Lunch

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    1.8k Posts 65 Posters 1.0m Views 1 Watching
      Dora1

Dora1:

Actually if not comfortable with canola oil, sunflower or corn oil are also quite versatile. I use sunflower oil sometimes also.

Eh, I just remembered. Buds, for the canola oil that you have, try to finish within 6 months. Oil tend to oxidise under heat and light and oxygen. So once opened, store in cool dry place in the dark, and away from the stove.

The light, is it referring to sunlight? Becos in supermarket, the bottles of oil are on the shelves exposed to the electrical lights.

The oxidation of the oil is primarily due to oxygen. The ones in supermarket are sealed so very little oxygen gets in so not much oxidation can happen. Light and heat are catalyst for the reaction and hasten the oxidation process once the seal is broken.

Dora1

Otah? I just buy new moon, last saw offer at finest @$ 3.20. Taste good, plenty of chunky mackerel meat.

Hi 5! Looks like we are equally lazy hee jeez I always have this in my freezer, in case last min need to cook dinner so I'll just toast it in the oven and do an omelette for dd for a quick dinner :evil:

SAHM_TAN

Dora1:

[quote=\"Dora1\"]Actually if not comfortable with canola oil, sunflower or corn oil are also quite versatile. I use sunflower oil sometimes also.

Eh, I just remembered. Buds, for the canola oil that you have, try to finish within 6 months. Oil tend to oxidise under heat and light and oxygen. So once opened, store in cool dry place in the dark, and away from the stove.

The light, is it referring to sunlight? Becos in supermarket, the bottles of oil are on the shelves exposed to the electrical lights.

The oxidation of the oil is primarily due to oxygen. The ones in supermarket are sealed so very little oxygen gets in so not much oxidation can happen. Light and heat are catalyst for the reaction and hasten the oxidation process once the seal is broken.[/quote]Ahhhhh, I see, I see. So it's possible for cooking oil and even olive oil to expire ?

BTW do you know what type of olive oil for what use? I read it somewhere but can't find it now. For example cold pressed is for salad, etc

SAHM_TAN

[quote=\"Nebbermind\"]Otah? I just buy new moon, last saw offer at finest @$ 3.20. Taste good, plenty of chunky mackerel meat.

There's a stall that sells banana leaves. Hubby will comment every so often let's make otah whenever we passed by it, so thinking of trying again after my last failed attempt heehee

Then u buy new moon, wrap in banana n then happycall it. 😆 😆[/quote] :rotflmao:

• JenniferJ Offline
              Jennifer

Today is the last SA1 paper.

Bringing the boy to eat at ChunTin Road.

Think there is a new ice cream parlour along Lor Kilat 😉

• JenniferJ Offline
                Jennifer

BTW do you know what type of olive oil for what use? I read it somewhere but can't find it now. For example cold pressed is for salad, etc

I kaypo answer. The NTUC housebrand range of oil hv a tag to indicate whether the oil is for cooking or not.

I am using its Extra Light Olive Oil now. Tried its Grapeseed oil, dun really like it - cant explain exactly the reason, just the flavour of the cooked food seems not matching with grapeseed oil.

If I need to deep fry (which I seldom do), I will buy a small bottle of Knife peanut cooking oil.

Due to lack of space, I do not buy the big bottle. Even sesame oil and cooking wine, I buy only the smallest bottle.

My MIL is using a 米糠油 (rice bran oil, dunno which brand). I do not like the flavour. Her vegs always hv a weird taste.

If space is not a constraint, one can always buy the big bottle, then pour out a small portion for daily use into a oil dispenser and keep the big bottle in a cool area, away from the sun/stove.

I do this for the light soya sauce, a small amount in a sauce dispenser, the original bottle in the fridge.

vinegar

I kaypo answer. The NTUC housebrand range of oil hv a tag to indicate whether the oil is for cooking or not.

I am using its Extra Light Olive Oil now. Tried its Grapeseed oil, dun really like it - cant explain exactly the reason, just the flavour of the cooked food seems not matching with grapeseed oil.

If I need to deep fry (which I seldom do), I will buy a small bottle of Knife peanut cooking oil.

Due to lack of space, I do not buy the big bottle. Even sesame oil and cooking wine, I buy only the smallest bottle.

My MIL is using a 米糠油 (rice bran oil, dunno which brand). I do not like the flavour. Her vegs always hv a weird taste.

If space is not a constraint, one can always buy the big bottle, then pour out a small portion for daily use into a oil dispenser and keep the big bottle in a cool area, away from the sun/stove.

I do this for the light soya sauce, a small amount in a sauce dispenser, the original bottle in the fridge.

I thought i am the only one....everything i bot,including canned or dried food,oso small bottle or packet.My kitchen is very small,fridge oso very small.At times,i feel very frustrated coz hv to remember what's running out(since these r most small bottles) n keep arranging the food in the cabinet.

i use Rice Bran oil,i like it.I don't like soy bean oil,too liquid...

SAHM_TAN

Thank you Jennifer, will pop by NTUC and chk out the tags.

b2b3m4

Today’s lunch for kiddo’s and hubby’s bento

1. pan fried batang
                      2. Stir fried veg with miso & ketchup

Yum!

• NebbermindN Offline
                        Nebbermind

Today is the last SA1 paper.

Bringing the boy to eat at ChunTin Road.

Think there is a new ice cream parlour along Lor Kilat 😉
                        New one?

Take pics and report, please!!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 171 / 180