PSLE COP 2009

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    870 Posts 123 Posters 390.4k Views 1 Watching

mathsparks:
      ya, ks2me with the magic touch. we've gone ot on 25hourmaid's. later she comes after us. time to :siam:

๐Ÿ˜‰ so like us to go OT...can imagine her sweeping us off with her split-second broom action tomorrow morning... :siam:

VitoRelax

[quote=\"ks2me\"]

haha...mathsparks, I know where the confusion is now... I read vito and phankao's reply to you on why SCGS not going into IP... blah blah blah.. But now I re-read and realise your original question is in bold.

Don't like that leh. Don't drag me in leh ... :scared:

I only quote what garmen (or MOE) say leh ...

๐Ÿ˜„

No worries, you are not dragged too deep in...the words in bold is the focus point. ๐Ÿ‘…[/quote]Sigh ... now I cannot find where I read the part on govt saying that no IP programs will be approved anymore bcos MOE wants to make sure that IP is only available to the top 10% of the cohort. I am sure I read that some where last nite !!

Anyone remember reading that ?

mathsparks

no la, ks2me. sheโ€™ll throw her gold coins at us. iโ€™ll be first to catch. didnt you see her caishen avatar?

and vito, i didnโ€™t see the post you were looking for. maybe poster delete liao?

VitoRelax

mathsparks:

and vito, i didn't see the post you were looking for. maybe poster delete liao?
            No not in this forum.

I cannnot remember whether I read in MOE website or some education website ????

VitoRelax

2ppaamm:

[quote=\"mathsparks\"]

and vito, i didn't see the post you were looking for. maybe poster delete liao?

No not in this forum.

I cannnot remember whether I read in MOE website or some education website ????

Can it be this one? http://blog.ova.org.sg/2009/09/straits-times-forum-beware-of-breeding-elitism/[/quote]Interesting article. This one said that IP is open to top 5%.

But the one I read clearly said that in order to ensure that only the top 10% can choose IP route, any proposals to set up IP programs will no longer be approved !!

cindylauper

2ppaamm:
                Ha ha. I think that comment is true! As a true RGS/RJC alumni, I feel that we are too 'hard', career minded etc. None of my friends are sending our girls to RGS, I mean none in my class of 42! We have kids in NYGH, SCGS, St Nicks, but no RGS! 2 of us sent our boys to RI, though.

With my girls, I like that 'gentle touch' SCGS brings. Girls must be girls lah... a bit old fashioned hor? But I can vouch that being a nu ๅผบไบบ is no fun. Better to be a balanced person. Being a lawyer, doctor, lecturer, teacher etc and still look after a family is better neglecting a family for career... - My thoughts only hor.
                I share your sentiments. It seems that most folks associate \"good\" school to high COP. A good school serves more than producing academically excellent students, right? How about promoting moral values, instilling confidence and independent thinking? How about helping the young adults find out about their hidden talents and gifts - academic, sports, artistic, leadership qualities etc? Which part of the childhood years shapes our thinking as adults? Teacher's words of inspiration or mathematical formulae? If the school takes in affiliated students with not so high scores and manage to achieve Band 1- doesn't it mean anything? Is COP really the only way to assess a good school? ๐Ÿ˜„

VitoRelax

2ppaamm:
                  This one? http://74.125.153.132/search?q=cache:pm3froYoUioJ:app.mof.gov.sg/cutwaste/suggestionview.asp%3Fid%3D25755+having+more+IP+schools&cd=5&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=sg

Not this one leh

The one I read clearly said that in order to ensure that only the top 10% can choose IP route, any proposals to set up IP programs will no longer be approved !!

Hmmm... why cannot find har ?

2ppaamm:
                    Hi KS2me,

This one is the same as the 2nd link I posted above...
                    Oops! Sorry..then I better delete to save space. ๐Ÿ™‚

VitoRelax

Not this one leh

The one I read clearly said that in order to ensure that only the top 10% can choose IP route, any proposals to set up IP programs will no longer be approved !!

Hmmm... why cannot find har ?
                      Ok, I think I have found it. It is this one:
                      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integrated_Programme

Some where under A Levels, it says:

River Valley High School joined the Integrated Programme system in late 2005 by operating a six year course standalone. It is the last to join the ranks of the schools offering Integrated Programme before the Ministry of Education had closed the gates to the special system. This ensures that students who are under the Integrated Programme are able to cope with their A levels after bypassing their O levels. All the schools allowed in the scheme accepts the top 10% of the national cohort.

Wow, 2 more since I left the thread last night! :roll: Amazing that this thread is still alive long after the posing results were out on 22 Dec!

Just random pick to get the topic back to where you wanna it to be lah ... ๐Ÿ˜„
                        See lah, Vito, your random pick of SCGS has sparked off a big debate in this thread, from COP, to why SCGS is a good school etc, why people send their daughters to SCGS, to IP discussion etc! :heresmyfish: You call that helping me to bring back the topic?
                        :nunchuk:

mathsparks and ks2me, like I said before, you can OT on my thread, but as long as you realise it and restrict your OT chats to a few posts, that's fine with me, not like some people who go on and go without realising that they have gone OT, that's the difference!

My maid has gone on leave for CNY, so since it is cai shen who is taking over now, he won't sweep at you for going OT, but like what mathsparks said, he would probably drop some coins on you, that's all! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Watch out, they are heavy! :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 66 / 87