All About Teaching and Learning Phonics

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    851 Posts 111 Posters 449.4k Views 1 Watching

Heyya clarabella,

Yup, you are right. The sounds from Jollyphonics have
      slightly different pronunciation esp for the vowels /u/
      and /a/. Likewise for Letterland. The vowels sound
      deeper going by their accent.

Anyways, since different countries have different twang,
      in the way they communicate there isn't reali much of
      right and wrong with regards to pronunciation. We meet
      many people in our daily lives who speak English okay
      but some may think the pronunciation sounds too Singlish.

For example... storytime with schellen and sashimi results
      in two different character name twangs. As for schellen like
      myself, got the angmoh accent so we say Al-er-din but sashimi
      says it as Al-aah-din... which in this case both still correct,
      cos its their own unique slang. Heheeeheeee... :lol: :lol:

...As for schellen like

cos its their own unique slang...
        So is alamak al-a-muck, ae-ler-muck, or ah-lah-mak?

clarabella

We meet

Er, but oral exam how? Will schools be sticky on British pronunciation huh?

clarabella

I remember an advertisement talking about Boat Quay… Boat Kway!

Heyya tamarind,

Ya know the ghoti joke too?
              All right, girl! Cute how they
              put it, aye?

Ya, its true. Many rules to grammar.
              Many different steps to reading
              efficiently. The words in English
              are all different and some are
              derived from words of other
              languages… like from French
              words. As English is that complex,
              the proven way to be in good command
              is to read a lot and use it a lot…

Phonics IS another aide meant for
              words that can be decoded but for
              others that cannot be so, its just
              plain sight.

Clarabella,

You’re right agn abt some children who
              cannot learn reading via Phonics. I ever
              came across one student who simply does
              not have the ear for it. As much as i helped
              him, he couldn’t hear the sounds the way we
              hear it. But when i worked with him via sight
              reading he could tho he was a little slow with
              spelling it out or writing the spelling word down
              on paper… So, i truthfully brought the mum into
              the class and worked the Phonics way with her and
              explained to her that Phonics may not be the right
              method to teach her boy. Sceptical as she may cos
              since its almost unheard of within her closest friends
              and relatives’ children that a child cannot learn reading
              through Phonics, I worked closely together with her to
              prove my point. I didn’t want the parent to be thinking
              that the centre just collect money kinda attitude - we
              observe and care with regards to the progress of the
              students esp. the high result-driven enrichment centre
              obligation parents always have upon us… In the end,
              she realised i was right and found it weird that her son
              is such an exception. I assure her its ok. Its more
              important that we find a more suitable learning style
              to accommodate the learning style of her son.

So, yes… there will be occasions where there are kids
              who may not have the ear for it. Observing your child’s
              progress with reading and school work would point to
              the inclination of learning styles. Hence, parents are
              always encouraged to be hands-on when it comes to
              teaching the child or with revision. And those who may
              not know how to help the child or cannot afford the time
              to help the child, have the option to turn to tutors - be it
              private one-to-one coaching or within a learning centre.
              This again - some children learn better one-to-one, but
              some others thrive when working in groups.

clarabella:

We meet

Er, but oral exam how? Will schools be sticky on British pronunciation huh?

Depending on the teacher i suppose, hahaaa...
                If she thinks the child trying to show off that
                he is reading more Queens English way which
                sounds better than hers, then the child is in
                the pits!

But if the teacher understands that people of
                different cultures come with different accents,
                can be accepted.

One old colleague sent her mostly Malay speaking
                niece for lessons at Lorna Whiston. Coming out
                from her mouth after 3-mths from there, were
                all the angmoh-ish thick slang kinda English which
                became too thick to understand... the poor girl was
                penalized for it.

If you have such doubt, good to check with the school
                whether they find it acceptable for a child to read in
                the manner of the Queen. Just to play safe...

But Jollyphonics in general is a good Phonics pgrm
                which doesn't require the children to sit still all the
                time. 😉 So kiddies find it interesting!

...As for schellen like

cos its their own unique slang...

So is alamak al-a-muck, ae-ler-muck, or ah-lah-mak?

Al-a-muck = British twang
                  Ae-ler-muck = Fed-up version of \"what the....?\"
                  Ah-lah-mak = Proper Malay pronunciation

😉

RRMummy

haiyo u guys really funny leh!! can make serious point come across like that! :rotflmao:

Laughter IS the best medicine, babe.

You want more doses of laughter?

Read this one. Since you're quite
                        the newbie, you may have missed
                        this one on your way in here.. 😉
                        Enjoy!

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/cashier-hll

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 86