CHIJ Family of Schools

563 Posts 160 Posters 365.0k Views 1 Watching

cherrygal:
      My dd is still very young. Still mulling over which school to send her hence doing massive research.

Hi cherryygal,

Your knowledge of IJ schools is incredible. :udawoman:

cherrygal

Paiseh lah... :oops: just super kiasu in research... not very healthy

eh, Janet, you have been promoted to Councillor! Congrats!

cherrygal:
          Paiseh lah... :oops: just super kiasu... not very healthy

I am thinking so hard for my gal until I lose sleep...

I am watching all the good girls schools, CHIJ or not. Once I decide where to try, have to buy/rent a place within 1km...
          Honestly you are not kiasu...but really did homework well. I am more paiseh bcos I do not know much about IJ family. Can understand your stress...it is one big headache every parent faces when kids are about to enroll in primary school. Gosh, pls don't congratulate me...I am really not that updated.

strawberry mummy

Hihi…

any idea if non-catholics children can also get into CHIJ schools? I’m looking at CHIJ OLQP for my dd who will be in the 2015 intake. How do i apply for PV since we are only qualified for Phrase 2c? we live in bukit panjang but is still >2km away from the school.

cherrygal

strawberry mummy:
              Hihi..

any idea if non-catholics children can also get into CHIJ schools? I'm looking at CHIJ OLQP for my dd who will be in the 2015 intake. How do i apply for PV since we are only qualified for Phrase 2c? we live in bukit panjang but is still >2km away from the school.
              Yes, non-catholics are accepted into CHIJ schools. OLQP has places left after Phase 2C which means it's safe for citizens regardless of distance. Dun worry.

lshirly

Hi all,

In case any of you are interested to have a look at CHIJ OLN premises, they will allow you to have a look ard on 26th June from 10 am onwards around an hour or so. But there will not be any interaction with teachers or prinicpal.
                No need to register for this too.

I had called the school enquiring on open house and the school provided me with the above information 🙂

cheers

tutu_san

hello all, i know i am really KS, looking out for primary schools for my DD born in 2010. she has a younger sister whom is born in 2013. so i really need to find a good school for her so tat the younger sis can enjoy too.

i know st nick is totally out since it’s so hot and we have no piority for it.
                  so i am looking at either CHIJ toa payoh (which is outside 2km) or CHIJ our lady of good counsel (which is between 1-2km). can anyone advise the chance of getting into CHIJ TPY if i do PV? and how good is CHIJ OLGC? failing which, i am also looking at marymount convent which we are just at the 2km (2.009km).

• qmsQ Offline
                    qms

tutu_san:
                    i know st nick is totally out since it's so hot and we have no piority for it.

so i am looking at either CHIJ toa payoh (which is outside 2km) or CHIJ our lady of good counsel (which is between 1-2km). can anyone advise the chance of getting into CHIJ TPY if i do PV? and how good is CHIJ OLGC? failing which, i am also looking at marymount convent which we are just at the 2km (2.009km).
                    http://media.photobucket.com/user/Burzuk2/media/Emoticons/smiley/ybs-28.gif.html How did you manage to get so specific distance? For your information, if your house is really 2.009 km from the school, your child will be under the > 2 km category, not \"just at 2 km\".

You should use the School Query function in onemap to determine which category your child will be at, rather than measure the distance.

bebe

tutu_san:

i know st nick is totally out since it's so hot and we have no piority for it.

http://media.photobucket.com/user/Burzuk2/media/Emoticons/smiley/ybs-28.gif.html How did you manage to get so specific distance? For your information, if your house is really 2.009 km from the school, your child will be under the > 2 km category, not \"just at 2 km\".

You should use the School Query function in onemap to determine which category your child will be at, rather than measure the distance.

CHIJ TPY does not accept PV. PV are formed by parents whose daughters are already enrolled into the school. If you are more than 2km, very likely you might have to be go through balloting.

cherrygal

Sorry, CHIJ TP does not need PVs which makes u eligible for only Phase 2C. They ballot at <1km in Phase 2C. No chance at all, assuming you are citizen. Only way to get into Phase 2B is to go grassroots route but you must volunteer at the RC which is in the same constituency as the school (Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC). Meaning you gotta live in this GRC.

Think you better look at OLGC or Marymount. You stand a good chance at OLGC. Please go to OLGC thread in parents networking section or Serangoon Primary Schools thread. OLGC is a nice cosy place, girls are well-behaved. Standard is similar to CHIJ OLN. Affiliated to St Joseph’s convent. Marymount has no secondary affiliation.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 56 / 57