What is your dinner?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    1.0k Posts 268 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
      Dora1

Any fellow mummies here who have a headache deciding what to cook for dinner everyday, esp FTWM? I only have 20-30 min from reaching home and serving dinner. I think I am running out of menu which are quick, and doesn't make a mess out of the kitchen so that minimal cleaning is required. There's only 2A1C, so we don't cook a lot also. So far, I have been cooking the following:

Soups using thermal pots (lotus, corn, pear, watercress, old cucumber, etc)
      Rice washed and left in the rice cooker with timer to cook.
      Mains:
      1) stew chicken in black sauce (pre-marinated the night before, just dump everything in the wok, cover and cook)
      2) steam fish (prepared the night before, just remove from fridge and steam)
      3) non spicy ma po tofu with prawns, mushroom and corn (everything prepared the night before and kept in fridge)
      4) pan fry fish (salmon/ batang)
      5)fried silver fish omelette
      6) chicken/beef stew (thermal pot)
      7)Japanese curry (thermal pot)
      9)Sliced pork with enoki mushroom

Then I'll always have a stir fried veg (xiao bai cai, kang kong, spinach etc)

One dish meals: Fried rice, fried noodles, fried udon, fish soup with rice.

Any other ideas??? Anything that I can prepare the night before and have minimal preparation in the morning (like the thermal pot) and cooking in the evening??
      Any ideas would be much appreciated! I'm getting sick of my own food :slapshead:

durianlove1974

Can try

1) minced pork with chopped mushrooms - marinade day before and just steam it

if not can fry it too

2) sliced pork marinade with dark soya sauce stir fry with ginger & sesame oil.

ammonite

Pasta is very fast and easy. Use different sauces.

SAHM_TAN

Tonite is pizza fr Sarpino

• FunzF Offline
              Funz

Agree that pastas are easy. You can bulk prepare the sauce or use store bought. Can also make meatballs, freeze them and use when you want.

Miso soup base, add choice of vege, meat, tofu, eat with rice/udon
              Steam tofu, topped with spring onions, fried shallots and soya sauce. Or stir fry mince meat with diced mushroom, with a bit of garlic and oyster sauce as topping.
              stir fry mince meat with mix frozen veg and onions
              braise pork with tofu and eggs. Add mei cai to the leftover gravy and you have another dish that goes well with porridge
              marinate sliced pork (muscle meat or shoulder butt) in dark soya sauce, a bit of sugar and pepper. Heat up some oil and fry.
              yong tau hu soup/in gravy
              steamed stuffed tofu
              zha jiang mian
              bulk prepare jiaozi and freeze them

• JenniferJ Offline
                Jennifer

New ice cream parlour at Lor Kilat.

http://i44.tinypic.com/351y32g.jpg\">

We got a Nuts about you - nougat+hazelnut+almond. kinda of sweet

http://i40.tinypic.com/bhbwk1.jpg\">

• JenniferJ Offline
                  Jennifer

The younger boy is hungry today, so menu changes 😄 these photos taken after the boys started eating, so portion seems miserable 😂

Miso soup+silken tofu+pork slices

http://i44.tinypic.com/30c28aw.jpg\">

French beans with shiitake mushrooms

http://i41.tinypic.com/245m0lk.jpg\">

Fry eggs with chives

http://i42.tinypic.com/aceuzs.jpg\">

Cold appetizer - cucumber (in sushi vinegar+2 chilli padi+minced garlic), Japanese seaweed with Japanese sesame dressing

http://i39.tinypic.com/262uumr.jpg\">

vinegar

Dora1:
                    Any fellow mummies here who have a headache deciding what to cook for dinner everyday, esp FTWM? I only have 20-30 min from reaching home and serving dinner. I think I am running out of menu which are quick, and doesn't make a mess out of the kitchen so that minimal cleaning is required. There's only 2A1C, so we don't cook a lot also. So far, I have been cooking the following:

Soups using thermal pots (lotus, corn, pear, watercress, old cucumber, etc)
                    Rice washed and left in the rice cooker with timer to cook.
                    Mains:
                    1) stew chicken in black sauce (pre-marinated the night before, just dump everything in the wok, cover and cook)
                    2) steam fish (prepared the night before, just remove from fridge and steam)
                    3) non spicy ma po tofu with prawns, mushroom and corn (everything prepared the night before and kept in fridge)
                    4) pan fry fish (salmon/ batang)
                    5)fried silver fish omelette
                    6) chicken/beef stew (thermal pot)
                    7)Japanese curry (thermal pot)
                    9)Sliced pork with enoki mushroom

Then I'll always have a stir fried veg (xiao bai cai, kang kong, spinach etc)

One dish meals: Fried rice, fried noodles, fried udon, fish soup with rice.

Any other ideas??? Anything that I can prepare the night before and have minimal preparation in the morning (like the thermal pot) and cooking in the evening??
                    Any ideas would be much appreciated! I'm getting sick of my own food :slapshead:
                    here r some one pot dishes i make,no frying required,so no nid to clean stove:
                    1) Yong Tau Foo with brocolli & tomato soup
                    To make soup=>add in Sze Chuan Chye,ikan bilis

2) Mashed potato,baked salmon(with cheese & mayoneise)

3) fish soup(toman,sheng yu)

4) steamed egg tofu with minced pork

5) steam fish with kiam chye,ginger shreds,tomato

6) curry chicken noodles (I use A1 instant curry sauce)
                    fuss free version: boil chicken breast,shred it.Throw in Tau Pok,noodles,fish cake,curry leaves(shld fry wf the paste but sometx i lazy) ,hard boiled egg & coconut milk.

7) laksa (i use Prima Deli),add in shrimp, chicken and fish balls

😎 Bak Ku Teh

Dora1

Dear all

Thanks for all your suggestions. All your suggestions seem very yummy. I think part of the problem is DD is a picky eater that’s why I’m cracking my head on what to cook. She’s a rice noodle type of person.
                      She doesn’t like pasta but I’ll slowly try to intro to her cos I’m really sian of the food already.

Last night we have braised oyster sauce chicken with fresh mushroom, with baby spinach in ikan bilis soup.
                      Today we ate out, cos really dunno what to cook liao. char Siew, roast pork, roast duck rice/ noodles

peapot

Looking at all your menu suddenly realise that I have been eating the same dish for 3 months and I didn’t really take notice. My dinner is usually veg and chicken or veg with fish or veg with pork. That’s it. No rice for me. Only my girl eats rice with the veggie. The only time I had variety is during CNY when I cook.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 97 / 103