All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 921.0k Views 1 Watching

omgmum:
      Thanks buds!

Anytime, omgmum! :celebrate:
      omgmum:
      I do realise that montessorian directresses are facilitators rather than dictators. 😛
      Wah, done your homework issit? 😉

Yes, we facilitate... guide... observe... and support the individual
      learning needs of children in our care. 😉
      omgmum:
      But I just felt that the teachers I saw on my visit seemed to be bored, especially the English teacher who was basically busy on the phone. And the way she handled the disagreement, she didn't so much reason with the kids as told them what to do and what not to do.
      I totally understand how you feel... :hugs:
      omgmum:
      BTW, are the directresses supposed to step in and offer guidance to the kids, or do they just look on? I know that that the kids are supposed to be independent and the materials allow them to do self-checking, but do the teachers step in to offer greater explanation and expand on the interests of the kids?
      Montessorian Directresses NEVER just look on though it can look like it from
      a visitor's point of view and especially more for someone who has not even
      researched about Montessori education, prior to popping by a Montessori
      centre for a look-see. We are always observing... 😉 Teachers have
      a checklist to ensure children are able to accomplish even the smallest of
      tasks and even the smallest details of their development from walking, to
      pronunciation, to concentration skills to observing the areas of interest of
      each of them and building on from there... these... only name a few. In short
      directresses observe the children as a whole and help develop them as a whole
      too, using the holistic approach of the Montessori education.

For my personal reference... i also keep a journal of all the children i teach.
      It helps me keep track of even the smallest of achievements of all of them.
      It also aids me in tracking my work with them. 😉 So, when parents ask
      of their children's progress, it usually is at my fingertips. That journal is like
      my work bible. Hee.. 😄

Montessori children are not supposed to be indepent but are guided on the
      ways that lead to independence. Montessori materials/apparatus are self-
      correctional for a purpose. The materials give children time to acquire the
      quiet confidence of achieving or accomplishing tasks assigned to them without
      having to give them much pressure... hence each child is allowed to develop
      at their own pace. But again not without the guidance of the directresses
      who may at her discretion acknowledge the need of each of the children
      under her wing.
      omgmum:
      Cos I read somewhere in this thread/ forum about how you took note of your student's interest in geography/maps and expanded her knowledge about different cities and such.
      Wuuaah! :!: You're a follower arh! Ai-sey.. that was already a long while
      back ain't it? Like this i must go back there and read oso... must remember
      what i shared. 😓 😉 Yes... yes... we tap into the children's sensitive
      periods and encourage learning via exploration. When a child achieves that
      confidence in learning something he/she likes, he/she will in turn be even more
      excited to learn a whole range of a lot of other things/subjects. Natural
      thirst for learning is self-motivation for them going forward. 😉 It is
      possible.... and because some of them start young, this self-motivation
      continues through the children's growing years.
      omgmum:
      I was impressed cos I thought this is what the montessorian approach should be about, not just observing, and offering assistance, but also building on the interests of the child? :?
      Thank you, omgmum. I'm flattered. :oops: But then again i do have to caution
      you that i am one of those very onz kinda educators... not those who
      punch in and punch out of work on the dot. So, you cannot use me as
      a benchmark lest other peeper may see me as spoil market orh. :siam:

I just truly love what i do.

• O Offline
        omgmum

Thanks for the thorough explanations, buds!

Yup, this mummy quite kiasu. Have also reserved at nlb the montessori books that you've recommended. 😉 Cos was thinking, if really can't find a school that i like, will try to do the stuff at home with my girl.

Now, if only I can find a centre whose teachers share the same value as you... 🙏

You're welcome, omgmum. My pleasure really. Sharing with you about

it, makes me miss work. Hee. 😉 Yes! Do read and research about
          the method and the underlying objectives for the many different
          activities that are carried out in our Montessori classrooms.

How old is your child btw, i don't recall you mentioning...

simpsons

any mummy enrol their kids in seedlings montessori at dawson mall? I have made a ‘surprise’ visit to the centre last month. Though it was a last minute arrangement, the lady who i presumed is the faciliator warmly welcome me and sit me down to briefly explain to me the procedures of enrolment and program details. What impressed me most, was all the children there seem to be so cheerful, they were all waving and giggling saying hello to me and my hubby though we were strangers. The faciliator brought us around including all the rooms, the teaching materials that they used…but dont know why she exclude showing me the toilet and i deliberate asked to see the toilet (haha…) was satisfactorialy though there is mild stetch of urine smell… haha…

Btw my gal is 15 mths who is very clingy and very selective to whom she hang out with… thought of enrolling her in childcare to learn and socialise…any mothers can provide some insight of the above childcare?

trixter

hi all,

i have been reading this thread for at least 30min and i still have not made up my mind about montessori.

montessori is so much more expensive than the other kindys and i am not sending my kid to one just bcos its-exp-so-it-must-b-good.

i have seen kids from non-montessori who are just as bright and well-mannered so i keep asking myself why i should spend so much more to put him thru montessori education.

i dun need my child to excel in his work, i just want him to be disciplined, knows his manners and have lots of fun while in school. my son is barely 16mo and i've been fretting over this for more than a year now! :?:

i am hoping to find some reviews on Josiah Montessori at Eastpoint. its the nearest monte school in my area.

please share with me your experiences with the school! 🙏

thanks in advance!

may all kids out there have a wonderful childhood.

RAchelmum

Hi trixter,

I had signed up my girl at Josiah Monte weekly 1 hr accompanied toddler class.
                U can go for a trial to see if the curriculum is what u are looking.

Basically it is an introductory course to boost the toddlers’ (1.5-2.5 YO)confidence in social engagement,
                improve fine motor-skills with the manipulatives/ music & movements & simple crafts.

Not very structured as tot’s attention span is short. The 1st 30min is music & movement, followed by phonics or crafts.
                The last 30min is mat work aka free play time for them to choose with the type of activities they like with the parent/ teacher.

Join in the midst of the term, so only 5 lessons. So far DD enjoys gog to her weekly session.

toddles

trixter:

montessori is so much more expensive than the other kindys and i am not sending my kid to one just bcos its-exp-so-it-must-b-good.
                  Agree - esp with parents queuing for some $3k a term schools out there.
                  trixter:

i dun need my child to excel in his work, i just want him to be disciplined, knows his manners and have lots of fun while in school. my son is barely 16mo
                  Totally echoes my views.
                  trixter:
                  i am hoping to find some reviews on Josiah Montessori at Eastpoint. its the nearest monte school in my area.

please share with me your experiences with the school! 🙏

thanks in advance!

may all kids out there have a wonderful childhood.
                  our kids maybe in the same class! Dd is 17 months. 🙂

I am considering Josiah, mostly because of location. Although it is pricier than the other options nearby, I like their individualised style, and the fact that my kid will be met at her own pace, and not rushed through if she's too slow, or bored if she is straining to go ahead.

although I've not sat through a class, so what I gather is from what the teacher/center manager tells me. wonder if they do trials for N1, not just the toddler accompanied one.

Overall, at this point, it seems to meet my needs the best in the vicinity. would have preferred it if they had more than just 30 mins of mandarin a day... but guess there is no perfect centre. Do you live nearby too?

toddles

Hi buds,

I dropped ya a PM. 🙂

Just only is it...

Hokie sollie..
                      I'm very behind
                      on PMs, busy
                      yakking away.
                      :oops:

Replied your PM oredi toddles.

Toodle doo now.. catch up with ya soon. 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 33 / 165