2013 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
HappyBlueBear:
Yeah, but that is to you. The scores may mean quite a lot to us 12 year olds out there.
Chill
I think funnydaddy is just speculating on the Top Scorer.
My speculation: If every subject is easy, likely that the Top Scorer is a non-Chinese of any nationality.
To me, being the Top Scorer is no big deal. It's just a PSLE. Relatively ranking of 12 yo in Singapore only. No difference between a 280 and a 266. Both get to choose whatever sec school they wanna go to (provided haven't accepted dsa into '2nd choice') -
Jennifer, :goodpost:
I always maintain we have a choice in everything we do.
If one wants to get that extra marks, one puts in very hard work, long hours etc at the expense of actually enjoying the process of learning, then it is one's choice. Dun complain when the paper is too easy based on one's ability.
For those pupils who are already doing well, they already hv an advantage over some other pupils - great brain power, fast learner etc. How can we now say they are now being disadvantaged? -
Even in my own family, we disagree. Ds1+dd1+dh wans difficult paper. Dd2+me wans ez paper. The others are unsure what the fuss is all about. They are waitg to enter primary school to join in the 'fun\"
MOE does not hv an easy job hor.
Difficult - people complain
Easy - people also complain
Why these people making life difficult for MOE lah
Agreed. Remember few yrs ago, Math was so hard that my friend's kid cried and was so upset that cannot prepare for next paper.taz:
had evedropped an interesting conversation, a math tutor lamenting that math paper is too easy, her student w <70 marks in prelim can scored 98 in today paper. Those who are v good in math has no chance to do excellently.
MOE does not hv an easy job hor.
Difficult - people complain
Easy - people also complain
Why these people making life difficult for MOE lah
This yr, Math is \"so easy\" and again caused worry / complain.
Poor MOE ! -
happyheart:
Hope so. It will benefit me. I still has a P2 boy
Jennifer, I am with you on this one! :hi5:Jennifer:
How about we look at the issue at another angle: schools hv bn unreasonably stressing our children out by setting standards higher than MOE original intention.
Now the children are better prepared by schools, so not challenging anymore when sitting for MOE set paper.
:rahrah: who is opposite of his sis.
Candy08:
IMHO, I don't think anyone knows...the number of classmates your DD said about may be just a handful...so instead of worrying the unknown, what is best is to focus on next paper. Do well first n then can worry later. :xedfingers:Hi all,
I am worried as for d past two days exam my DD said a lot of her classmates find the test easy. She told me if like this a lot will get high score and the T- score will be lower this time. She is not worried if a lot get high score but worry if the T-score will able to meet the cut-off point of top schools.
Is she correct?
Thanks a lot. -
:goodpost: very well said...How about we look at the issue at another angle: schools hv bn unreasonably stressing our children out by setting standards higher than MOE original intention.
Now the children are better prepared by schools, so not challenging anymore when sitting for MOE set paper. -
Goodluck8:
Each year, my elder boy came back home, telling me he could easily full marks for xxx, every time both of us were disappointed.When i know maths is a easy paper, i started to worry. This would mean that one mark different would cause much more in the t score.
I remember few years ago when my relative took the O level examination, she said all of the classmates said the Emaths and A Maths were very easy. After comparing the answer, they thought they would get A1. When the result was out, it os not so. Most of them got A2 and started to wondering why.
Each year, ah boy came home, saying the same stuff. I dun believe anymore :rotflmao: -
Look at what the Singapore Education System has done to Singaporeans. During my time (don't guess my age, hehehe..), I would be over the moon if I ever get a easy paper. Now? Getting an easy paper is no celebration to call for, the world has changed..... Scoring 100 marks together with some others is not good, only if U score 100, and the rest are 99, then u feel good.
人在江湖 身不由己???
:scratchhead: -
25hr mama:
Yes.. It is something which we should worry about. How did we come to this - wishing for others to falter so we can outshine?Look at what the Singapore Education System has done to Singaporeans. During my time (don't guess my age, hehehe..), I would be over the moon if I ever get a easy paper. Now? Getting a easy paper is no celebration to call for, the world has changed..... Scoring 100 marks together with some others is not good, only if U score 100, and the rest are 99, then u feel good.
人在江湖 身不由己
:scratchhead:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.