What is your dinner?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    1.0k Posts 268 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • JenniferJ Offline
      Jennifer

mummy so kiasu:
      Harlequin:

[quote=\"happyheart\"]When I make baked cheese rice, I will make the sauce myself. Low fire- Melt butter, add milk and add flour when the mixture comes to a boil. Watch the fire closely as the sauce will thicken very fast. Add salt ( amount up to individual preference) &pepper.

Mix with the rice and ingredients and cheese ( kids like to see melted sticky shredded cheese as they eat) and top up with cheese before baking to golden brown.

Going to In law's place for dinner.DS and I are guessing what are tonight's menu, getting bored with the style and taste :roll:

Sorry, Happyheart, I have a stupid question to ask as I have never baked rice before, the rice to use is the cooked rice, or uncooked?

:thankyou:

Use cooked rice only. But I am not sure of the type of flour to be used. Is it corn flour?[/quote]I use plain flour.

• JenniferJ Offline
        Jennifer

[quote=\"buds\"]Jennifer, i normally cook beef under small fire only. More to simmer mode for 1-2 hours. Never large fires. Could it be that's why yours was dry?

I cook in slow cooker, low for 7 hours the previous time.

My thermos pot came last week, hv to treat it first before using. Maybe using Thermos pot will hv a nicer texture.

My younger boy likes his carrot soft, if I were to cook for 1-2 hours only, the carrots will not be soft enough.

Need to re-think how I cook beef stew.

:scared: what kind of carrots you using. 1-2hours and the carrots still not soft enough?

Maybe you cook them in stages. start with the carrots for an hour first then add the beef for another hour or so followed by the potatoes and other veg.[/quote]Carrots - Australia. Maybe too fat šŸ˜‚ Ya, need to adopt your suggestion. Cant dump everything inside and cook at the same time

:thankyou:

• FunzF Offline
          Funz

http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/20130512_184616_zps214538d9.jpg\"> http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/20130512_184624_zps785b698e.jpg\">

Last night's dinner. And my new toy bought about 3 weeks ago put to use for the 1st time.

SAHM_TAN

Dinner same as lunch, I used fish paste + prawn paste + minced meat, but instead pan-fried, I steam it top with corn and green peas. The taste is different fr the lunch version.

• JenniferJ Offline
              Jennifer

http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/20130512_184616_zps214538d9.jpg\"> http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/20130512_184624_zps785b698e.jpg\">

Last night's dinner. And my new toy bought about 3 weeks ago put to use for the 1st time.
              What sort of fuel burner do u use/buy from?

• FunzF Offline
                Funz

Bought the fuel from Taka together with the pot. But it does not last that long. Think can use any of those gel fuel. Told my maid maybe can try to find those that caterers use to keep food warm. They come in tins, that is if I can fit that tin into the base.

• JenniferJ Offline
                  Jennifer

[quote=\"Funz\"]http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/20130512_184616_zps214538d9.jpg\"> http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/20130512_184624_zps785b698e.jpg\">

Bought the fuel from Taka together with the pot. But it does not last that long. Think can use any of those gel fuel. Told my maid maybe can try to find those that caterers use to keep food warm. They come in tins, that is if I can fit that tin into the base.[/quote]Maybe Sia Huat will hv sth suitable?

Harlequin

Had Penang Assam Luksa for dinner. Have not have dinner at home for the whole of last week, my helper really knows my taste bud well, whipped up this for me though we don't have selar fish.... had half a rice bowl of pineapple to go with it :please: Super yum!

My poor dd1 was still \"talking\" to her salmon fish at 8pm and playing with her broccoli, baby corns and snow peas :slapshead: but at the last 5 mins (before 8.10pm ultimatum) she managed to swallow all of them.

Slmkhoo's way works amazingly well, now we are closing to only 40mins per meal, it used to be 1.5hrs!!

Am munching my dessert now while surfing, copy cat of Goodwood Park cafe's fruit rojak, guavas, pineapple, apples, avocado and liam bu. Shiok!

happyparent

Jennifer, i normally cook beef under small fire only. More to simmer mode for 1-2 hours. Never large fires. Could it be that's why yours was dry?

I cook in slow cooker, low for 7 hours the previous time. The soup was flavourful, but the beef pieces CMI.

My thermos pot came last week, hv to treat it first before using. Maybe using Thermos pot will hv a nicer texture.

My younger boy likes his carrot soft, if I were to cook for 1-2 hours only, the carrots will not be soft enough.

You may want to try beef shine. A little fats helps to tenderize the meat. :please: I stew over small fire for abt 4 hrs.

Harlequin

happyparent:

[quote=\"buds\"]Jennifer, i normally cook beef under small fire only. More to simmer mode for 1-2 hours. Never large fires. Could it be that's why yours was dry?

I cook in slow cooker, low for 7 hours the previous time. The soup was flavourful, but the beef pieces CMI.

You may want to try beef shine. A little fats helps to tenderize the meat. :please: I stew over small fire for abt 4 hrs.[/quote]Do you all use any meat tenderizer? Maid asked for it, but I am not sure... should I let her use it? :skeptical:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 87 / 103

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies