NUS High School of Mathematics and Science (Diploma)
leooel:
So expensive! How to do for the international or PRs' students? I think PRs also can not apply for EESIS.
For all IP-School, foreigners paid the full fees if they don't qualify for any of the scholarship. I think EESIS and GEP Scholarship fully for singapore citizens but there are other kind of scholarship for PR and foreigner kids who do well.
Check MOE website for details. -
leooel:
So expensive! How to do for the international or PRs' students? I think PRs also can not apply for EESIS.
School fees for NUSHS :
School Fees (Per Month)
Nationality\tFrom 2013 (S$)
Singapore Citizens\t$300
Singapore Permanent Residents\t$450
International Students (ASEAN)\t $930
International Students (non-ASEAN) $1,200 -
Can apply for finance assistance (if you satisfy the Gross Household Income (GHI) or the Per Capita Income (PCI) criterion.)
Ministry of Education (MOE) Independent School Bursary (ISB)
The Ministry of Education provides financial assistance to needy Singapore Citizen pupils so that all Singaporeans, regardless of their financial background, can benefit from the best opportunities in education. It also provides subsidy for school fees to Singapore Citizen pupils from lower and middle income families in Independent Schools.
The MOE ISB scheme offers tiered school fee subsidies ranging from 33% to 100% to Singaporean pupils, whose families meet the income criteria shown in the table below.
http://www.nushigh.edu.sg/students-n-parents/financial-assistance -
dagong99:
:scared: Too expensive for an international student!leooel:
School fees for NUSHS :
School Fees (Per Month)
Nationality\tFrom 2013 (S$)
Singapore Citizens\t$300
Singapore Permanent Residents\t$450
International Students (ASEAN)\t $930
International Students (non-ASEAN) $1,200
If a student's parent lost their PR status, the school fee is terrible!
matadorepy:
Waaah... I really dun know leh. Eye-opener for me.. :yikes:
You really don't know meh !! Welcome to the world of IP schools eg RI, RGS - a different class of Schools from mainstream secondary school (eg teachers are employed independently - not part of MOE staff) , and hence a different set of school fees.WoonieNed:
Wah Liew... Just found out from my friends that school fees at NUS High for Singapore Citizen is at least $300 / month, compared to $15 for normal secondary school.....
I find that beri expensive.. :moneyflies: or mabbe that is normal.. I don't know...
Gosh... no money in Singapore cannot man.... :sick:
All students with T-Score above 260 automatically got the MOE EESIS scholarship of $2400 per year. GEPers also got GEP scholarship of $2400 per as long as they get the GEP Promotion (no necessity to score above 260).
Only students out of this category (eg T-score 259 or less) DSAed into IP-School must pay the full $300 per months !!!!
There are also additional scholarship from end Y2 onwards in NUSH eg YDSP scholarship ($500 per year) , A*Star Science Award Upper Sec scholarship ($1,000 PER YEAR) , A*Star JC AWard $2000 per year etc.
Also, 3rd languages eg French, Japanese in NUSH are conducted in-house as part of school curriculum, Students pay $100 per month. Of course student can study free at MOELC - outside school time-table at MOELC centres.
So parents whose kids get DSAed into IP-school must hope n pray their kids get the EESIS scholarship else don't complaint about $15 vs $320 school fees !!
Having said that all good students can literally study for free in all IP-School.
Hey, T-Score above 260 is no easy-feat ok!! I dun know if my son can do that and get the scholar ship or not..
I want to correct your \"all good students can literally study for free in all IP-School\". Is more like all super-BRILLIANT students can study for free. I always say, my son is good, but not THAT GOOD, coz the competition in Singapore is waaaay too fierce liow... *tough*
:scared: -
Went to the preview of NUS High today. I may say, I'm very very impressed with NUS High. Their facilities, teachers and seniors left us good and deep impression. And the best best thing of all, there will no \"O\" level or \"A\" level examinations for my son! !! Their system is somewhat like NUS based on credits and such. They'll have a diploma at the end of their 6 years course and the chance of getting into NUS is very high. I nearly burst into tears of relief when I heard that. Now, need to encourage him to sustain there for the next 6 years. ... :boogie:
As a record for future parents,
we were told during the preview that there were 1853 DSA applicants, offered CO to 152 and a handful of WL. -
omerloo:
Is there a dateline for those CO to exercise the option ?As a record for future parents,
we were told during the preview that there were 1853 DSA applicants, offered CO to 152 and a handful of WL. -
In the letter, it states that we need to exercise our option on 21st Oct when the child’s school will hand us a option form.
WoonieNed:
Went to the preview of NUS High today. I may say, I'm very very impressed with NUS High. Their facilities, teachers and seniors left us good and deep impression. And the best best thing of all, there will no \"O\" level or \"A\" level examinations for my son! !! Their system is somewhat like NUS based on credits and such. They'll have a diploma at the end of their 6 years course and the chance of getting into NUS is very high. I nearly burst into tears of relief when I heard that. Now, need to encourage him to sustain there for the next 6 years. ... :boogie:
Fully agree. We are impressed too, and we think DS has made the right choice even though it's far from our place. We feel that it will be the place that can further develop his interests and strengths.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.