Ang Pow Issues...
KSP:
[quote]\"MMMI remember a angmoh big boss went to our wedding (another colleague and mine) with his spouse and he only gave $40 angpow..... Not even enough to cover our cost.
$40 from a angmoh couple attending wedding dinner? This is ridiculous!!
The market rate for wedding dinner
- Hotel min $100 per person
- Restaurant min $80 per person[/quote]DS' first-month dinner was held in a hotel restaurant.
We received $50 angpow from a family of 4...and the 2 kids are not baby/toddler kind, but full-grown late teens!! -
Wah :!: Ang moh boss got guts to face pple later still! Really uncommon.
We had foreign guests for wedding but heng they are really generous, esp the Jap and Hk friends. -
maybe angmo not familiar with local practise
He could have asked his secretary. In addition, he has been in Spore for years type. I think he is a dutch so more kiam siap. -
BigDevil:
We received $50 angpow from a family of 4...and the 2 kids are not baby/toddler kind, but full-grown late teens!!
I feel that don't give extra never mind. At least must let people cover cost. Unless of course the family is having some financial issues type then can understand. -
I have a close relative who was married and divorced a few months later. Already given quite a hefty sum at the wedding.
Now I heard she's going to get married again
and going to have another hotel dinner.
How much should I give now? -
BigDevil, you lucky still get some $โฆ
My DS 1 month celebration also at hotel.
Cousin family came in full force(3 grown boys). All we got was a spongy toy carโฆthe type from $3 shop in the heartlandsโฆ
( remember the no flush toilet family ) -
maybe angmo not familiar with local practise
He could have asked his secretary. In addition, he has been in Spore for years type. I think he is a dutch so more kiam siap.
:idea: \"Sabo\" by his secretary? -
csc:
I have a close relative who was married and divorced a few months later. Already given quite a hefty sum at the wedding.
How much should I give now?
see how close is this close relative lor. -
csc:
How much should I give now?
How about MIA no show
I think I will just follow market rate for tables, dun consider the 'relative' part liao, very siong leh
And there was also one particular relative who has her ROM at a luxurious hotel - and of course must give quite big 'ang pow' lah since we are invited.
And now within half a year, she's going to have the traditional wedding dinner at another grand hotel! :moneyflies:
So the question again, how much should I give this time??? The usual or lesser since I've given once???
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.