Wanton Mee
actually both taste the same to me. but i prefer the new one, old place a bit cluttered. but at the old place, the porride stall n prawn mee are delicious too. :drool:mathsparks:
our fav is the one in joo chiat..fei fei wanton mee. but everytime, dh brings the bowl to ask for soup, the image of oliver going \"Pls sir, can I have some more soup please?\" plays in my mind. Like so ke lian, must ask for soup. But the noodles are really nice. :drool:
U r talking about the original Fei Fei next to the 24 hours 'new' Fei Fei?
Both Fei Feis serve soup after noodles the old way. Saves on washing one xtra bowl :lol: and the soup is quite tasteless anyway without the leftover sauce.
New Fei Fei is not consistent.
and yr fig leaf is moving, yeah! -
Blobbi:
Laksa:
On a different note, who knows where to get good laksa and meepok ta?
Laksa - dunno
Meepok - Jln Tua Kong
There r a few in the East:
1. Along East Coast Rd No. 328, No. 49 and one next to No. 49.
2. Bedok Bus Interchange HC has a reasonably good one. Don't remember the name of d stall - but its situated opp. the public toilet :!:
Meepok:
1. Lau Lim's \"Art of meepok\" - what a name! :whut:
He has one main stall in Bedok Simpang and 2 branches at Jln Tua Kong n Marine Parade resp.
I haven't tried the new branch at Marine Parade yet but noticed the other two meepok stalls are not consistent in standard. Lau Lim moves around - catch him when he is the one making the meepok and u get the best taste.
2. The meepok stall that replaces the old Lau Lim stall in coffeeshop at Jln Tua Kong's junction also not bad.
3. Ditto for another at coffeeshop next to Siglap Ctr.
4. Other very good one besides Lau Lim before the yo-yo in consistency is situated in another coffeeshop along East Coast Rd a short distance after the Jln Tua Kong junction and next to a row of shops. This is allegedly the original meepok man from Jln Tua Kong but he is no longer cooking. His wife and sons took over.
Consistency also depends on who is making the meepok.
Enjoy :celebrate: -
This one close shop already. Last less a year.....
and there is another store in bedok south hawker centre, also under \"fei fei\"
wonder is it a franchise outlet, the taste even worse ....... -
hi Way2GO
This one close shop already. Last less a year.Augmum:
and there is another store in bedok south hawker centre, also under \"fei fei\"
wonder is it a franchise outlet, the taste even worse .......
oops.....closed shop already. i only bot once.
aiya...this type of std, cannot last long...
i also like the laksa at bedok bus interchange which u had mentioned above, but its' location is really unpleasant.
another stall i like will be the 328 laksa at katong, thick fragnant gravy...... -
qi-er:
To be more precise its their relative who man tt stall.But standard very diff,hor.
You'll see the picture of his son printed on the table tops.
Yes, taste not consistent.Augmum:
The other stall is better! :celebrate:hi hi
so which one is the goody one.......
i tasted the stall which has a yong tau fu 's stall besides....... -
Blobbi:
Old man from Soy Eu Tua passed mantle to Ah Lim also known as Lau Lim, who is not his son. There is some unhappy story behind this. Actually Lao Lim looks quite young!
Jalan Tua Kong. Kopitiam is called Soy Eu Tua. I dunno which Lim, but I grew up not far from there. Last time was an old man, then younger guy took over (son?) Now the young man not so young anymore, which must mean I also lao liao
Old man started another meepok stall in coffeeshop behind Kembangan MRT station and recently moved to coffeshop a short distance from Soy Eu Tua. -
mathsparks:
Haven't try those. Will check it out.at the old place, the porride stall n prawn mee are delicious too. :drool:
Heng Heng prawn noodle at Dunman HC also good and cheap. Once I saw him washing the used chopsticks (near closing time and he probably thought nobody was looking) simply by dipping them in the wash basin of water a few times and then putting them aside to dry. :!: No detergent, just rinsing :!: I stop patronising the stall for a long time.mathsparks:
Where got move....u must be seeing things la: :wrongmove:and yr fig leaf is moving, yeah!
Yeah, this one's good but have to watch cholesterol with this baby.
another stall i like will be the 328 laksa at katong, thick fragnant gravy...... -
Tell us the behind the stove story leh!
Old man from Soy Eu Tua passed mantle to Ah Lim also known as Lau Lim, who is not his son. There is some unhappy story behind this. Actually Lao Lim looks quite young!Blobbi:
Jalan Tua Kong. Kopitiam is called Soy Eu Tua. I dunno which Lim, but I grew up not far from there. Last time was an old man, then younger guy took over (son?) Now the young man not so young anymore, which must mean I also lao liao
Old man started another meepok stall in coffeeshop behind Kembangan MRT station and recently moved to coffeshop a short distance from Soy Eu Tua.
And yeah, Mathsparks is right. Your Avatar is doing a little shimmy on my screen. No wonder this thread is called \"Wanton\" Mee!! :lol: -
Blobbi:
No la. Not nice to gossip. Old man's son and Lau Lim are both friendly people. U ask both of them la..[/quote]
Tell us the behind the stove story leh!Blobbi:
The devil still looks freezed with his silly grin to me on this forum page :?And yeah, Mathsparks is right. Your Avatar is doing a little shimmy on my screen. No wonder this thread is called \"Wanton\" Mee!! :lol:
But hope you enjoy the peek-a-boo :lol:
And I didn't start this thread..more :lol:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.