2013 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
Goodluck8:
The teacher is very insensitive to say that. If my son's teacher ever say that to my son's class, I will complain to the Principal (anonymously of course. Because son can be ostracized by the teacher). It is damaging to a child's self esteem and self esteem is very important if we want our child to be successful in life.This is what the teacher told the class after CA1. The teacher comparing how many students having A* for certain subjects in previous year and this year A* reduce to how many. And the teacher every time emphasied to my DD's class that this year standard is not as good as last year.
That's why parents started to discuss this topics. And we tends to console ourselves that we are only competing with the 'snake' kids.
If i sound insulting in the previous post, i apologise. Maybe i did not really explain why did i quote that.
Is your DD's school a top school? If it is, dragon batch is bigger so there are more children with high ability in your DD's school. I cannot explain it well. It is the same logic as why cut-off point for t-score is higher for dragon batch.
Please don't let your DD to feel inferior to dragon kids. Each kid is different and we cannot generalize it. -
ScaredyMum:
Just wondering, if anyone already started planning \"what to do\" after PSLE?
Not holidays, but like any preparation courses for Sec 1, or tuition plans etc?
Do the kids still need to go back to school after PSLE and if they do, what do they do in school?
(I know it's SA period, and still have prelims and the ACTUAL thing to prepare but my mind just can't help wandering far off... so dun bash me! lolx). -
Thanks BeContented and slmkhoo, both have very good inputs and I now have some ideas what to do :boogie:
Yeah will plan some \"activities\" to occupy their time and keep their brains active rather than them idling it away, or playing games and watching TV.
First time dealing with this so thanks all KSP for sharing your experiences :rahrah: -
clay569:
ScaredyMum:
Just wondering, if anyone already started planning \"what to do\" after PSLE?
Not holidays, but like any preparation courses for Sec 1, or tuition plans etc?
Do the kids still need to go back to school after PSLE and if they do, what do they do in school?
(I know it's SA period, and still have prelims and the ACTUAL thing to prepare but my mind just can't help wandering far off... so dun bash me! lolx).
For my dd, she has promised to help to coach her P5 brother in particular for SA2. Potentially sending her to pre-sec 1 preparation classes. Another option is for her to follow my parents if they are going to China for a visit. Let her experience my mum's hometown which she grew up in etc.... different lifestyle and exposure. Other than that, just rest and relax after all the non stop efforts since few months ago. Hope she has good fruits to harvest after all the efforts.
Now praying for good SA1 results and DSA is coming up next!!! -
Goodluck8:
Do parents noticed that this year students standard is not as good as last year? Dragon tends to be more clever. That's maybe the reason why parents are not so worry. Afterall, they only need to complete with the 'snake' kids only.
There is NO such thing that Dragon kids are smarter. Btw, my son sat for PSLE last year...
Competition is keen every year :nailbite: -
Goodluck8:
Do parents noticed that this year students standard is not as good as last year? Dragon tends to be more clever. That's maybe the reason why parents are not so worry. Afterall, they only need to complete with the 'snake' kids only.
Greater competition on dragon year is definitely. Due to 3000+ more kids sitting for PSLE. Smarter? Not sure. According to my boy's primary school principal, last year PSLE cohort's performance was the best in school history. However, every year top national scholar is around 285 & top 10% is around 250. -
Goodluck8:
I dunno.. mebbe it's just me. But I found what you said \"below\" as a matter of factly and not something someone else said. Mocking and tipping to a point of it sounding derogatory.. more to the fact that you actually believed it even if it came from someone else.This is what the teacher told the class after CA1. The teacher comparing how many students having A* for certain subjects in previous year and this year A* reduce to how many. And the teacher every time emphasied to my DD's class that this year standard is not as good as last year.
That's why parents started to discuss this topics. And we tends to console ourselves that we are only competing with the 'snake' kids.
If i sound insulting in the previous post, i apologise. Maybe i did not really explain why did i quote that.
Must be just me.
Oh well.. just had to get that out. All better now.
Goodluck8:
ScaredyMum:
Haha thanks buds! No la, I'm not exactly feeling anxious, but bcos I tends to be \"slower\" in realising what's happening, I prefer to get advance info or plans ahead
I read another post somewhere about not letting them wander too far off after PSLE else difficult to pull them back. So I started thinking if I should continue with the tuition (but the current one-to-one is quite ex and not too sure how good she will be for Sec topics).
Thus I just wanted to know what other parents do for the kids after PSLE. Is there some kind of group class/preparation class or should I engage a different tutor (someone who is more familiar with the sec topics) and what subjects should I continue tuition with, what I can drop.
I dun wan to repeat the same mistake of realising he needs help too late :scared:BeContented:
Hahaa! Yah, all BeContented's fault.Haha. Me lah. I said that cannot let them wander too far lah

:rotflmao:BeContented:
Pssst, BeContented.. my DD1 oso a TV addict but cannot blame them entirely. They are almost deprived of TV time. So..My gal is the TV addict, she will watch all sorts of cartoons, comedy, drama etc. so another type of 'electronic addict'. Tuition will be stopped & will monitor in Sec 1 first.
We don't have tuition. Can't afford to even if need to. So they must try to manage on their own. That's why whatever results they get is to their own credit (or not!)

ScaredyMum.. I am with slmkhoo with this post-PSLE thingy. In fact, every other year has been the same for us. We have a balance of play-dates, picnics, other outings (no $ to go holiday), spend time with gramps and let gramma take over craft work like beading, knitting, some baking some times, clean out their room, donate their stuff to needy, volunteer (if there's opportunity), movie days/nites at home or just do the stuff they didn't have much time to do, including reading for pleasure.
At most, they normally go through their new textbooks for next year at least once. :oops:
After so many years chiong-ing away, cannot entirely take their deserved break time from them (AND MINE TOO hor!
) and yes i agree can't let their young minds go to mush. I totally agree with that note.
:rotflmao: No la buds, not BeContented's fault la, luckily she pointed out if not I may also fall into the trap of letting them play 24/7 without keep tabs on them lei
ScaredyMum.. I am with slmkhoo with this post-PSLE thingy. In fact, every other year has been the same for us. We have a balance of play-dates, picnics, other outings (no $ to go holiday), spend time with gramps and let gramma take over craft work like beading, knitting, some baking some times, clean out their room, donate their stuff to needy, volunteer (if there's opportunity), movie days/nites at home or just do the stuff they didn't have much time to do, including reading for pleasure.BeContented:
Haha. Me lah. I said that cannot let them wander too far lah

Hahaa! Yah, all BeContented's fault.
At most, they normally go through their new textbooks for next year at least once. :oops:
After so many years chiong-ing away, cannot entirely take their deserved break time from them (AND MINE TOO hor!
) and yes i agree can't let their young minds go to mush. I totally agree with that note.
I am working FT so am not able to \"participate\" in many activities with them. Dun hv grannies that they can stay and play with too. Can plan time-tables for leisure, reading, outdoor play etc, but at the same time also thinking of \"out-sourcing\" some. -
ScaredyMum, I was jesting about BeContented. :rotflmao: She knows it.

:hugs: Not easy on you FTWM. Can understand. Eh, u don't have anyone else at home? No helper.. no other children?
One of my friends (also a FTWM) has an only son. He's left at home while both my friend and her hubby works. He eats lunch in school, gets whatever help he needs with homework from school and she will check on him when she comes back that he has done all his due responsibilities. This has been going on since P1. I told her (when she said his results slip) she's fortunate to have a good son, who can be independent and without any supervision at all for so many years but still a good boy. Don't over-nag or scold him left right centre. Never wander in malls or pick up bad influences from peers. Never caused trouble in school at all. Can look out for baby brother if she or hubby stuck in traffic (public transport) or kena overtime. He can some more call her to say he helped put baby to sleep while waiting for her to come home after the hubby had to leave home for nite shift.
Aniwaes, ya.. since you FTWM mebbe can outsource some good pgrms for him to utilize some of his time post PSLE apart from the home activities and bumming around.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.