All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 920.5k Views 1 Watching

brainkuku:
      Hi buds..

yeah.. because i kuku brain mah.. thats why i use this nick.. hahaa..
      Still hilarious! :laugh:
      brainkuku:
      I have to thank my family for bringing him up to be such a fine boy (i am a working mum).. my dad is now teaching him how to use the fake pen to write (those drawing board we can draw and erase that kind, i duno how to put it).. *roll eyes*
      Yes you should be... thankful i mean. From what you have shared, I honestly find he is growing up fine. :hugs: Lucky you, dun have to worry abt quality caregiving issues while you're at work. Hehee.. those toys are called doodle boards issit? The one you can erase left to right using a magic duster?
      brainkuku:
      I am looking into everything.. I saw your blog about your ger making the menu for the cakes.. i was impressed.. i didnt know we can do such stuff (see.. that is why i am kuku brain).. and prob i wasnt creative at all.. cannot think out of the box.. so.. i was determined to teach him (in whatever ways i can.. ok.. me lazy being aside.. to help him grow and learn and be confident about himself).. which is why i came up with this post.. kekeke..
      All these they don't learn in school. They learn most of the fun stuff from me. At home. :love:
      brainkuku:
      As for monte schools.. those near my parents place aint providing transport.. (There was a posting i ask about school bus).. My parents stay near IMM.. so the nearest is MMI Bukit Timah, CS Montessori @ Bukit Timah. There is one with transport @ Jurong but their school bus didnt go that far until IMM.. Do you know of any that provide transport? Because it will be really really great for my mum and for my boy too..
      Kabalevsky is so kind to have put up a good list of those worth looking at and hope you have time to go down a visit a few yourself so that you have a feel of them & find out more on how they operate.

Shout out : You're a gem kabalevsky! :love:
      brainkuku:
      Ok. I will become a hardworking mum to go through what you have provide.. and start to teach him after I have digested.. hahaa..
      :rahrah: Jiayou! :rahrah:
      brainkuku:
      Ohh.. paiseh.. 1 more question.. there is 1 kids' show that you mentioned was quite good in this thread.. but i have forgotten which page was that.. can you be kind enough to let me know what was the show?? My son is currently watching Super Why.. which i think it is too \"chim\" for him.. because they are teaching things like \"T-ALL\".. and not what you have mentioned to start him with the simple ones like \"C-A-T\" yada yada..
      For Phonics issit? You need for single letter sounds or for three-letter phonetic words? I check again.. 😄 Btw, super why is also good lar.. dun worry. :snuggles:

Kabby

thank you buds, now i feel so shy... 🙂

imblur

Anyone has any review about MMI at Kovan?

• O Offline
            ocean33

ocean, the MMI at JW Ext (the stadium/ swim complex) is a childcare center. Is that what you want?

You have to call them up and best visit them to see if you like it.
            If you want church kindy, there quite a no. of good ones in JW too. I heard from many mommies in this area that Jurong Calvary is very good. Then there is St Francis of Assisi too...
            i check with jurong calvary and they told me that they take in only min 4yrs anyway is full already. as for st francis of assisi, where is it?? good ?? thanks for your info. will check it out. stress trying to get a good preschool for my son. is that the same for everyone???

The more anal we are of course the more difficult. 😉 Which indirectly means lesser choices each time a centre is struck out from the list, that leads to the stress.

I usually go for a place that has a warm and inviting environment and people. The curriculum part I not so particular cause I teach the children thematic curriculum + Montessori at home. 😄

Kabby

Buds, ya, for you, you send your kids to school mainly for them to socialise cos you can homeschool them on the MOntessori/ knowledge aspects. 🙂

Ocean33, i think most church kindy around this area are not childcare centers, so they normally take in from 3 or 4yo.

St Francis of Assisi has 2 kindies in Jurong. One at Boon Lay and the other at Jurong West (near Rulang Pr that area). I can't find their website, not sure if they have, even though I googled.

brainkuku

kabalevsky

Whoa… good good… always envious of those who are SAHM…

Thanks for sharing your findings!! I cant bring him go for little house montessori and summer montessori because one needs the kid to be toilet trained (about 36 mths) and the other about 24 months before they can go into the school.

I called and checked out LW @ Hillview. Seems like they do provide transport for kids. Sounds great!! But there are mixed reviews about this school. Have you visited?? If yes, how do you find?

Cant bring my son to MMI JE because my mum got to take bus and bring him there… already contemplating to bring him to the cc (little wings) near my mum’s place so that she doesnt have to take bus.

I heard that of its 2 days monte, it is not very effective because we have to follow throughout like it will be better if it is 5 or 7 days plus we parents got to enhance it. Because there was once I wanted to do a 1 day monte during weekend, it was frown upon because it is not very effective. Is that so?

brainkuku

Yeah.. thats how ppl will remember me.. see.. you will remember my nick.. hahaa.. 😛

Yeah.. Thats it!! So.. it is called a doodle board.. now I know.. hahaa.. I agree with you that he is growing up fine.. And I appreciate them alot..

I guess my parents are very anxious that he is unable to catch up with ppl of his age esp his english.. so they are always checking with me most of the time as to when can he start schooling.. I feel that home teaching by them is already good enough.. but well, i guess in order to give them more time for themselves (they have been taking care of him since he was 4 months old).. and also to alleviate their worries about his english, I have started searching 2 months back.. but cant seems to find some schools that has about 80% good comments.. and somewhere that is accessible (i.e. school bus, walking distance or short bus trip etc).

I mean, I have a good caregiver, and i dont want to inconvenience my caregiver, I can put him in a kindy and bring him to some enrichment classes during the weekends.. I dont know.. Too much thoughts going thru and nothing concrete (i am going crazy).. Have already shortlisted some of the schools only 1 montessori, 1 PCF CC, and 1 CC (both CC near my parents and its of walking distance).. and also some CC which is about 2 bus stops away.. like LV, CH @ Chevrons..

I dont know.. HELP!!! I am drowning..

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

brainkuku:
                      I cant bring him go for little house montessori and summer montessori because one needs the kid to be toilet trained (about 36 mths) and the other about 24 months before they can go into the school.

Then just toilet-train him! I did that with my son who was then 26mths' old. He joined in the new school term when he was 29mths' old.

brainkuku

phankao

He is only 17.5months now… Planning to let him go a childcare when he is about 18months old… But one of my friend told me that it is better to toilet train them before they go to school…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 113 / 165