Does type of housing really matters?
I have to agree with both of you to certain extend
To my DS, whether it is my former condo, current HDB and MIL’s HDB, all these are "home" to him.
when i asked him which one he liked best, he would choose both the former condo and the current HDB, because mommy & daddy are there. -
skunk:
Try la...I also want to learn something. Perhaps you can give me some examples to think about?
maybe u don't understand what i was trying to say....nebermine....heheks2me:
Correct me if I am wrong. Comparing to a house, I thought a 7 YO will understand the love of dad and mum better since they can feel it since birth? Plus daddy and mummy can touch leh...
Just read tankee's post...same experience as me in that the innocence in children will choose \"just because daddy and mummy are there.\" -
tankee,
when i asked him which one he liked best, he would choose both the former condo and the current HDB, because mommy & daddy are there.
some time back i asked my ds1 which he like, current condo or future HDB and he said condo cos HDB have no security guardpost and what if Mas Selamat break into our HDB's house...
Ds1 prefers condo simply becos of the swimming pool. When I asked him if he wants to move to the condo opposite our block, he said \"no\" becos he wants to be with daddy and mummy

ok, maybe put it this way:
Try la...I also want to learn something. Perhaps you can give me some examples to think about?
if a 7 y.o girl, all her friends have a Barbie doll, but she has not. She goes and asks Daddy if she could have a Barbie doll. Daddy says it's a stupid bimbotic toy, no way.
A matured 7 y.o might understand it's a stupid bimbotic toy, but she won't have the ability to understand how it's possible for so many of her friends to be stupid and bimbotic because they all got Barbie dolls.
Similarly, if a 7 y.o is surrounded by people who live in condo, and she lives in HDB, and we try to explain that it's not the house, it's the people and the family that makes up a home....they won't be able to understand what's the difference between a house and a home, because all her friends would appear to have both a house and a home. At that age, the association between material objects and what it could represent, is very strong.
Heck, apparently for many people, they carry it until adulthood LOL....as in, someone with a Lexus, Rolex and Terrace House must be super rich lol -
mummy of 2:
Ds1 prefers condo simply becos of the swimming pool. When I asked him if he wants to move to the condo opposite our block, he said \"no\" becos he wants to be with daddy and mummy

So innocently sweet right? :celebrate: Based on skunk's definition, our kids are more matured.
alamak i think my explanation is really bad lol....i just made it worse hehe forgeddit man forgeddit!!! :stupid:
I asked my dd the same question too. I told her we are debt free now. If buy condo, must take loan. If default on loan, bank will take away the house & we will end up sleeping under the bridge. My dd :roll: & asked why risk so much for a swimming pool? The admission to swimming pool is only 50 cents
tankee,tankee:
when i asked him which one he liked best, he would choose both the former condo and the current HDB, because mommy & daddy are there.
some time back i asked my ds1 which he like, current condo or future HDB and he said condo cos HDB have no security guardpost and what if Mas Selamat break into our HDB's house...
tankee,tankee:
Haha i don't know if he's considered matured. All I know is he values the family and I'm really happymummy of 2:

So innocently sweet right? :celebrate: Based on skunk's definition, our kids are more matured.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.