LETTERLAND PHONIC vs JOLLY PHONIC

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    91 Posts 14 Posters 44.0k Views 1 Watching

mummy of 2:
      No worries, buds. It's not your fault. He can only blame it on my genetic predisposition to acquire stuff :?:

CNY coming liao. Time to re-organize your barangs.. but keep the foam
      puzzle mats till your cutie of a DD is much older. I like that space a lot..
      Very home-y and child-y feeling... if ya know what i mean. 😉
      mummy of 2:
      You been to the Sept 21 shop before?
      Heck yeah! :celebrate:

And i usually stay for hours at a stretch. Thankfully they don't have a
      policy of chasing window-shoppers away. :oops: I'm just very careful
      with my purchases. I don't like to end up buying excess stuff that i will
      not need or use. It's wastage.. i SAHM ya noe. Must maximize every
      dollar. :lol:
      mummy of 2:
      How do you find their books, compared to those from Edventure, such as Rigby Literacy?
      I don't like to compare lah darling.. each place has its own special affinity
      with me. September 21 has more than just books. Puppets, teaching
      materials and guides, hands-on learning resources, (etc... etc... etc...)
      Books are just a small part of the store that i drool over. :drool:
      mummy of 2:
      Btw do you have Rigby Rocket series, and how does it compare with Rigby Literacy?
      I have used only Rigby Literacy and have laid my hands on Rigby Star
      Phonics as well. Both equally great in their own context and objectives.
      mummy of 2:
      I think next stop after Sept 21 will be IKEA :!:
      You definitely cannot skip IKEA, girl! For your case hor, that's compulsory!
      Or should i say, it'd be a sin to skip! :!: Hahahaa! :lol:

mummy of 2:
        Thanks. Btw off-topic a bit, I actually hate DH coming along with me when buying such stuff, cos he will say I don't need this or that, or we already have something similar at home. Such trips usually end with me going home empty-handed and feeling extremely deprived :stupid:

Ditto that, mummy of 2! :celebrate:

Deprived is quite the word for it! How apt! :lol:

Mebbe SNOWPET's husband is quite the educationalist...
        we dunno.... and mebbe it's wise to bring the banker along,
        for all the important decisions. :evil:

danecalymom

My son’s school is using Letterland Phonic. Now, he is in K1 and I would like to send him for additional phonic lesson. I cannot decide between TumbleTots (which use Letterland) and Zoo-Phonics.

Does any parent have some experience to share? Thank you.

mummy of 2

I have a feeling I will stay for hours at the Sept 21 store too. Then will have to go over to IKEA for shelves. Better set aside one full day and make it a weekday so DH can't tag along :celebrate:

Btw that corner you like was meant to be a cosy corner for me and DH to relax after a day's work. So much for that 😢

mummy of 2:
              I have a feeling I will stay for hours at the Sept 21 store too. Then will have to go over to IKEA for shelves. Better set aside one full day and make it a weekday so DH can't tag along :celebrate:

Yeah girl... If you're planning to hoard a lotta stuff, ask the minimum
              amount one has to spend to be eligible for delivery, okie. 😉
              I think it was SGD $300.00 last time.. dunno what about now.
              mummy of 2:
              Btw that corner you like was meant to be a cosy corner for me and DH to relax after a day's work. So much for that 😢
              Really! :!:

Cannot lah. Too open leh.. High windows top to bottom, wah lao! You
              want people to envy you from there or what! :rotflmao: But it can be
              a cosy family corner where you and DH can chill with the kiddies. :love:

pokemon

plum-cake:

I've used both. pretty expensive. I baught once upon a time from letter land(VHS) then switch to Jphonics. the JPguide book is good you can use many activities n photocopiable pages. I got it from september21 in tpayo.
                guide along is enough for you to teach. dvds available in nlb. get them first if you are satisfied with the pro. then buy. some books also there. try youtube also.
                Hi, i hv taught both jolly and letterland but kinda of favour jolly mayb the jolly phonics course i went thru in British council kinda of interestg. I like it the way in jolly that learning the alphabet sounds doesnt run alphabetically, it in such a way that after gg thru 1st workbook, kids able to form simple words.

Btw, the jolly phonics handbook (close to $40, yrs ago, nt sure now) plus all the 7 workbooks cn also be bgt fm Edfas Pte ltd, at bt batok crescent. Thru british council i bgt my whole set there.

mummy of 2

Thanks for the sugegstion. Will ask about the min amount for delivery, though I think unlikely to hit.

Eh what we had in mind was like read the papers/books, drink wine and just chit-chat..what were you thinking of? :oops:

Now it's where the kids entertain themselves, while we take a break on the sofa 😄

mrswongtuition

My son has been to both.

My personal choice: Tumble Tots (but it also depends on branch and teachers)

Zoo Phonics promised alot but nothing was shown in their lessons. My son went there for 3 months and accomplished nothing from there. The teachers could not manage my boy too (he gets hyper when it starts to get boring). They only took my feedback seriously when I requested to withdraw him. And they actually took almost 2 months to process the refund of my deposit! I actually had to keep calling in before they did something about it!

My boy is now at Tumble Tots. Although he knows all his letter sounds and can do simple blending already, he still learns new things from the class and is eager to tell me about what he learns. He is learning to write alphabets now (we’ve taught him at home last year with self-created songs but now it’s more systematic with the letterland songs). The teachers are also able to capture his attention and the teacher-student ratio is fantastic. I remember during December, there was a sudden boom of students and there were around 15 kids in the class. They have 4-5 teachers per lesson for 15 kids. Now, they’ve seperated the kids and opened more classes and my boy’s class has only 4 kids, but 3 teachers! So he has no chance to run off and be naughty at all! Plus their activities are packed back to back without much waiting time. Once the teachers sense some getting bored, they quickly switch activities. May look messy but I think it’s great to capture the kid’s attention.

I really regretted wasting our time at Zoo Phonics. Although it is very much cheaper than Tumble Tots, I have no regrets about signing him up at TT. Feedback from the teachers are regular and they are very open to accept feedback and suggestions from parents. I’ve actually paid upfront of half year’s fees because I like them so much.

They may not be the best around because I’ve not been to others, but comparing Zoo Phonics and TT, I give 100 thumbs up for TT.

The same thing you were thinking of lar, mummy of 2. :politebleah:

Why? You mean people cannot envy another couple spending quality
                      time meh.. Cheh.. i not always in that \"kinda\" mind mode ya know. :lol:

Can be a cosy family corner where you and your DH lie down together
                      with the children all around you playing and fussing over their toys or
                      trying to grab both of your attention with the mountain of books you
                      have easily available for them. Many quality family moments can be
                      spent at that corner. 😉

SNOWPET

Guess i missed quite a bit… A tired day at wk… Monday blues…

Yes muz bring banker when go shopping, so i shall play the researching part…is there CD or VCD in Jphonic ? Like wat letterland has? At least i can learn to sing the song 1st…heehee

Btw, wat does DH & DD stands for? Kinda confuse over yr term…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 10