Secondary School CCA

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    466 Posts 133 Posters 379.3k Views 1 Watching
      daisyt

Bear.w.me:
      Hi everyone, just one week into new academic year and all tired already?

My DD1 school has started CCA selection and parents and daughter's wish are in conflict...how to resolve that? Maybe just let the school decide will do...

Parents wish she takes up MEP related CCA but she likes sports (especially badminton). While she has no formal training in sports...i think it is not a wise way to achieve points.

I always hear one must choose interest over anything else. In order to gain CCA points, I do not think head should always rule...must depend on heart also. Right?

(at this juncture, how i wish i am in the shoe of 2ppaamm...need not think too hard because she only goes for least time required, least participantion and least effort school CCA just to fulfill attendance requirement, 好羡慕啊)
      bear.w.me, you are not alone. I encountered this last year when dd was selecting CCA. Talk, persuade, convince, argue, whatever you can name of ... finally settle with a CCA we think its good for her to try out, although is something totally new for her and a great challenge for her. Eventually, she is loving the CCA now and doing well. She herself is very surprise too. What I want her to learn is, must think of the big picture, think far, not be afraid to take up challenge. In life, it is a fact that many of the times, we don't get to do things we like or interest in. We have to weigh the situation ....

Interest can be cultivated and if one has not try out, its not fair for yourself to say you won't like it.

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

daisyt:

Infocomm is not AVA lah. In RV, infocom is from multi-media to robotics. Things they learn are C programming, videotaking, website design, NXT robotics ... Its not a relax one because many competitions to join.
        Hehe, I thought infocomm is setting up the computers in the lab and then doing duty to watch over the computers... silly me....

daisyt

2ppaamm:
          Hehe, I thought infocomm is setting up the computers in the lab and then doing duty to watch over the computers... silly me....

Hahaha ... what is there to watch for computers hor ??? :? Hang, just restart lor. 😄 Morever Macs hardly get hang.

• 2 Offline
            2ppaamm

daisyt:
            Hahaha ... what is there to watch for computers hor ??? :? Hang, just restart lor. 😄 Morever Macs hardly get hang.

A bit suah ku... I thought they are afraid people will steal them ma... quite ignorant hor? :stupid: Now I know, the world keeps changing... ha ha my knowledge is so outdated...

julongmum

daisyt:
              Infocomm is not AVA lah. In RV, infocom is from multi-media to robotics. Things they learn are C programming, videotaking, website design, NXT robotics ... Its not a relax one because many competitions to join.

I C thanks daisyt. Then which CCA is referred to AVA - as in pupils help to set up the annoucement system, mic for events, projecting presentation, etc. Or perhaps it is not considered a CCA?? Just a service or assistance huh?

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

sssdarlings:
                I cannot agree more.

I think one reason why we parents tend to focus on 'instant measurable results' is that we do not have a crystal ball to show us how well our children will turn out in the future. Scores and trophies are more quantifiable and give us short-term assurance.

If i may add, I had blogged about my dd's academic performance this yr, with more of my thoughts:

http://sssdarlings.wordpress.com/2009/12/15/more-than-just-grades/
                Read that post only just now. Very heart warming...

jetstar

I understand that most students will only get 1-point cut off at the end of the 4 years, even if they were to dutifully attend all training sessions, etc. This is so even if the student represents the school in his chosen CCA, for example, say basketball. That is unless the student is the president of his club.

Is that true? If so, it may be advisable for the child to take a CCA that is less demanding, for example, maybe Chess / Gardening Club, and then just become the club’s president?

parentof3

What I understand is points will only be given for the main CCA in that school. If Chess club is not the main CCA then points are not awarded.

daisyt

julongmum:
                      daisyt:

I C thanks daisyt. Then which CCA is referred to AVA - as in pupils help to set up the annoucement system, mic for events, projecting presentation, etc. Or perhaps it is not considered a CCA?? Just a service or assistance huh?

I don't think there is such CCA of AVA in Sec school ... never heard before. I think they are done by the student consellors ???? Maybe ....

CJS

AVA is a term used during our times. Nowadays, they use terms like media / multimedia club which sounds so much better. It’s the same with job titles that get "upgraded" to such a level that it can boost your ego up to the sky. Ha Ha !

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 47