2013 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    5.7k Posts 204 Posters 987.0k Views 1 Watching
      ngl2010

Goodluck8:

Really dont understand the school. I of course agree that students must expose to other non examination subject , but not at this critical time. Cant it be done after PSLE which they are so free for around 1 and half month.
      I agree with you. I was wondering about this last week when helping DS with social studies. Why can't the school arrange the projects for non-core subjects to be done after PSLE instead of now?

lexis

haha my son’s school is the same - HE and SS/Art project last week. And I thought his school was the anamoly… turns out it’s quite normal.

icy_mama

my dd had music project earlier, and an ongoing science project now. she had to conduct an experiment with 2 other classmates and discuss via internet and stay back during recess. i said no to meeting after school hours. i thought i was a waste of time, but later thought that it was a good break from revisions, worksheets and papers. just need to monitor her revision and as long as she is coping well, i’ll just let it be. she was grousing about it but i don’t see the point in complaining. told her to just get it over and done with chop chop and get back to her books.

ngl2010:

DD's relationship with me has improved greatly over the past month. My perseverance is beginning to see some positive changes in her. I am very happy I stuck with my decision to relentlessly work on our mother-daughter relationship first before anything else. In fact, her relationship with her father has improved as well. If her sister could tone down some of her regular annoyance, I bet their sisterly relationship might improve as well. :rotflmao: Before I forget, I must add this. Thank you, God for listening to the prayers in my heart. Thank you. Timing couldn't be better too. 😉...

Inspiring story, buds :please:

:grphug: to you and your DD

Jiayou! :rahrah:

TravelMummy:
            :udawoman: buds, you rock! Am sure your daughter will remember this phase of her life when it is long past and be grateful for your unwavering support. Brings to perspective what motherhood is all about, no? Good luck to your dd for PSLE. Hope she keeps improving and achieve her hearts desires!
            Thanks, TravelMummy.. it's my first go at PSLE with my firstborn child, so I have no experience in dealing with my DD's emotional well-being whilst balancing her pre-teen angst, being her pillar of support in times of desperation and frustration, being her friend when she needs someone to rock out/dance to her favourite songs or just chill out with an ice-cream for girl talk and most times just trying to be a good mom which means nag less and listen more. 😂

She hugs & kisses me more these days and readily shares stuff from school and friends. She takes initiative to come to me and ask if I could study with her... which meant that she had really chiong to get all her homework done in school before she reached home that day, from an already looonnng day in school.

Just the other day, I was smiling to myself reading this text she sent me, while she was walking home from school... :love:

http://i40.tinypic.com/2zdzm0l.jpg\">

The positive vibes she has been maintaining is keeping her stress and nerves in good stead... to which I reminded her, \"Remember when mommy shared with you that the key to doing things well (not just doing things right) always begin with the right attitude.\" She nods, put her arms round one of my shoulders and said, \"Yes, I remember and I think you were right all along. Thanks, mommy.\" :hugs:

Yes, we hope she keeps improving not just for grades but for knowledge. I personally value effort above grades, especially since I know that she is a slower learner. As for what her heart desires... I am not sure she knows what that is yet, beyond grades.. beyond the idea of getting into a good school.. but yes, I do hope when she is ready, she can reach for what her heart desires.

For me right now, I got exactly what I desired over the past three years..

I got my daughter back.

icy_mama

For me right now, I got exactly what I desired over the past three years..

I got my daughter back.
              :please: :love: so touching... so sweet... more goosebumps, but in a better way than the lizards. 😉

you're a wonderful mummy, buds. :salute:

For DD's school, I don't see any project work other than practice papers, practice papers, practice papers.. yes, even I get sick of it. :sick:

However, I was a little concerned that her Math teacher has been asking the students to do something I find more a waste of time than it being something useful of much/extra help.. He has been asking the students to copy practice papers (questions and answers) twice over. Even for the correct ones! Honestly, I didn't want her to do it. Time could be better used for us to go over the stuff she still has trouble understanding, to gao tim all the concepts once and for all, to go over perhaps a bit more oral practices... I mean, really? To just copy a whole finished paper as corrections twice over is ............ :frustrated: She said, \"Teacher said it's for understanding..\" Aargh.. Hmmm... I am also pretty disturbed to know from DD that the same teacher berated another classmate of hers for not copying the correct version of the practice papers because he was too tired after homework and journey home (he stays in JB), so his mother told him to rest instead. (Well, the boy NEEDS it!) :slapshead: So, I am going to look into this issue immediately. I also have support from hubs to take her off supplementary lessons for a month. Hubs is going away pretty soon.. so while he is clearing leave, I can make better use of supplementary hours to supervise my DD with the areas we need to go through (which is a hell LOT!) :faint:...

I want to take charge at this point, because I have trusted the school to do their part and they have not convinced they know what they are doing, (with my daughter at least) since all children learn differently. I have brought her confidence and grades up in less time than what she has spent in school. Studying smart is crucial at this juncture (i find) because not everyone who studies really really hard right now may know what they are actually studying. In fact, there may be some (parents/children) who may not know 'how' to study.

We don't have time on our side any longer at this last lap.

Looks like some teachers will be hearing from me. :rubhands:

• JenniferJ Offline
                  Jennifer

I see music project, art project, English project all to be done with the use of computer.

Kids, once the computer is switched on, can wonder to some other websites.

Ah boy kena caught. Now his weekends game time is banned.

One of us will sit in the room with him when he uses the computer.

I guess the school also does not want to stress the kids out - what if another kid jumps down the building - arrows will shoot back at the school. A fine line to balance.

Just treat presentations as a oral practice and the gathering and presenting of info as a method to reinforce language skills.

icy_mama

that happens all the time. the temptation is just too great!

i make my dd and ds work with the laptop on the dining table so that we can monitor their traffic. dh's main pc screen can also see whatever they are browsing as well as all their conversation. (i dunno how he does it).

also i get them to estimate finishing time before starting and made sure they stick to it no matter if they had finished or not. this way, they'd cut down on pointless conversation.

My DD does not play online/computer games.

We only allow gaming during the school holidays, if they have done fairly well. We also play Wii with the family and the grandparents. On and off, whilst travelling to go to a shopping or makan destination, they do get a few moments on our iPhones. Computer usage is for mc online assignments, checking their emails, occasional movie dates at home or when we watch youtube music videos together. Each time with permission.

DD reads as a form of relaxation from all those 'study books'..

She sings (rocks out/chill out : their terminology) 😂 to unwind..

She plays her violin and also plays with the baby boys to destress from piles of work..

We bring the children out for recreation when we can, during the weekends or afternoons after homework is done, to either swim, cycle, skate.. the children like that.

Finally, we indulge her and her siblings with food they like because that is one of the ways to their hearts. :rotflmao:

Shared ice-cream with her yesterday to cool off during some stupid homework assignment that ended around 11pm. :siao:

icy_mama:
                        that happens all the time. the temptation is just too great!
                        So far so good on our end. They stick to what they were tasked to do and if they need to meander to somewhere else, even to check emails and stuff, they will check with either myself or hubs first. :xedfingers:
                        icy_mama:
                        i make my dd and ds work with the laptop on the dining table so that we can monitor their traffic. dh's main pc screen can also see whatever they are browsing as well as all their conversation. (i dunno how he does it).
                        Same.. Main pc in living room.

Err.. can ask how he does it. :evil:
                        icy_mama:
                        also i get them to estimate finishing time before starting and made sure they stick to it no matter if they had finished or not. this way, they'd cut down on pointless conversation.
                        Same! :hi5:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 204 / 566