All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 920.5k Views 1 Watching
      smurf

Hi Buds,

Nice to hear from u! šŸ˜„

Thanks for the insights!

I dropped by a Montessori sch, and I was very surprised to know and understand that the standard (academic part) is quite high. IMHO, it is higher than some kindergarten out there. The children at k2 are able to write English compo. And Chinese sentences by themselves. I didn't expect that, because my impression of a Montessori sch were all about playing with the materials, etc. Hee. See lah, I know nothing about Montessori. :oops:

The kids learn 1 alphabet sound a week, and the curriculum is very structured and planned. But while I was there, I saw 1 class not doing anything leh, and teachers were sitting around also not doing anything. I think because it was lunch time so they hang out waiting for lunch to be served.
      If not for the high fee, I would have promptly put ds2 there. šŸ˜‰
      šŸ˜‰

faithgurl

foreverj:
        hi there, faithgurl,

sorry i've not checked yet. the other time when i was there, it was early morning so the branch has not opened. probably call them during office hrs.
        Hi foreverj,

Care to share after checking? Thanks!

faithgurl

smurf:
          Hi Buds,

Thanks for the insights!

I dropped by a Montessori sch, and I was very surprised to know and understand that the standard (academic part) is quite high. IMHO, it is higher than some kindergarten out there. The children at k2 are able to write English compo. And Chinese sentences by themselves. I didn't expect that, because my impression of a Montessori sch were all about playing with the materials, etc. Hee. See lah, I know nothing about Montessori. :oops:

The kids learn 1 alphabet sound a week, and the curriculum is very structured and planned. But while I was there, I saw 1 class not doing anything leh, and teachers were sitting around also not doing anything. I think because it was lunch time so they hang out waiting for lunch to be served.
          šŸ˜‰
          Hi Smurf,

May I know which montessori school did u go? Thanks!

faithgurl

Hi Buds,

Do u have any idea any good montessori schools area TPY area? Kindly advise. Thanks!

toddles

smurf:
              Hi Buds,

Thanks for the insights!

šŸ˜‰
              I also thought they learnt 1 alpha sound a week, but apparently my N1 kid just learnt 6 sounds within 2.5 weeks cos Montessori takes a one-to-one approach, and will go as fast or as slow as the child requires. My kid had zero phonics knowledge before starting N1...

jul04

Hi Buds

I sent you a PM. Wanted to ask you for where I can get more info on Montessori šŸ˜‰

Heyya jul04... i am a lil slow on replying to PMs cause i got so many!

So, please bear with me. PM received and read. I can only reply
                  when i have some quiet time to spare from the children. :oops:

foreverj

faithgurl:
                    foreverj:

hi there, faithgurl,

sorry i've not checked yet. the other time when i was there, it was early morning so the branch has not opened. probably call them during office hrs.

Hi foreverj,

Care to share after checking? Thanks!

hi there, faithgurl,

just called to check. i enquired on k1 montessori math classes. they currently have weekday classes for k1 from 315 to 445pm, tues n fri. i feedback to her i prefer later time slots as dd attends cc and i dun want her to miss the programs in sch. she has taken note and will call me if they open classes that start later.

weekends also have two classes at 930am and 1pm (timing is abt there, cant remember specifics as i was more interested in weekday classes). understand max is 1 teacher to 6 students, hence ratio is quite good.

i had good impression speaking to the lady grace. curriculum-wise, it will cover numbers, four operations, time, fractions etc. i wil find out more on the curriculum if i sign up.

can opt for once a week class. fees wil be pro-rated accordingly. if u want, can pm me to check the fees.

jul04

Thanks, buds! :thankyou:

I know you're very busy with THREE šŸ˜‰ kids! But I'm desperate coz I plowed through the pages of this thread & am very goggle-eyed now.

So confused and torn between Montessori & \"traditional\" pre-school. Very stressed, u know? :?:

NataTL

smurf:
                        Hi Buds,

Thanks for the insights!

šŸ˜‰
                        Hi Hi, can i know which Montessori sch too... am looking for a good one.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 72 / 165