only.
I also receive this fairly useless bursary letter for p6, leh. And that was yesterday. Usually we receive this about 1 week before we receive any award letters. We have not received anything else. You mean for p6s, you already receive the scholarship/good-progress-award letter already?
Even when our kids were below p6, we only receive the good-progress-award letters asking us to collect cheque like only a few days before Christmas. You all receive so early one, ah? Maybe our constituency - that badminton associaton MP, slower. -
MdmKS:
Note that if you are awarded P5/6 Edusave Scholarship, you will also get Merit Busary award, so all in you should received two letters and I think the one that came in yesterday was the Merit Bursay letter only.
Not true. My P1 DS got his Merit Bursary award letter 1 week ago while my P6 DD only got her Edusave Scholarship just 2 days back. She did not get any Merit Bursary letters at all.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.