BOOK Fairs
Pen88n:
Old-fashioned or not...Guess what my colleague just told me???
\"You're so old-fashion - who wants paper books now that you have e-books? It's no wonder the bookstores are having book sales after sales.......if they don't get rid of their book stock now, soon they will be overtaken by the e-books and all these paper books will be useless. See how our digital photo has made all the films and prints become obsolete??\" :scared: :oops:
Now I really :scratchhead: if I should really stop buying paper books......DH will be pleased that his bookshelves will not be overloaded then
I still love the smell and feel of books. -
Pen88n:
Tell your colleague - not all people are like him / her.\"You're so old-fashion - who wants paper books now that you have e-books? It's no wonder the bookstores are having book sales after sales.......if they don't get rid of their book stock now, soon they will be overtaken by the e-books and all these paper books will be useless. See how our digital photo has made all the films and prints become obsolete??\" :scared: :oops:
Now I really :scratchhead: if I should really stop buying paper books......DH will be pleased that his bookshelves will not be overloaded then
There're still people who very much prefer hard copy over any e-book.
Books got nothing to do with fashion - be it old or modern.
Is just the feel of taking up a book, flipping through the pages to look at ... beat any electronic form, for some group of people. -
Pen88n:
That friend got children boh? I bet is - no. I hv a colleague who told me that too. He is single.Guess what my colleague just told me???
\"You're so old-fashion - who wants paper books now that you have e-books? It's no wonder the bookstores are having book sales after sales.......if they don't get rid of their book stock now, soon they will be overtaken by the e-books and all these paper books will be useless. See how our digital photo has made all the films and prints become obsolete??\" :scared: :oops:
I have both e book and paper book. The feel of reading them is different. I prefer. Paper books but as I sometimes have to 陪睡 ( just lying there while my kid sleeps), e book is better.
To preserve my child's eye sight, I refuse to induct him any those electronic gadgets. The only one he is familiar with is the tv and my iPad. But iPad is more for viewing YouTube cartoons which is not frequent. So, no e book for him for the time being. -
mummy of three:
I was about to buy new book shelves because all their books are accumulating, now I think it’s unnecessary.
How come? What magic did you do? -
True but I can't help but wonder what will be there leh....
I suspect it will be a repeat stuff of the past sales
Go hquek ! Go! :rahrah: Feedback to us here , ok ? :please:
True but I can't help but wonder what will be there leh....autumnbronze:
I suspect it will be a repeat stuff of the past sales

I’m not into ebook so probably am wrong but my take on it is that not all titles are on ebook, not sure if some books have the illustations that i so love in some books; prices of e- is more expensive than from such sales.
My kids won’t be able to finish the volume I buy. If I were to leave them to browse a reader, likely they will play games rather than read, now they happily go through the home library and find surprises along the way. Its a bit like buying from the shelf vs buying on the web - one you can touch and enjoy the buying…the other is just clicking button, less attachment.
One advantage of ebook probably will be me not buying duplicate titles…so that MAY be a good thing. -
I was talking to someone abt how I felt I didn’t buy enough books from the last MPH expo sale for DD and she told me "Download on iPad lah!"
My response "I want to teach her to love books, not love iPad!"
But then again I am the old school type where I still like to read newspapers in print… -
Hi! Seeking your opinion here
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=499 -
Anyone went to mph fair today?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.