From PSLE to University
mathsparks:
And the gahmen says we're not producing enough. haiz. :salute: 2ppaamm, phankao!
Me too ! Me too ! Zn , Zy , Zy , Zx. :lol: -
znzyzyzx:
Hi Znzyzyzx. Are those your kids' names?mathsparks:
And the gahmen says we're not producing enough. haiz. :salute: 2ppaamm, phankao!
Me too ! Me too ! Zn , Zy , Zy , Zx. :lol: -
O and ks2me, when I said behavior problem, that is because most behavior problems stem from being bored. If your friends’ kids have other behavioural problems, not too sure leh… Sorry, I actually assumed it was the normal EG behavioural problems. But they are giving, since they are used to.
So parents out there, listen to your kids, if the teachers complain bad behavior, don’t just go jump at the kid. Find out if he/she has a learning problem or is bored. Very often, it is the latter. Giftedness can often be mistaken. So take heart! -
No la…2ppaamm, my friends’ gifted kids had no behavioural issues, in fact they stood out as leaders in class. They tend to be more mature too. Maybe gifted kids have 2 types broadly, one is the exceptionally disruptive and the other exceptionally matured?
In any case I want to make 2 statements clearly here in mathematical terms, the "if and only if" condition does not hold true for the following situations. It is usually only one way.
1. If a child is gifted, then it is certain the parents have to be gifted, even if some parents were not discovered.
However, if parents are gifted, it is not necessarily true that kids will be gifted.
2. If a child is gifted, he may exhibit the boredom and disruptive behaviour.
However, if a child is bored and disruptive, he may not be gifted.
In case 2, there are too many advanced kids these days due to our preschool education and the "hot-housing" syndrome, at best these kids have been taught things earlier in their lives so they are bored. However, time will reveal if they are truly gifted later on. Also, if a child is so-called gifted but uncontrollably disruptive, how gifted is that? (no offence to anyone but I believe giftedness also equals to a certain level of maturity since they can chew on many things well) The gifted children I know so far are those who know how to keep themselves occupied most of the time, without anyone telling them what to do. -
Great points. It is true that too many adults were not discovered. I continue to be amazed by hawkers, and waitresses who are clearly gifted in their own ways. I know this lady stallholder. Her memory is amazing. I bought noodles from her only once. That time, I was looking out for my car the whole time I was queuing, and so I asked her not to bother about giving me the utensils.
1. If a child is gifted, then it is certain the parents have to be gifted, even if some parents were not discovered.
However, if parents are gifted, it is not necessarily true that kids will be gifted.
2. If a child is gifted, he may exhibit the boredom and disruptive behaviour.
However, if a child is bored and disruptive, he may not be gifted.
The next time I went back, it was at least 2 months later. Her initial reaction was, \"Park car properly now?\" And, she remembered exactly what my orders were.
I also traveled to poorer countries quite often. It is amazing that their \"common\" folks use their brains a lot more than us here... They are really bright. That's why, I wonder what education has trained us to be.... human calculators? -
2ppaamm:
I agree with you that many uneducated people have impressed me with their intelligence and the way they run their business but they were never a member of MENSA nor tested their IQ.Great points. It is true that too many adults were not discovered. I continue to be amazed by hawkers, and waitresses who are clearly gifted in their own ways. I know this lady stallholder. Her memory is amazing. I bought noodles from her only once. That time, I was looking out for my car the whole time I was queuing, and so I asked her not to bother about giving me the utensils.
The next time I went back, it was at least 2 months later. Her initial reaction was, \"Park car properly now?\" And, she remembered exactly what my orders were.
I also traveled to poorer countries quite often. It is amazing that their \"common\" folks use their brains a lot more than us here... They are really bright. That's why, I wonder what education has trained us to be.... human calculators?
As for what our education has trained us?... KIASU human calculators....and therefore risk adversed. :lol: -
Risk averse = afraid to fail = cannot become businessmen = become employees forever... when the MNCs all say goodbye to Singapore, all of us will sit here staring at each other... how to be self-sufficient?
I agree with you that many uneducated people have impressed me with their intelligence and the way they run their business but they were never a member of MENSA nor tested their IQ.
As for what our education has trained us?... KIASU human calculators....and therefore risk adversed. :lol:
The gahmen tried to nurture entrepreneurship - saw last week's different NRF schemes? But hor, with the education like that, how to change human calculators to risk-taking business people? :? -
Having said all these, I hope all of us remember that it's the ordinary who do extraordinary things...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EUT1ADtIHQU&feature=fvst -
2ppaamm:
Hi Znzyzyzx. Are those your kids' names?
Yes. Their initial. :lol: -
2ppaamm:
Hi 2ppaamm,Having said all these, I hope all of us remember that it's the ordinary who do extraordinary things...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EUT1ADtIHQU&feature=fvst
You are indeed, one of the gifted adult went undetected by gov.sg.
Wonder if you were born in SG?
Thanks for sharing the interesting approach out of the edu.gov.sg...
I have only DS1 in P5 now, and he seems to be struggling, our fear is if he don't make it to a good secondary schools.. key issue is his addictions in computer gaming, he kept finding ways (independently!) to play.. instead of studying. (realize he lacks playmates at home)
I wonder if you have any tricks to inspire kids not to be addicted to computer games? As I found his mild-ADHD is linked to residual memory in computer animations, and distracted his focus in studies, also social behaviors...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.