Singapore population
no lah, not mad; just not careful.
I know someone who got pregnant again when her baby was just 4 months old.
I got pregnant again when my baby was 2 months old..... my no. 1 and 2 only 11 months apart and could have been born in the same year if not for my no. 1 is a december baby. -
I know of someone whose no. 1 (girl) was born in Jan and no. 2 (boy) was in Dec of the same year. So they started school in the same year. At first I thought the kids were fraternal twins or something because they didn't look like identical twins.hquek:
no lah, not mad; just not careful.
I got pregnant again when my baby was 2 months old..... my no. 1 and 2 only 11 months apart and could have been born in the same year if not for my no. 1 is a december baby. -
kuzco:
I know of someone whose no. 1 (girl) was born in Jan and no. 2 (boy) was in Dec of the same year. So they started school in the same year. At first I thought the kids were fraternal twins or something because they didn't look like identical twins.[/quote]I went to primary school with a girl who's born 1 Jan the following year and her brother is also born in Jan, my year and attends the same year in the neighbouring boy school. I think that's really cool! :love:MMM:
[quote=\"hquek\"]no lah, not mad; just not careful.
kuzco:
At first I thought the kids were fraternal twins or something because they didn't look like identical twins.
In our case too, when they are younger, people used to ask if they are twins despite the height difference. They are almost the same height now. -
skunk:
Then I am definitely certifiably insane. I had 2 dogs. A silky that died of old age at 13yrs old. Went through the whole cradle to grave process, from teething to toilet training to cataract and gall stones and hip replacements. Then we went out to get another dog, a retriever. But sadly we had to give the retriever up as our work & travelling schedule is causing the dog distress. Painful decision but seeing that he is doing well now, we know it is the right decision.
yes, it's true. Just be there for them, be supportive, feed n clothe them, enough. Doing too much is sometimes doing bad.kiddo:
Children as most people assume are really not that diffcult to raise even if you are a FTWM..........is what you expect them to have(materially) and to be ( intelligent) that make it so diffcult for many of us.
When I was a teen, I felt life was so tough, I couldn't cope, with all the studies and other stuff that youth brings with it.
As a young adult, I felt adulthood was so tough, I couldn't cope....but in the end i survived.
When I had my first dog, training that stupid mutt was so difficult, I though if i couldn't even raise a dog, how can i raise a child?
Then i got a 2nd dog to torture myself LOL
But when my daughter came along, I thought back on all that....Life is really only as tough as what you think it is. When my wife got pregnant again, everyone thought we were mad. Yes, i am mad, sometimes people are so sane, they analyse everything in life and make everything seem much worse....I rather be mad and have more of life. Life is mad anyway
We have 2 kids and want a 3rd and even 4th but hitting a glitch now. So even though we already have 2, we are spending money and going through the emotional rollercoaster of tests and treatments in the hope of having #3 and if we are very lucky maybe #4 may be presented to us at the same time.
Yup, people are looking at us like we are crazy or some may even think greedy. Many cannot understand why we want to have more kids, let alone spend so much money and go through the barrage of tests and treatments to have another.
National duty? Nah, I am not that patriotic. It is a very personal choice, nothing to do with trying to boost the nation's population.
And oh yah, there will definitely be a dog joining our family somewhere in the horizon.
Time to check into IMH. -
I have 2 and I feel that that's enough. We believe in at least one parent personally taking care of the kids so me being the one who earns less/dead-end or very stressful job, will become SAHM. Who cares about what the gahmen wants? AFAIK, they want us to have more babies yet want us women to contribute to the workforce at the same time. IMO, how to?? I have already killed the career part of my life for my kids and I dunno if I will be able to get back a decent-paying job with family-friendly hours when I can finally feel secure enough to send my DD2 to a CCC and my DD1 back to a SC or BASC. (I'm not saying that I regret this \"sacrifice\"; in fact, I find motherhood waaay more fulfilling than my past jobs.)
If gahmen thinks I'm selfish..well, they should be thankful I married at 24, had my first kid at 27 and have 2 kids.
schellen:
No lah, gahmen will thank you...cos yours got reproductive power. I contribute 2 to NS....feeling very proud ohready.
If gahmen thinks I'm selfish..well, they should be thankful I married at 24, had my first kid at 27 and have 2 kids.
it's true. on the one hand, they want more kids, on the other hand, they want women to go to work. Then they hike maid pay, keep childcare etc private (ie sky is limit where fees are concerned), and they tell us nonid to worry about rising property/food/petrol prices.....
Feeling a bit schizo liao....very confused. -
I have 2 too and that's ENOUGH for me. Singapore is getting more & more ex and the education system is stressful for me & my kids. I rather have 2 so I am able to nurture them. Don't think I can handle more - go bonkers. One of the reasons of having 2 is they will hv each other when we grow old/die.

Feeling a bit schizo liao....very confused.
No lah, gahmen is the schizo one. -
I have no quarrels with those who have 2 kids....at the very least they replace themselves when they die. If people are not patriotic that's none of my biz anyway lol
But those couples who refuse to have kids or choose to have one only (by choice, not including those who can't have...), indirectly they're dooming the rest of us. They are the ones that
1) cause the influx of foreigners
2) cause taxes to rise
3) reduce national productivity, thus causing economic decline
In this world, since when anything is really a \"personal choice\" ? Even on the day we got married, a marriage is not just between 2 people, but between 2 families, 2 clans. Similarly, having children is not just a personal choice, but it affects everyone directly or indirectly.
If the world is shrunken into the size of a village, and you have to farm/hunt extra hard to support the old fart sitting in his hut because he had no children to contribute to resources, how will you feel?
Even if the old fart says he doesn't need the village to support him, he has accumulated enough grain to last him until his death, imagine when he dies. That's one less person to purchase the goods of the local weaver, hut builder, cook, barber etc etc....his death will cause their business to decline.
Everyone please hor, 2 minimum, ok?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.