Where was the first A&W in Singapore?
Blobbi:
surprised it took 6 pgs before someone mentioned Bt Timah. Thought that was a landmark in ancient SGWendy's was at Far East Plaza, right? It was supposed to be the \"better\" burger, so more expensive.
Didn't have time to read through the thread, but if the question on where the first A&W is still valid, ten my answer is the one on the canal on Dunearn/Bt Timah. Dunno why I remember that cos that was really yonks ago in the 70s. Dunno when it shut down. I must be lao liao
Was there ever one in Supreme House? -
Yah, I remember my aunt giving me my first burger treat when I was young. It was a very, very, big deal, and I even had a root beer float! It may even have been before I started primary school, but somehow, I have great memory for food, but not much else. :roll:surprised it took 6 pgs before someone mentioned Bt Timah. Thought that was a landmark in ancient SG
Was there ever one in Supreme House?
Supreme house, you mean Metro? That was ooolllld too! But can't remember if there was an A&W there cos never ate there. -
Blobbi:
Bingo!! You got it right! :celebrate: You so ancient meh?Wendy's was at Far East Plaza, right? It was supposed to be the \"better\" burger, so more expensive.
Didn't have time to read through the thread, but if the question on where the first A&W is still valid, ten my answer is the one on the canal on Dunearn/Bt Timah. Dunno why I remember that cos that was really yonks ago in the 70s. Dunno when it shut down. I must be lao liao
The first A&W was at Bkt Timah wasn't it? DH used to go there, grab a float before walking deep deep into the estate to his house so it must be near Kheam Hock Road/Merryn Road area? Just a guess! :idea:
Wendy's have re-opened at Lau Pat Sat oredi. Yeah! :love: -
I am Apek enough, I can confirm the first A&W is as mentioned by Blobbi is on top of the canal between Bt Timah Road and Dunearn Road near the previous Singapore University / NIE.
Dong! Game over!
Bingo!! You got it right! :celebrate: You so ancient meh?Blobbi:
Wendy's was at Far East Plaza, right? It was supposed to be the \"better\" burger, so more expensive.

End of this thread? :evil:
As far as the guess is concerned, it is over but if people want to come in and share more nostalgic stuff about A&W hor....it will live on lor
Dong! Game over!
End of this thread? :evil:
Well, I know of this branch because of a dear brother of mine.
He was from ACS, so he was very near this A&W. I remember that every Tuesday, A&W had a special offer of their hotdog at only $0.50?
So this dear brother would pop by every Tuesday after school to buy this for his dear sister. This dear sister had no special feelings for hotdogs but loved the idea of brother so doting so ate the hotdog happily every Tuesday. Until today this brother remains a favourite of mine and he continues to dote on my child and all other children in the family. -
wah! so nice!! he grad ACS in which yr?
Wah...u asking me a tough question cos I don't track my brother's academic span. Even my own, I sometimes have problem figuring out my year of graduation for each stage. All I know is he went from primary to \"A\" levels with ACS. -
As far as the guess is concerned, it is over but if people want to come in and share more nostalgic stuff about A&W hor....it will live on lor
Yes, you telling me nostalgic stuff about A&W! I really miss their root bear, root beer float, not forgetting those HUGE glasses that they used to put the root beer/float in with the A&W logo, remember? And the big cuddly masot, the Bear? I used to patronise the one at AMK.
:drool: even as think of them now! Wonder if they would make a come back to Singapore?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.