Supporting Child's Talent/Hobbies
chamonix:
Actually, I gave up on the violin, too. Not because it is harder but my neck hurts so badly having to use that 1/4 size violin and I feel so retarded... so I gave up, as I just cannot see my fingers that are so near :stupid: . My child also quit NAFA when I gave up. I should have bought a full-sized for myself. Didn't have the foresight then. Sigh!
So it's true that it's more difficult to pick up violin, huh? Think I better give up the idea of getting a full size violin.
That violin still sits there untouched for the last 7 years. -
2ppaamm:
Actually, I gave up on the violin, too. Not because it is harder but my neck hurts so badly having to use that 1/4 size violin and I feel so retarded...
I cannot stand the neck ache!
Even if i play it even for a while, the whole of the next day i would
be going around with my neck tilted to one side like kena one tight
slap from husband lidat.
2ppaamm:
so I gave up, as I just cannot see my fingers that are so near :stupid: .
I couldn't see the strings! Fingers too fat & chubby! 
2ppaamm:
Thankfully hubs is the one who looks like he got the tight slap from me!My child also quit NAFA when I gave up. I should have bought a full-sized for myself. Didn't have the foresight then. Sigh!
That violin still sits there untouched for the last 7 years.
Cause DD1 plays with the violin so beautifully now.. :love: -
2ppaamm:
Still not too late. My friend's kids also gave up on their violin when young, but picked it up again in their teens.
Actually, I gave up on the violin, too. Not because it is harder but my neck hurts so badly having to use that 1/4 size violin and I feel so retarded... so I gave up, as I just cannot see my fingers that are so near :stupid: . My child also quit NAFA when I gave up. I should have bought a full-sized for myself. Didn't have the foresight then. Sigh!chamonix:
So it's true that it's more difficult to pick up violin, huh? Think I better give up the idea of getting a full size violin.
That violin still sits there untouched for the last 7 years.
So, go get yourself a full sized violin! :ugogirl: -
slap from husband lidat.
:!: :!: :!: you mean budhubs is that violent? You should :heresmyfish: him once in a while to keep him in line
[quote]
I couldn't see the strings! Fingers too fat & chubby!
[/quote]Aiyoh, fat and chubby fingers are best for learning violin leh!
[quote]Thankfully hubs is the one who looks like he got the tight slap from me!
Cause DD1 plays with the violin so beautifully now.. :love: [/quote] :ugogirl: -
chamonix:
So, go get yourself a full sized violin! :ugogirl:
Hm... maybe 6 years later, after DS3 gets into secondary school, or when he is taking up violin. No fun learning alone leh.
I am thinking about taking up triathlon/competitive swimming instead. Ha ha. Another way to lose the fat. Still thinking, thinking... thinking thinking... thinking thinking.... -
:roll: Wah, I thought I was the retarded one! So maybe it's not that 1/4 sized violin. It was me!!! :shock: Your description is so funny!!! :rotflmao:
slap from husband lidat.
Actually itβs always better to use a smaller-sized violin than a larger one unless you are quite tall. Of course not the 1/4 lah!!! I am actually using a 3/4-violin even at 1.6m. Another common size for adult learners is the 7/8-size violin.
Violin is tough bc of itβs intonation. Piano - just hit the right notes and rhythm can already.
I actually learnt separately from my son. But progressed quickly. So, in a way, I did prove something! haha! -
I actually learnt separately from my son. But progressed quickly. So, in a way, I did prove something! haha!
Wa! :udawoman: -
So many inspiring ladies.
Hello phankao
I know your ds is into music but I did not realize, the mummy is in too. Would you be able to share how do you help him in realizing his talent or assist in his hobbies? Besides music, is there any other things that your son is interested in? -
Chamonix. You use ganbatte on the wrong personlah. I don't know what it means but I really have cold
when you say it.
You should use ganbatte with CSC. She learns Japanese together with her daughter.
CSC, can share the journey of motivating your daughter towards learning a language? Must be fun, mother daughter learning at the same time.
[quote]I always feel that having a family hobby is important.[/quote]Yes, daisyt. I believe in family hobby too. Used to be home aquarium but now decom. Since both dh & myself are getting older, we try to exercise together. Nothing strenuous. Just long long walks in hope to cultivate my kids love of exercising.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.