Does type of housing really matters?

152 Posts 33 Posters 36.8k Views 1 Watching
      cluelessmom

CookiesMonster:
      Hi, this is the 2nd wk for my DD in P1 & sch mates hv asked her where & what type of accommodation she stays in. She gets the cold shoulder after telling them that she stays in a HDB.

I reminded & explained to her that we came close to buying pte property 2x while hse hunting but eventually settle for a HDB so that it wld be near her sch & we can afford to hv a single income.

But her concerns are that her sch mates are shunning her. Does anyone here hv encountered this & what is yr solutions to this? Can share πŸ™

Many thanks & bless u.
      When my dd was in her old neighbourhood school, I don't recall her making comments like tat but when she moved on to a \"non-neighbourhood\" school, suddenly she was exposed to a whole new world of lifestyle.... she had friends who lives in landed prime district, travels business class with their parents to their homes all over the world, received thousands of dollars for their CNY angpow so on and so forth....
      I teased her with whether she wants to trade her humble parents for another rich parent with a lifestyle like tat and thankfully she declined, well in fact she went on assuring us tat she lurves her parents and her HDB flat :love: ... Then I go on about though we cannot provide tat lifestyle for her, we can provide the key to tat lifestyle for her.... she will have our full support in her education so she has to study hard and achieved well so she can land in her dream job tat will pay well hahaha.... think she got a little :siam: about the studying hard part, I dun really hear her commenting abt it anymore.... :lol:
      Anyways, I wld like to think tat the type of housing dun matter but in reality it does... most people wld accord respect to you jus by the address u lived in..... and on a last note, recently my dd was nominated to represent the school for a \"certain grand event\"... before she had to go for an interview wif the higher authorities to see if she wld be selected, she was given a form to fill in stating her address and her parents occapation...this was given before her selection process and I think it's a little telling on the purpose of the form......... 😐

skunk

cluelessmom:

Anyways, I wld like to think tat the type of housing dun matter but in reality it does...
        yes, it does matter, and denying it does won't make this type of mentality go away. But we can help by not emphasising it more than it already is, by not even talking about it, we're showing a signal to our children that it's a non-event.

Sometimes, the more we harp about something, the worse it gets.

mrswongtuition

Andaiz:
          sleepy:

I asked my dd the same question too. I told her we are debt free now. If buy condo, must take loan. If default on loan, bank will take away the house & we will end up sleeping under the bridge. My dd :roll: & asked why risk so much for a swimming pool? The admission to swimming pool is only 50 cents

:grphug: sleepy, your dd really put things into perspective. :rotflmao:

Skunk, it's a good analogy...this mommy also thinks that Barbie is a bimbiotic toy. My gals don't have one...although they play with their cousin's or friend's. 😐 :roll: when they get a chance.

Swimming pool admission increased I think. I'm paying $0.80 for my boy and $1.50 per adult.

Anyway, unless you swim everyday and there are 10 people in your family who needs the pool on a daily basis, I see no need to move to condo just for a pool.

mrswongtuition:

Swimming pool admission increased I think. I'm paying $0.80 for my boy and $1.50 per adult.

Anyway, unless you swim everyday and there are 10 people in your family who needs the pool on a daily basis, I see no need to move to condo just for a pool.
            I have to agree... half the time the swimming pool in the condo is like ghost town.

sleepy

mrswongtuition:

Our nearest swimming pool is 50 cents admission for each child on weekdays.

Nicer ones like those in Sengkang or Jurong West with slides and jacuzzi are more expensive πŸ˜‰

cluelessmom:
                recently my dd was nominated to represent the school for a \"certain grand event\"... before she had to go for an interview wif the higher authorities to see if she wld be selected, she was given a form to fill in stating her address and her parents occapation...this was given before her selection process and I think it's a little telling on the purpose of the form......... 😐

So was she selected eventually?

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

so far my kids have not exhibited such behaviour.

DD did come back from preschool once telling me about how a classmate dissed another for excitedly telling everyone his father drives a taxi when they were having a discussion on the types of transportation. I asked DD what she thinks. And she told me she thinks driving a taxi is cool. Asked her why and she said then you can collect money from people who sit your car.

I guess, to a certain extent, if the parents do not put too much stock into the type of housing then the children too will not really bother. My kids do not really compare. They have been to friends living in HDB and those who live in landed property as well as condos. What matters to them is the β€˜contents’ in the house or the activities available, I guess.

• O Offline
                    ooptimizer

Usually if the kids are very young, simple occupations may look cool, but it will not look so cool when the kids are in secondary school or JC age.

ooptimizer:
                      Usually if the kids are very young, simple occupations may look cool, but it will not look so cool when the kids are in secondary school or JC age.

However, kids no matter what age they are, should be taught to respect all occupations as long as they earn a living in a decent way. θ‘Œθ‘Œε‡ΊηŠΆε…ƒ, no matter what profession, if one knows how to do it well and extraordinarily, it can be cool... We should not let the kids stereotype the occupations if we want to encourage them to \"think out of the box\".

The first person who baked bread probably never think that there could be super bread chains like BreadTalk and Four Leaves today. The butcher(pig farmer) who now runs the multi-million Sheng Siong probably making his kids'(assuming he has kids) classmates heads turn today when yesterday they might think he/she was just a butcher's(pig farmer's) kid.

However, kids no matter what age they are, should be taught to respect all occupations as long as they earn a living in a decent way. θ‘Œθ‘Œε‡ΊηŠΆε…ƒ, no matter what profession, if one knows how to do it well and extraordinarily, it can be cool... We should not let the kids stereotype the occupations if we want to encourage them to \"think out of the box\".
                        yes. just today ds1 watched Spongebob Squarepants when Squidward's (a character) rich cousin laughed at him for being a cashier; my boy asked me what's wrong with being a cashier; my husband explained that there is nothing wrong and that the cousin was being shallow and silly.

another vivid example of stereotyping of occupation came as a rude surprise when we attended a talk by my ds1's school - the speaker was talking about nurturing kids based on their inborn character 'colours'; what strike us as a rude comment is her statement of (something) like, '.....do you want your child to grow up to be just a hairdresser?\" 😐 what's wrong with being a hairdresser? 😐 she could have rephrase it to be 'do you want your child to grow up to be the best that she can?\" :roll: speaker from MOE-licensed vendor somemore.... :roll:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 13 / 16